We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious comfortable room, delicious food.”
Review of Vaughan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vaughan Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on 18 August, 2017. We were delighted with every aspect of Vaughan Lodge. In particular, our dinner was delicious. The taste, presentation and service were all excellent. We particularly enjoyed the amuse bouches and palate cleansing carrot (!) sorbet.
We had room service breakfast, the order was executed totally accurately, not common in our experience. Even less common, the toast was served in a toast rack and, therefore was crisp. So many hotels wrap it in a napkin and thus reduce it to a soggy mess.
Thank you, Michael Vaughan and staff for a lovely experience.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Eleanor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
There are newer reviews for Vaughan Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2017

Great location for golf and nice area of pubs and restaurants but definitely not something I'd consider a particularly high end establishment. Experience is jaded by allergies that flared up in rooms that were quite musty. Staff was accommodating when I asked to switch rooms after first night but unfortunately the must/mold really was a hinderance the whole stay.

Stayed: July 2017
2  Thank amolnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

I am sorry that your allergies flared when you stayed with us.
The description you offer is certainly one that concerns me quite a lot.
Our hotel is just 12 years old, built with the finest materials and musty and mouldy is not a descriptor that has ever been given before. We have had over 6000 people stay with us and never has any guest mentioned must or mould as an issue.
The hotel has been inspected by both the National Hotel Grading Authority and the Automoibile Association Hotel Inspector recently and we would have had mention of such an odour.

I am unaware of the room/s that you mention so perhaps you might message me at info@vaughanlodge.ie so that I can resolve the issue.
As a fourth generation hotelier I am very concerned that anyone should not have a good night's sleep at what is essentially an extension of my home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

I found lahinch itself a bit shabby and run down, but the hotel itself was fine. Stayed there for one night - friendly staff and clean rooms and perfectly close to town. Plenty of parking. We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ballyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thank you for your review.
I am not in apposition to alter the appearance of the village, but I do try very hard to provide a quality hotel for guests who stay.
I am sorry you opted not to have breakfast - it is a great part of the stay at Vaughan Lodge and I personally cook every breakfast we serve each morning I am at the hotel.
Perhaps we might see you back for the full experience sometime

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We had such a pleasant stay. The rooms were spacious and nicely appointed. The restaurant was beyond compare. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The hotel was within walking distance to Lahinch. Highly recommend

Stayed: May 2017
Thank 486,903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you so much for the kind words, especially following our Swiss Guests negative experience. And gentle reader, This is a very genuine reviewer and we appreciate the sentiment contained in the review.
You cannot imagine how deflated we feel when a guest decides that we are so poor in quality and service that they post a negative review. After dusting ourselves down and making doubly sure we are in the right business and ready to serve to the best of our ability it is very encouraging to see we are doing some things right!!

Thank you so much

All the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

This is an OK motel which offers all comforts and a reasonable breakfast. It is located on a small hill relatively far back from the ocean, so it does not have a nice view. We found the very high rating on tripadvisor rather surprising, since the hotel is rather average and unremarkable.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 449marcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Hello Marcella
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry you did not find our hotel was to the standard that other reviewers experienced. It looks like you were looking for an ocean front hotel - which we are not.
Since you did not experience our Restaurant or Bar or have any interaction with our team except for check in and check out - we had not much opportunity to know you at all.

Of course we are not a Motel - we have a lovely lounge and bar, and restaurant and you cannot drive up to the door of your bedroom as is necessary in a motel.
Our Automobile Association grading places the hotel as a 4 star property with a rating of 86%. The average in Ireland in this category is 80%.
We have also a 2 Rosette restaurant which is again in the higher percentage.

I never got to meet you during your two days here which is very unusual - that was such a pity as we could probably have changed your opinion if we had the chance to chat with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahinch
0.4 km away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
2.9 km away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
1,034 reviews
3.3 km away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
1,315 reviews
12.5 km away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
0.4 km away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lahinch
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vaughan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vaughan Lodge

Address: Ennistymon Road, Lahinch, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Lahinch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Price Range: $194 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vaughan Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star designer lodge hotel with 22 bedrooms. Situated overlooking Lahinch Golf Links and the Atlantic Ocean. Purpose built in 2005 and run by 4th generation local hotel family. Host Michael and Maria Vaughan - Seafood Restaurant ( open normallly Tuesday night to Saturday night - please check at time of booking ), Lounge, Free broadband, spacious accommodations, Drying Room, Putting Green, Free Car parking. Open March to November ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au and Ostrovok so you can book your Vaughan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaughan Hotel Lahinch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing