We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home....”

Review of Barrtra Lodge

Barrtra Lodge Self Catering Luxury Accommodation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barrtra Lodge Self Catering Luxury Accommodation
Entrance hall leading to upstairs; sitting room with olde world tiles Relax or read  in large Sitting Room with Cathedral Ceiling from a large selection of books
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Barrtra Lodge Self Catering Luxury Accommodation
Entrance hall leading to upstairs; sitting room with olde world tiles
Relax or read  in large Sitting Room with Cathedral Ceiling from a large selection of books
Kitchen cum Dining Room  - Table can be extended to comfortably seat 11-12 people
Double Bedroom ensuite downstairs
Twin Bedroom ensuite downstairs
Large King size room
Upstairs - 3 single bed room ensuite
Upstairs - 3 single bed room - ensuite
Main Bathroom Upstairs with Sauna
Main Bathroom - Upstairs - Jacuzzi Bath
Ensuite - 3 Bed room
Walk-in shower with seat to support any persons who has difficulty accessing normal shower
Shrubs in the Garden
View over Liscannor Bay from Deck and Garden
Deck to relax on and enjoy views over Liscannor Bay
Steps up to Deck; or down to the Garden
View from Sun-Room
Spectacular views from Sun room
Walk down the country road 200 yards to the sea; beautiful cove for you or children to explore
Look across the green fields, cattle and Liscannor bay in the distance
Back garden to play football or just relax
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Lahinch, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ralph888
County Wexford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home....”
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

So we have just returned from a really lovely and comfortable 2 week stay.
We received a lovely welcome from our host on arrival and instantly felt at home.
This is an ideal location to have as a base to explore all the wonders Clare has to offer.
Whether you're heading north to the Burren and the caves or south for a dip in the ancient 'Pollock' pools of Kilkee this is a really central coastal spot.
5 minutes in either direction bring you to either Milltown Malbay or Lahinch.
Plenty to do and see, nice restaurants, live music on the street during the festival.
The views across the bay, as previously mentioned in other reviews, are stunning.
Myself and the 2 boys ( aged 9), spent a lovely afternoon skimming stoned in the cove at end of the lane as well.
We had a mixed group of families and friends, adults, teenagers and children and had plenty of room.
If you want to be comfortable, and have a good group, than look no further. This house had all that we needed and more.
We had a great time learning to surf in Lahinch thanks to John McCarthys school.
We would definitely stay here again.

Many thanks again to Séamas and Geraldine for letting us stay in their lovely home from home............. míle buíochas.

From all the families and friends .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
Ralph family and friends, thank you for the great review. Seamus & I are so delighted that you had an excellent holiday. Hope to see you all again in the future.
Geraldine & Seamus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eoin f
1 review
“Best holiday home ever”
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My wife and I and friends from America along with seven children arrived in lahinch to find the houses we had booked were not suitable for our needs. We were in a bit of a pickle. So I found this absolutely beautiful house on line. I rang Geraldine at 5:30 on Saturday evening and I have to say that she was a life saver. Her husband drove an hour to open up and set up the house for our stay. The facilities,location and house alone were stunning. The views that we were afforded were breathtaking. The welcome that we received on such short notice was unbelievable. A beautiful holiday home run by wonderful people. We will certainly be back. As will our American friends as they were awestruck by the courteousness of our hosts. Thanks for making our trip to the west one to remember forever.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2017
Eoin
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so glad that Barrtra Lodge was the perfect accommodation. Hope to see you all again.
Best regards
Geraldine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EileenI28
1 review
“Beautiful, clean and picturesque.”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in August 2015

We loved Barrtra House. The photos don't do it justice. We had an amazing time and loved the proximity to Lahinch and White Strand. The weather was chilly for August but there was still so much to do. The house could accommodate all our friends and family, the kids had a blast. We can't wait to go back!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2017
Thank you Eileen, so glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Geralidne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherylWoo...
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A new favourite.”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

As a family we holiday in a house somewhere on the west coast of Ireland. Clare is a favourite of ours and when we first saw Barrtra Lodge we knew it was for us. It is spacious and clean. The beds are comfortable and all the reception rooms are great. Lots of books and a lovely welcome basket! It has a stunning view of those Wild Atlantic way sunsets. Yes there is a house beside the property I can see some folk allowing this to bother them but we didn't care. For just a short walk down the lane your view is completely unrestricted. We loved this house. It honestly felt like we were coming home each evening. Hopefully we will be able to return soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
Hi Elise,
I am delighted that you had a lovely stay at Barrtra Lodge. It is so peaceful there.
Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to seeing you all again in the future.
Best regards
Geraldine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred C
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good, but could be better.”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

There is lots to like about this holiday rental; comfortable living spaces, large and clean bedrooms and great to have the disability access. However for the price we paid - 1,300 euros for a week, it should be better. Firstly what the photos don't show you is the very large neighbouring house that is approximately 20 yards away and bang in the middle of what is otherwise a spectacular sea view. Also little things were frustrating such as the dining room table which doesn't fit the 10 people the house holds around it, not enough dining room chairs for everyone to sit on, a grill which doesn't work properly, lack of appropriate glasses. By themselves they aren't significant, but add them together and it detracted from the experience. We still had a great time, and there is a lot to recommend about this accommodation, but if a holiday rental is going to charge a premium price then they should provide a premium product.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
Hi Fred,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you found there were some areas that were frustrating for you during your holday. There are still spectacular views from the house and the decking areas, despite the house having been built, which was completely out of our control.
The table in the sun room is a table which can be added to the main dining room table and it can then easily fit 10 people. There are 2 extra dining room chairs in the sun room and two more in the hallway which are to be used with the extension of the table.
We are always available to attend to any issues any guests may have immediately and we are sorry that you did not bring this to our attention, and we would have dealt with them promptly, to enable you to have a fully enjoyable holiday.
Thanks again for choosing Barrtra Lodge.
Geraldine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing