We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
monaghan
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The overal experience was very good and it was a comfortable hotel. The food served in the Bar and in the Restaurant was very good and not overly priced. Parking at the hotel was ample and the Fitness suite was very good. There were a couple of downs that could be attended to: We were given a 'smoking room' without being asked or wanted and there was a foul smell of tobacco in the room initially; There was a very noisy 'party' in an adjacent room which lasted until 4.30am approx depriving us of sleep until 5am.; at breakfast three half slices of toast are served to share by two people, when another slice was requested, a plate with six slices was served and this happened two mornings; However none of these would stop me going back.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker make sure to ask for non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bedboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    231
    89
    31
    21
See reviews for
201
266
17
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My partner and I were looking for somewhere nice for a night away in an hotel not far from Dublin. She rang me during the day and said she found a place in Wexford for about 100 euro per head per night, but their midweek rate was 35. I said no, try somewhere else, then she rang me back later to say she found a lovely place in Cavan, where her sister had stayed, on occasion. We got 2 nights b n b plus a 4 course evening meal, for the same price as one night in Wexford, and it would not have even been one full night, as by the time I got home from work and was packed and ready, it would have been 9 o clock before we got there, so that would have been a total waste of money. We arrived in Cavan and got settled in to our beautiful, clean and spotless room, decided to have the meal on our second night, and ordered something off the room service menu. It was fabulous, fresh and very tasty. We had a great sleep and went down for breakfast. This too was a properly cooked meal, by staff who know that Irish people like their bacon cooked properly, and not resembling something that was in a coddle. We headed down the town for the rest of the day and had a lovely stroll around, as Cavan is small enough to be conquered in a day, at a relaxing pace. My partner wanted to get her hair done, so we were recommended a place by the staff at the hotel hairdressers, because they were booked out for the day. We had to wait a while for her appointment, so we had a small lunch in The Hard Boiled Egg cafe. What a find, great food, great menu, and lovely staff, they even have a Slimming World menu. Went back to the hotel when she was finished, and I headed down for a swim in the hotel pool, while my partner rested up in the room. We opted for the early sitting at dinner that night, and we were abslutely amazed at the staff, the food, the way they had the whole place running like clockwork. Our meals were fantastic, and thankfully did not suffer in anyway in quality, because we were on a package. The staff were preparing a table for a family, who were all together in the hotel, celebrating the Dads 70 th birthday, grandchildren and all were there. The staff got a hold of his photo and had put it as the front cover on their menus at that table, thought that was a lovely touch. Next morning we came down for another lovely breakfast, sat around reading the Sunday papers, and then headed home at a nice leisurely pace. We will be back, and thank you to Ursula who was heavily pregnant, but still doing her bit, and more.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnjonea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for three days dinner bed and breakfast, It was very good value and the staff could not have been more helpful. It was quite so we had to eat in the bar, (dining room closed) the tables were a little low but this was over looked as the food was very good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrmaClifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We went there as a couple for a weekend in celebration of a birthday and it was through a discounted supermarket deal. My partner and I are die hard hotel stayers and as such we have a very low threshold to hassle. Well we can honestly say that it was a wonderful experience and the staff would not have been more helpful in every aspect. They even made sure of our restaurant reservation and made sure that they chef did something quite special on the desert menu to acknowledge my partners birthday. By the way the food was just superb especially the deserts and there was lots of little touches that meant a lot. If a couple stay away from the adjoining rooms as the sound from the next room is not fully eliminated. The breakfast chef would need to take a leaf out of the evening and desert chef's book as the art of poaching an egg is an art and a hard one is not so nice. Best wishes and continued success.

Room Tip: Don't pick adjoining rooms as the sound is not baffled enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PVDalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Just decided to write a review stayed here at start of january - and have to stay the previous review about 'struggling 3 star' is very harsh... it was quiet when we visited but overall hotel was just what it said on the tin. Good leisure centre, spacious rooms with all necessary amenities and friendly staff... one particular member of staff the young bar lady was particularly friendly and seemed to work v hard.

One aspect was superb and that was the restaurant- food was really outstanding in the evening with lovely amuse bouche and a head chef that is obviously passionate. We had a small issue during the evening - which serves no purpose writing here; but it was dealt with professionally and courteously and in no way took away from the meal. Excellent Wine list too. Head waitress professional as was her team.

Overall good experience - excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidMc2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavan
4.4 km away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
1.3 km away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
241 reviews
19.0 km away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.9 km away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,301 reviews
26.2 km away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Virginia
556 reviews
17.7 km away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavan Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavan Crystal Hotel

Property: Cavan Crystal Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Cavan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Price range (per night): $156 - $259
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavan Crystal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavan Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing