We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay at oak cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oak Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Challock, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
rellissco...
1 review
“Wonderful stay at oak cottage”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We are just back from a fantastic 5 night break at oak cottage. We sent several emails to Nigel prior to our stay which he responded to quickly with all the information we needed. He kindly allowed us to check in early as they had no guests the day before which helped us out with our journey times, working around our small children's nap times.
The cottage itself was perfect. Our 4 year old daughter enjoyed walking around the garden searching for fairies and insisted on a swim in the lake, which daddy agreed to. There was a small slide and swing which our toddler played on and the hot tub for me in the evening.
Everything we wanted to see was 20-50mins drive away...leeds castle, canterbury, several beaches..
A top tip would sbe to visit Leeds castle early on in your stay. We bought our tickets on our first afternoon which meant we visited twice more when we had a few hours to spare and really got our monies worth from our ticket.
I think we will definitely be back next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2017
Thank you for your kind review of Oak cottage, it is great to see that the investment we made over last winter with the games room and hot tub are providing guests with a great holiday in our cottages. It was lovely to meet you all and we hope to welcome you back in the future Nigel and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Rustic cottage in a beautiful farm setting well located in Kent”
Reviewed 22 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Beautiful gardens surround the cottage that is within steps of a small lake in which you may swim. It is very private as the property is gated and you feel like you are a million miles from any hustle and bustle one would find in town. There's lots to do with swimming, hiking and table tennis. Relax in the large living room equipped with tv and DVD along with a few good novels and internet. Lots of room for kiddies to run!
Well within driving distance of a variety of small villages and a great place to begin your hunt for oast houses. Canterbury Cathedral, Leeds Castle and many more sights are within an hour from the cottage.
WE thoroughly enjoyed our time in Challock.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irenesimp...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“secluded cottage in close proximity to attractions”
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cottage was cosy and warm with good amenities. Very clean and quaint. However we did find the shower was a problem, it kept going cold and the water only trickled out, other than that everything was excellent.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2017
Irene, thank you for review and for highlighting the problem with the shower, we have had it replaced with a new Mira Sport which has rectified the issue. We hope this did not detract from your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel E
Potton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Very cosy cottage with amazing views. We loved the rural setting and very convenient location for the variuos trips we undertook.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
Thank you for your kind review, we hope to welcome you back in future

Nigel and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff B
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful Kent Countryside”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We recently stayed in Oak Cottage for a long weekend. The owners are very welcoming and provided comprehensive pre visit directions, help and guidance which made life much easier. The cottage is spacious and comfortable with plenty of room. The facilities were absolutely fine and we were able to cook. The location is ideal set in the Kent countryside with lovely views. It is a good starting point for touring Kent with easy access from Rye right round the coast to Whitstable and the Isle of Sheppey.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
Thank you for your kind review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Oak cottage.

Do come again

Nigel and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing