We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Fairy World”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Next stop, the majestic historic 5-star Dromoland Castle Hotel. Known for being one of the top luxury hotels of the world, Dromoland Castle in the County of Clare, dates back to the 16th Century and is the ancestral home of the O'Brien clan, direct descendants of the last High King of Ireland; Brian Boru.

We are met at the drive way with handshakes and smiles by the staff, with them taking our bags and parking our car, all very James Bond style. Hello Mr Bond. I take Lisa´s arm and lead her up the stairs to the mighty entrance where we get another very nice welcoming with a short introduction to the castle and an upgrade to a suite. Being showed to the room with more information about the castle, Lisa enters the room feeling like a true princess, what a room it is, we have a luxurious true castle style fairy tail experience to it. Were enjoying a relaxing bath before going down for 9 o´clock dinner at the elegant award-winning restaurant The Earl of Thomond. The restaurant is fully booked and after a short while the restaurant manager, Mr Tony Frisby welcomes us and shows us to our table. The service and warm welcoming never stops at Dromoland Castle, as we our served very good complimentary champagne from Mr Tony Frisby. The menu and wine list looks excellent and we really enjoy our choice of the quality 3 course dinner and wine. We wrap the very entertaining evening up in the Drawing Room and bar with live music enjoying a whiskey, chatting to other guests.

Pancakes for Lisa and the best scrambled eggs during our stay in Ireland with smoked salmon and irish muffins for Pete starts this lovely day off. On the schedule we have a visit to the Spa, relishing the thermal hot tub spa pool and Falconry with Dromoland Castles own Falconry School on the grounds run by Dave Atkinson. We had our Hawk walk with the very knowledgable and friendly Jim together with the incredible Harris Hawk, Bomber. After a good 1,5 hours we check-out of our room after an extra complimentary 2 hour check-out. We fill in the guest books, take some last photographs while our car is picked up and baggage taken care off, while leaving, Managing Director, Mr Mark Nolan with staff thanks us and sends us on our way back to Dublin.
What a wonderful experience and one unique stay this was. We would love to come back for a longer stay, to enjoy and explore all the amazing, picturesque and romantic surroundings in and outside the castle.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,913 - 2,917 of 3,543 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2013

What a great experience. We recently stayed for three nights at Dromoland and had a wonderful experience from start to finish.
Right from arrival we found all of the staff to be exceptionally friendly, courteous, attentive and professional. Everything we asked for was provided instantly and all-round the service was excellent. It is obvious that the staff place a high priority on ensuring high levels of customer satisfaction.
The castle itself is also a wonderful place. This was our first time to stay here although we had previously stayed at the sister castle in Ashford last year. The castle has a great atmosphere and always seems to be relaxing and manages to feel homely even though it is a busy hotel. The grounds are superb although regrettably we didn’t get much opportunity to enjoy them because of the poor weather during our stay.
Food and wines are excellent (although a bit on the expensive side for these days) and the atmosphere in the informal gallery restaurant is just ideal.
The facilities in Dromoland are second to none offering a very comprehensive range I was also pleased to note the provision of free Wi-Fi which is throughout the castle including the bedrooms as so many hotels still continue to charge unjustified fees for WI-FI but it’s all free in Dromoland.
Overall it’s a great place to go for a short relaxing break to spoil yourself and your partner. Frankly I could not find fault with any aspect so I would recommend Dromoland without hesitation.
Cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DublinPaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Had our wedding here in February 2013. Faultless best describes the performance of all involved in ensuring our wedding day was what we had hoped and planned for. The wedding coordinator Margaret is professional and responsive and ensures you know where things stand at all points in the run up to the event. Little bits of feedback from our guests were "they brought my car to the door at 5.30am in the morning and had coffee and Danish for my trip", "I felt pampered after the weekend", "I felt like I was welcomed to a friends home". The staff are very friendly and professional and remembered some small but important details throughout the weekend. They do really treat you like one would when welcoming a guest to your home.

We also stayed here in the run up to the wedding. There is a still quietness about the place, that immediately allows you relax and leave the hussle at the entrance to the estate. It is a place we will hopefully have many more opportunities to stay in the years ahead.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_OFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed at Dromoland Castle for several nights in October, 2012. The second we arrived at the gates we were greeted by staff on horseback and at least 40 dogs running next to us. Once at the castle, staff was there to welcome us on the front steps. All our outings were arranged and everything was very well organized. Love the full Irish breakfast buffet each morning. Our room was first order, clean, fresh, turned-down nightly. The ground are gorgeous and very well maintained. Staff is knowledgeable, very friendly yet professional. The chef was very friendly with a tour of the immaculate kitchens. Take a golf cart tour while you are here, visit the gardens and explore. Excellent chocolates were provided on the pillow each night. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayjacobs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed at Dromoland Castle for 3 nights in March 2013 on our tour of Ireland. The castle and our room was magnificent. From the manager, to the entire hotel staff they made our stay warm and relaxing after a busy day of driving and touring. The cuisine was excellent. Tony Frisby the restaurant manager and his staff were attentive made our stay and dining experience memorable which prompted us to plan our next visit to eat, relax and my husband to have the opportunity to play golf. Still dreaming about the duck confit... and venison.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEMNLSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.9 km away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,278 reviews
11.5 km away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,488 reviews
8.4 km away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
832 reviews
17.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
11.1 km away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromoland Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromoland Castle Hotel

Address: Limerick-Ennis Road | Co.Clare, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range: $317 - $1,229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dromoland Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an extraordinary history stretching back to the 5th Century, the Dromoland Castle 5 Star Hotel in Ireland was originally the ancestral home of one of the few families of Gaelic Royalty; direct descendants of Brian Boru, the High King of Ireland. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent lawns, this Irish 5 star luxury Castle Hotel overlooks its own Championship Golf Course and a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dromoland Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromoland Castle Ireland
Castle Dromoland Ireland
Dromoland Castle Hotel Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing