We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,969)
Filter reviews
3,969 results
Traveller rating
3,261
425
166
69
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,261
425
166
69
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course hawk walk walled garden beautiful grounds felt like royalty dream come true fig tree falconry experience cocktail bar clay shooting horseback riding golf club the main dining room once in a lifetime our honeymoon drawing room pony and trap
Filter
Updating list...
3,517 - 3,522 of 3,969 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Spectacular in every way. You will definitely feel good about yourself just by being here. Go for it

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We spent our first night in Ireland at Dromoland Castle. Pampering touches included bathrobes and slippers for children and cookies in the room for children. I wish we had brought workout gear and bathing suits because there is a very nice pool and gym building. The grounds were lovely. We had a great time practicing our golf in the rain at the covered driving range. Practice green and putting green were in great shape. We really enjoyed our time with the falconer. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean but has not been renovated in quite a while.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murfre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Firstly my review is based on a dining experience rather than an overnight stay. However I still feel that paying over €80.00 for afternoon tea warrants an exceptional experience....it wasnt!

We arrived on time for our booking and were told to walk through the reception area and down the hallway. There was a wedding on the same day and the bride and lots of other people were assembled in the hallway taking photographs on the stairs. The photographer was doing his thing meaning we stood there like idiots for about 10 minutes before I eventually just walked down the hallway regardless.

Tea was served in a very strange room with lots of ceramic dogs on the walls. Apparently this is the bar. It certainly wasn't the room that is shown on the website. I presume this was because of the wedding. Someone came to take our order and off they went. They came back with the tea and set the table etc. Then we waited another 20 minutes for the food by which point the tea was undrinkable! There was no offer of fresh tea so we asked for it.

The food itself was fine. Quite nice if remember correctly. There was mix up with the bill as my friend was paying with a voucher which we were told was out of date despite calling and being told they don't expire!!!

All in all, an average visit. I'm not sure what all the fuss is about....!

Plus the place smells of old furnishings......a deep clean and some new fabric on the chairs might help.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Donna211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Dromoland Castle in early April 2012. The Castle is beautiful and very romantic looking. Reception was friendly and smooth. Our bags were whisked away to our room, we were given a quick tour of the castle, and from then on were treated like family. We were never greeted without a smile. In fact, this was the friendliest place that we've stayed at in Ireland. And since every place we've ever stayed at in Ireland has been friendly, this is truly high praise. A highlight of the stay was an afternoon tea in the Drawing Room. This has to be one of the most comfortably elegant hotels in the world. The grounds are outstanding, don't miss the walled gardens, and be sure to walk up to the Temple of Mercury (if for no other reason than to look back down the hill at the Castle). Dromoland is centrally located for day trips to the Cliffs of Moher, the Burren, the Arran Isles, and Bunratty Castle (medieval banquets). You can drive to the Ring of Kerry or to the Dingle Peninsula in less than 2 hours. It is about 20 minutes from Shannon Airport, making it a perfect place to stay at the beginning and/or end of your trip to Ireland.

Room Tip: All of the rooms either look over the grounds, or across the courtyard to other parts of the castle.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RetiredDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Fantastic service, beautiful Hotel, gorgeous grounds. The Staff were the best trained I have ever come across. They made you feel that they knew you and treated you as if you were they were your best friends.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tadhg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews