We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT HOTEL AND CLOSE TO SHANNON AIRPORT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL AND CLOSE TO SHANNON AIRPORT”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This was our third trip to Ireland and we always end it at Bunratty Castle. We were in Ireland for two weeks and ended this trip staying here for five nights and as always had a wonderful stay. It is easy driving distance to many locations. We drove up to Galway, Cliffs of Moher, The Burren, Rock of Cashel and Adare. The restaurant is delicous and the bar a friendly gathering place. The rooms are very spacious and beds wonderful. The best part is that it is only 15 minutes to Shannon Airport. So leaving is really easy with no stressing about getting to the airport. Also, right next door to the hotel is Blarney Woolen Mills, The Creamery, Bunratty Castle and Folk Park and Durty Nellies. All things you should visit. The Creamery is a pub with really great drinks and food and a change of pace from the restaurant and bar at the hotel. This hotel is a great location but does not give you the feeling you are staying at an airport hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdandjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    485
    265
    114
    63
See reviews for
354
508
51
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We were at a family wedding, with guests from as far away as Oz. The room, 438 was very large and clean, it was situated at the back of the hotel on the top floor Executive Corridor !.so was very quiet. The window must have been open at some point as we had a plethora of dead flies on the window sill some dead, some dieing, that my wife likened to my dancing ( but that's another storey)
The Tv had very poor picture and when we mentioned this and the Air conditioning it was replaced and the A/C fixed in Jig time. The Bathroom floor is in desperate need of grout as most of it is missing leaving deep groves in the floor that will be nigh on impossible to clean should be looked at as a matter urgency. (Left this in the Comments Card.)
The staff were mostly " Not Irish" but were very nice and friendly but did hear a number of USA guests say it would be more appropriate to have the face to face staff Irish as this is what they come for, they love the twang, the crack and most had Irish roots, so to be confronted by so many foreign nationals was a bit of a let down and as a result the hotel could have been anywhere. I think the Hotel could be more Irish than it is.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back of the hotel Top Floor numbers 400 are big and quiet Book your room from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brin1378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed here along with a group of thirty extented family members. We were celebrating the 50th wedding annniversary of my parents in laws. It was the perfect place for it. The rooms were massive and very spacious, There was a lot of bed hopping with all the cousins wanting to sleepover and there was ample room for all. We held mass in one lf the function rooms and there was nothing the staff wouldn't do fof us. There was a great buzz to this hotel and we would all go back. Very convenient to all local attractions also.

Room Tip: Old wing or new wing all excellent in terms of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anaGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
559 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed here on our last night in the country. We had checked it out on line and it had a pool, which we thought would be perfect for our last evening, after a full day in the Bunratty Folk Park. So, when we checked in, we asked about dinner places and then about when the pool closed, thinking we had seen 8pm or 9pm on the website. The desk clerk said it closed at 9pm, but there were no children allowed in after 6pm!!! I was furious, here it was, just after 4pm and I had promised my kids they could swim. We raced to our room to change and got to the pool around 4:40pm. On the entrance door to the pool, the hours were posted as closing at 9pm - absolutely nothing about no children after 6pm. And, also, the staff said that everyone had to wear swim caps, so they have them for you with the towels, but you have to pay 2,50 Euros!!! There was nobody else in the pool except my kids and yet,at 6pm, they came and asked us to leave. I was still very mad about that - nowhere on the literature in the room or on the sign on the door did it say children were banned after 6pm. Grrrrr.
Not only was the pool incident upsetting, but the rooms were badly in need of renovation and the beds were very uncomfortable. The breakfast was good, but I would not recommend this hotel if you have another choice.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RYC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nutley, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We requested a wake-up call. Never got one. It is a good thing we woke up on our own because otherwise we may have missed our early flight out to the United States. We never got our continental breakfast delivered to our room. We called to remind them again, and it never came. We requested toilet paper and never got it. We never got an apology from the employee at the front desk. They used the excuse that there were problems with a wedding party. Poor excuse. If you know there will be a wedding, hire additional staff to handle potential wedding drama. For a beautiful hotel, the service is horrible. A lot of noise from wedding party revelers as well. The walls must be thin because you can hear everything.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
0.4 km away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
386 reviews
11.5 km away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,050 reviews
4.4 km away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,058 reviews
19.8 km away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,475 reviews
7.1 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunratty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Castle Hotel

Property: Bunratty Castle Hotel
Address: Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Price range (per night): $141 - $242
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunratty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bunratty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing