We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live like a Queen without breaking the Treasury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2010

Exceptional castle experience without the hefty bill one would expect.
The service was impeccable and courteous. The accommodations were elegant without being stuffy.
I will stay at Dromoland again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celtic_Traveler-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,334 - 3,338 of 3,597 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2010

We got married here in 2007. As a wedding venue the food was excellent, the service was amazing & overall I can only give it 100%. Nov 2010-Staying with our 2.5yr old daughter was a different experience but equally brilliant. For kids: ducks in the pond to feed, lovely walks & plenty of space to play outside in Summer & swimming pool. Children's menu available & dining until 11pm in the Gallery, which is super elegant & atmospheric yet not the main dining room so everyone feels comfortable. Staff are truly amazing & know how to combine service & friendliness perfectly. Rooms & Bathrooms are spacious. We like Deluxe & state rooms. Queen Anne decor is v.flowery. No CD or DVD player in room. Room service is prompt. Hair salon & spa are in the main castle. Swimming pool & gym are in the club house a short walk away. Swimming pool is warm & nice, but the changing facilities & lockers are tiny You need €1 to lock the locker. Other thing to note is that the walk from the club house to the hotel is quite dark on winter evenings. Overall this hotel is definitely worth staying in, the experience, rooms , food, staff are all just wonderful. It is out on it's own, no town really nearby but you have everthing you need on site, with plenty of dining options, as they also serve food at the club house. It is also a good base for visiting Bunratty, going to Co. Clare Ailwee Caves & the Cliffs of Moher or a day trip to Galway. Lots to do if you wanted to stay for more than 1-2 nights. You definitely leave this hotel wanting to come back again! Highly Recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnPLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Although we were not blessed by good weather, we were very fortunate to be upgraded on arrival, with a warm welcome, excellent staff (most of whom were of long standing which is always a good sign), great range of options for things to do, management could not be more attentive and accommodating, my partner had a massage in the Spa which he said was an "11 out of 10(!)" and I had my hair blow dried in the Salon by a lovely stylist - and all our fellow guests seemed to be enjoying their stays too. The grounds are breathtaking - the Ducks especially seemed to love the rain! Golf facilities were very tempting and I would like to say a sincere thank you to all at Dromoland Castle. Unfortunately our break had to be cut short, but I very much look forward to visiting again next year.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busterandboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

I stayed here for the start of my birthday vacation and absolutely loved every aspect of it. The castle itself was breathtaking, the food was incredible, and the service was impeccable. I will be returning to this hotel for many years to come.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YellowMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We went to Dromoland Castle for our 40th wedding anniversary. It was a truly bad experience. The staff were snooty and seem to regard guests as an inconvenience. The check-in was unpleasant as they couldn't find our booking and left us waiting for almost an hour before the guy grudgingly admitted that it was there all along. You were made to feel like a criminal standing there waiting. The restaurant staff were careful to avoid serving you unless you absolutely convinced them it was worthy of them to condescend. The room had a peculiar smell that you find in old and neglected dwellings. We travel a lot and we are accustomed to getting good service because in a place like Dromoland you should be able to get that as standard. It's a place where you pay to be insulted and life is too short for supporting that kind of rudeness and bad for your blood pressure. It's unthinkable that hotel owners permit guests to be treated this way. The only way to deal with this attitude is to hit them in the pocket by not going there in the first place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Inscribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.9 km away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,325 reviews
11.5 km away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,499 reviews
8.4 km away
Old Ground Hotel
Old Ground Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
434 reviews
22.6 km away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,728 reviews
8.1 km away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromoland Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromoland Castle Hotel

Address: Limerick-Ennis Road | Co.Clare, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range: $339 - $1,227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dromoland Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an extraordinary history stretching back to the 5th Century, the Dromoland Castle 5 Star Hotel in Ireland was originally the ancestral home of one of the few families of Gaelic Royalty; direct descendants of Brian Boru, the High King of Ireland. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent lawns, this Irish 5 star luxury Castle Hotel overlooks its own Championship Golf Course and a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Preferred Hotels and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dromoland Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromoland Castle Ireland
Castle Dromoland Ireland
Dromoland Castle Hotel Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing