We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
USD 121*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 88*
USD 83*
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 133*
USD 107*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 193*
USD 121*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 194*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 147*
USD 141*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
USD 207*
USD 176*
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Dromoland(Newmarket-on-Fergus)(Great Value!)
USD 133*
USD 127*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodfield House Hotel(Limerick)(Great Value!)
USD 145*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 247*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,518)
Filter reviews
1,518 results
Traveller rating
474
531
298
133
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
474
531
298
133
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelkathleen's barbunratty castlewedding receptionsteam roomshannon airporttour groupleisure centrethe pubdurty nellieswoolen millslarge roommedieval banquetlast nightfollowing morningstayed here for one nightirish breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,218 - 1,223 of 1,518 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We were at a family wedding, with guests from as far away as Oz. The room, 438 was very large and clean, it was situated at the back of the hotel on the top floor Executive Corridor !.so was very quiet. The window must have been open at some point as we had a plethora of dead flies on the window sill some dead, some dieing, that my wife likened to my dancing ( but that's another storey)
The Tv had very poor picture and when we mentioned this and the Air conditioning it was replaced and the A/C fixed in Jig time. The Bathroom floor is in desperate need of grout as most of it is missing leaving deep groves in the floor that will be nigh on impossible to clean should be looked at as a matter urgency. (Left this in the Comments Card.)
The staff were mostly " Not Irish" but were very nice and friendly but did hear a number of USA guests say it would be more appropriate to have the face to face staff Irish as this is what they come for, they love the twang, the crack and most had Irish roots, so to be confronted by so many foreign nationals was a bit of a let down and as a result the hotel could have been anywhere. I think the Hotel could be more Irish than it is.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back of the hotel Top Floor numbers 400 are big and quiet Book your room from one of the Internet site as they are half the price.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brin1378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed here along with a group of thirty extented family members. We were celebrating the 50th wedding annniversary of my parents in laws. It was the perfect place for it. The rooms were massive and very spacious, There was a lot of bed hopping with all the cousins wanting to sleepover and there was ample room for all. We held mass in one lf the function rooms and there was nothing the staff wouldn't do fof us. There was a great buzz to this hotel and we would all go back. Very convenient to all local attractions also.

Room Tip: Old wing or new wing all excellent in terms of space.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anaGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed here on our last night in the country. We had checked it out on line and it had a pool, which we thought would be perfect for our last evening, after a full day in the Bunratty Folk Park. So, when we checked in, we asked about dinner places and then about when the pool closed, thinking we had seen 8pm or 9pm on the website. The desk clerk said it closed at 9pm, but there were no children allowed in after 6pm!!! I was furious, here it was, just after 4pm and I had promised my kids they could swim. We raced to our room to change and got to the pool around 4:40pm. On the entrance door to the pool, the hours were posted as closing at 9pm - absolutely nothing about no children after 6pm. And, also, the staff said that everyone had to wear swim caps, so they have them for you with the towels, but you have to pay 2,50 Euros!!! There was nobody else in the pool except my kids and yet,at 6pm, they came and asked us to leave. I was still very mad about that - nowhere on the literature in the room or on the sign on the door did it say children were banned after 6pm. Grrrrr.
Not only was the pool incident upsetting, but the rooms were badly in need of renovation and the beds were very uncomfortable. The breakfast was good, but I would not recommend this hotel if you have another choice.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RYC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We requested a wake-up call. Never got one. It is a good thing we woke up on our own because otherwise we may have missed our early flight out to the United States. We never got our continental breakfast delivered to our room. We called to remind them again, and it never came. We requested toilet paper and never got it. We never got an apology from the employee at the front desk. They used the excuse that there were problems with a wedding party. Poor excuse. If you know there will be a wedding, hire additional staff to handle potential wedding drama. For a beautiful hotel, the service is horrible. A lot of noise from wedding party revelers as well. The walls must be thin because you can hear everything.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I have never stayed in a noisier hotel. The constant banging of doors in the early hours is unbelievable. I'm not the only person who has had this experience either, a friend of mine stayed two weeks earlier and had the same problem. Staff are very friendly though. The pub down the road 'Durty Nellies' is to be avoided at all costs. The bar staff are HORRENDOUS to say the least, and it's a complete false impression of what an Irish pub should be.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlexL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews