We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,954)
Filter reviews
3,954 results
Traveller rating
3,247
425
165
69
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,247
425
165
69
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course hawk walk walled garden beautiful grounds felt like royalty dream come true fig tree falconry experience cocktail bar clay shooting horseback riding golf club the main dining room once in a lifetime our honeymoon drawing room pony and trap
Filter
Updating list...
3,685 - 3,690 of 3,954 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We got married here in 2007. As a wedding venue the food was excellent, the service was amazing & overall I can only give it 100%. Nov 2010-Staying with our 2.5yr old daughter was a different experience but equally brilliant. For kids: ducks in the pond to feed, lovely walks & plenty of space to play outside in Summer & swimming pool. Children's menu available & dining until 11pm in the Gallery, which is super elegant & atmospheric yet not the main dining room so everyone feels comfortable. Staff are truly amazing & know how to combine service & friendliness perfectly. Rooms & Bathrooms are spacious. We like Deluxe & state rooms. Queen Anne decor is v.flowery. No CD or DVD player in room. Room service is prompt. Hair salon & spa are in the main castle. Swimming pool & gym are in the club house a short walk away. Swimming pool is warm & nice, but the changing facilities & lockers are tiny You need €1 to lock the locker. Other thing to note is that the walk from the club house to the hotel is quite dark on winter evenings. Overall this hotel is definitely worth staying in, the experience, rooms , food, staff are all just wonderful. It is out on it's own, no town really nearby but you have everthing you need on site, with plenty of dining options, as they also serve food at the club house. It is also a good base for visiting Bunratty, going to Co. Clare Ailwee Caves & the Cliffs of Moher or a day trip to Galway. Lots to do if you wanted to stay for more than 1-2 nights. You definitely leave this hotel wanting to come back again! Highly Recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnPLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Although we were not blessed by good weather, we were very fortunate to be upgraded on arrival, with a warm welcome, excellent staff (most of whom were of long standing which is always a good sign), great range of options for things to do, management could not be more attentive and accommodating, my partner had a massage in the Spa which he said was an "11 out of 10(!)" and I had my hair blow dried in the Salon by a lovely stylist - and all our fellow guests seemed to be enjoying their stays too. The grounds are breathtaking - the Ducks especially seemed to love the rain! Golf facilities were very tempting and I would like to say a sincere thank you to all at Dromoland Castle. Unfortunately our break had to be cut short, but I very much look forward to visiting again next year.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busterandboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

I stayed here for the start of my birthday vacation and absolutely loved every aspect of it. The castle itself was breathtaking, the food was incredible, and the service was impeccable. I will be returning to this hotel for many years to come.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YellowMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We went to Dromoland Castle for our 40th wedding anniversary. It was a truly bad experience. The staff were snooty and seem to regard guests as an inconvenience. The check-in was unpleasant as they couldn't find our booking and left us waiting for almost an hour before the guy grudgingly admitted that it was there all along. You were made to feel like a criminal standing there waiting. The restaurant staff were careful to avoid serving you unless you absolutely convinced them it was worthy of them to condescend. The room had a peculiar smell that you find in old and neglected dwellings. We travel a lot and we are accustomed to getting good service because in a place like Dromoland you should be able to get that as standard. It's a place where you pay to be insulted and life is too short for supporting that kind of rudeness and bad for your blood pressure. It's unthinkable that hotel owners permit guests to be treated this way. The only way to deal with this attitude is to hit them in the pocket by not going there in the first place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Inscribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Since we were flying out of Shannon Airport, we wanted to stay nearby on our last night and had heard incredible things about Dromoland Castle, so decided to spend our final night in Ireland in style. And what style it was! The Caste and grounds are fantastic . You feel like you're in a fairy tale! The rooms are large and modern, although everything has the feel of tradition. The restaurant and lounge areas are so elegant and we had a delightful final evening enjoying light fare in the lounge and listening to traditional Irish music. Our server was fabulous - full of Irish wit! Overall, the service matched the perfection of the surroundings. Would definitely recommend starting or ending your trip here if flying from Shannon!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GMM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews