We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was terrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Dromoland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Dromoland
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food was terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Hotel room was clean but dated :(
Food for breakfast and Bar food has to be the worst i have ever had i would not stay here again unless they sacked all there kitchen staff breakfast room staff were room my friend asked for two eggs and was told no only aloud one now after paying dear enough for the breakfast to be told no was very annoying.

Room Tip: Room ok but food terrible so no point really booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Jillian G,

Firstly may I take the time to thank you for posting your review of your recent stay with us here at the Clare Inn Hotel.

I can only apologise for the level of service you received while you were here and please let me assure you that this is not typical of the product or service we offer here at the Clare Inn Hotel.

I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you further regarding your stay and would appreciate if you could contact me by emailing claire.coughlan@clareinnhotel.ie

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    363
    202
    71
    53
See reviews for
521
217
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Stayed there with family, food was excellent, staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the only fault I would have is there was no air con in the room we stayed in.... Had to use the window at night, extremely kids friendly hotel too... Defo a must

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear DonShark,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of your stay with us at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay. I hope I will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

I stayed for one night only. Room was unbelievably awful. Curtains were hanging off the window - some of the hooks had fallen off and not fixed again. The 'throw' on the bed was a sorry sight - it was ripped at the edges and wadding all hanging out - it was ready for the bin a long time ago! I plugged in the kettle - the socket was obviously not working. I pulled out the plug and the whole socket nearly came off the wall - dangerous! I had to search for another plug and got one, but had to unplug a lamp and sit kettle on the floor - not convenient.
The bathroom.... well maybe best not go there.... ancient, grubby, yeuch! The ancient radiator had been 'patched' at a corner with some gunk,very badly, a long time ago and had been painted over. There was a large patch on carpet that looked wet - I didn't touch it, so maybe it was a stain. There are pipes along the walls - looks awful. I am glad I booked for one night only and opted for no breakfast - god knows what the kitchen would be like.... The staff were ok and I think were trying to look bright and breezy, but it didn't quite come off. This place needs to be completely renovated, but in this climate that won't happen. Don't book - even if you only want the basic comforts, as a pit stop.

Room Tip: I don't think there will be any good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Granuelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Granuelle,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Clare Inn Hotel. It is with both disappointment and dismay that I am reading your review and can I take the opportunity to apologise for the product you received while you were here with us.

I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you further regarding your stay and would be greatful if you could contact me by email on claire.coughlan@clareinnhotel.ie

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

My sister and I and our 4 children would llike to say a very big thank you to Captain Jack and his team. We thoroughly enjoyed the childrens entertainment on Sunday night the 30th of October. I had been previously with my two and had a great night. Our 4 children on this occasion came out of the show totally happy and nicely exhausted from all the dancing and were delighted to have meet Tigger. They are asking when they can return. First class entertainment, children are aged 8,6 and 5 amd are already making plans amongst themselves for a return visit. Well done Captain Jack looking forward to returning to see your show again some time soon.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ec08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear ec08,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of your trip to the Clare Inn Hotel. I am delighted to see that both yourselves and your kids enjoyed the Captain Jack Show. We pride ourselves on being able to offer the best activities and entertainment to all the kids that stay here and we feel the Captain Jack Show is up there with the best!!

Hopefully we will see you back over the Christmas.

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Myself and my partner stayed here on the October bank holiday, and absolutley loved it! I would recommend it completely!! Rooms were clean and comfy, an upgrade of the televisions would be nice to see but apart from that, fantastic rooms! The journey to ours was very tiring though - even with the lift!! Bar food was great, and the restaurant food was fantastic! Reception staff were fantastic - very helpful. 2 young men in the Restaurant were so busy (due to the bank holiday) but were brilliant, attended to all our needs - no questions asked! Although one older lady in the restaurant was unbelievably rude and put a dampner on our meal - we overlooked it and enjoyed the craic in the bar!! Definetely return!! Well worth the money!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - fantastic to wake up to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Ciara O,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I have noted your comment regarding the lady in the restaurant and this has been passed on to the restaurant manager and will be dealt with accordingly.

I hope you will return to the Clare Inn Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.9 km away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,987 reviews
7.5 km away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
9.6 km away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
9.0 km away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
12.5 km away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Dromoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Dromoland

Property: The Inn at Dromoland
Address: Dromoland, Newmarket-on-Fergus V95 EPF5, Ireland (Formerly Clare Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price range (per night): $81 - $164
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Dromoland 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 450 acres of wooded countryside, The Inn at Dromoland features a fully equipped health & fitness club, an indoor swimming pool and newly refurbished rooms overlooking the Shannon Estuary. There is free private parking and the hotel is just 10 minutes from Shannon Airport. It is situated on the renowned Dromoland Estate and is part of the Dromoland Castle family. A range of Clare attractions are located nearby including the Dromoland Estate as well as Bunratty Castle & Folk Park, Craggaunowen and Ennis town. We invite you to explore our extensive range of special offers which range from Midweek and Weekend Breaks, Family Breaks and Luxury Package Breaks.The team at The Inn at Dromoland look forward to welcoming you and ensuring you have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC and Odigeo so you can book your The Inn at Dromoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare Hotel Newmarket-On-Fergus
Clare Inn Hotel And Suites
The Inn At Dromoland Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing