We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
142
19
3
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
19
3
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews irish coffee scones warm beds spring flowers bunratty castle shannon airport my home away from home irish experience irish folk a wonderful place to stay medieval banquet frank craic pub
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2008

Upon stepping into this B&B, I was immediately struck by three things: the terribly musty smell, how cold it was in the house, and the open laundry room filled with unfolded towels and such. Things didn't get better when we got to our room -- it was much too small for 3 people, the towels were mismatched, and there were 2 clumps of hair in the bathroom (one under the sink and one in the shower). Also, our rollaway was not made up and didn't include a top sheet. Breakfast was not made to order and wasn't very warm. We've stayed at many B&Bs throughout Europe, and so far this was least of any of them; it was more on par with staying at someone's grandma's house. While Sheila was knowledgeable and friendly, I would hesitate to recommend Ashgrove House.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AppleDapple03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2007

We spent 8 nights in Ireland and one night at the Ashgrove House B&B. Although, Sheila was friendly and informative, the accommodations were not on par with the other places we stayed. The radiator was on, but it didn't seem to warm the room. It was cold and musty smelling. No hand towels were provided and not enough bath towels were provided for our family. We had to ask for more towels. The towels that were provided were old and mismatched, and just tossed on the bed. The breakfast was pre-made rather than made to order like most places, so when we arrived at breakfast, it was cold. If you are looking for matching towels, sparkling clean accommodations, a warm fire, and a mint on your pillow, try another place.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HappyTravelers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2007

We picked the Ashgrove House for our last night in Ireland due to its proximity to Shannon. Frank and Sheila were very entertaining and wonderful hosts. We were immediately offered an authentic Irish coffee which was absolutely wonderful. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner at the Creamery and visited Meg O'Malley's for yet another pull of vitamin G. Sheila packed us a picnic breakfast to take with us for our early departure from Shannon. We were most happy with our stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2007

We bookended our stay in Ireland with 2 nights at Ashgrove. Since we've never been to Ireland or a B&B before, Sheila had everything handled and taken care of. We were able to get right into our room and snooze for a few hours before going to the madrigal dinner performance at Bunratty (which Sheila booked for us by the way).

The room was quiet, clean and the bed SUPER cozy. The Irish Breakfast was absolutely delicious. We were really on the move while there but the atmosphere made me want to stay and relax for a while. Frank has a great personality and we talked to him for a little bit before departing after our first night in Ireland - he is totally hilarious and super nice.

When we returned to stay for our last night in Ireland we arrived in the mid-afternoon and we ended up hanging out with Sheila for a little while. She is a great hostess, very welcoming and made us feel like we were part of her family - we will surely stay at Ashgrove again next time we visit Ireland.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelamadingdong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2007

Ashgrove hous is a great place to stay if you are flying in or out of Shannon. It is less than 1/2 hour away. The Inkeeper, Shelia, is a real sweetheart. She will give you an Irish coffee after a long trip and lots of hints on what to see and do. Touring Bunratty Castle and Folk Village (just down the road) is an absolute must. It exceeded our expectation in every respect. Of the two restaurants nearby (The Creamery and Dirty Nellies) , the former is a better choice. But they sometimes stop serving early off season.

The B&B is very comfortable but unpretentious. Shelia makes you feel that you are a guest in her home and that is really nice. The breakfast is hearty and there is a car park in the rear. We paid 65 Euro for an insuite room with breakfast. Shelia prefers cash. The local ATM ran out of money the day of our departure but she gladly took dollars. She even packed us a picnic lunch because we has an earlty flight out and would miss breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Maryland_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews