We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy little local cafe in enniskerry village”
Review of Poppies Cafe

Poppies Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Enniskerry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Poppies has been open since 1982, We offer a comprehensive range of food from breakfast, scones and jam for mid-morning and a full range of main dishes served with either salad or baked jacket potato throughout the day. We also serve tasty home baked desserts and a selection of confectionery and beverages.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great coffee, really nice cookies can get busy on the weekends but it's worth it if theres a wait. Proper Irish cafe.

Thank chippd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterpoppy, Owner at Poppies Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Chippd,
Yes we are open since September 1982, before cafes were even open!!
Back then it was a tea room and sold a few slices of cake. Delighted to still be in business after all these years.

Appreciate the review

Warm Regards

Peter Norton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We ate here with our kids - the food arrived quickly but it wasn’t quite warm enough. It was all very tasty - including home made soup, lasagna and apple pie. Lovely spot for a casual family lunch

Thank 721sophiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterpoppy, Owner at Poppies Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Sophie,
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Delighted you enjoyed your lunch and we look forward to having you back.

Warm Regards

Peter Norton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

A homely and friendly cafe with superb coffee and apple crumble. Staff were superb and I will frequent often as it is a real treat. Prices moderate so I was very impressed!

Thank griffinsteven7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterpoppy, Owner at Poppies Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Griffinsteven,
Delighted you are enjoyed the new crumble. Really appreciate the review

Warm Regards

Peter Norton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

This place was packed with locals on a Sunday morning, it seems to be the place to go for breakfast. It is a hive of activity, the food choices are limited and the feel pretty rustic, but, the happy ambiance of the place makes it quite delightful.

Thank Q7764FNgarym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterpoppy, Owner at Poppies Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Gary,
Just wanted to say thank you for the review. Sunday mornings are a little crazy, its a mixed bunch of locals, tourists, hillwalkers and cyclists. We look forward to welcoming you back


Warm Regards

Peter Norton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

At Poppies for breakfast today with my wife earlier today. Food was excellent and service even better, the staff were extremely friendly and very helpful, highly recommend. Will be back,

Thank Wander656897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterpoppy, Owner at Poppies Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Wander,
Just a quick note to say thanks a million for the review, its much appreciated

Warm Regards

Peter Norton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poppies Cafe also viewed

Enniskerry, County Wicklow
Kilmacanogue, County Wicklow
 
Enniskerry, County Wicklow
 
Enniskerry, County Wicklow
 

Been to Poppies Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing