We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spectacular: fab as honeymoon venue!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean right on your doorstep
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean right on your doorstep
You'll love the charm and classic styling of Cliff Cottage This 1800's gem - tastefully restored to let its original character shine.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean right on your doorstep
You'll love the charm and classic styling of Cliff Cottage
This 1800's gem - tastefully restored to let its original character shine.
Main bedroom with spectacular sea and beach views
Cottage hallway
Lovingly restored original stone alcoves in the cottage hallway
Old world charm of the cottage
Bring your slippers and make yourself at home!
Towels and linen provided
Relax, unwind and enjoy the charm of the cottage
Well-proportioned rooms and original high ceilings add to the charm of the cottage
Main Bedroom ensuite with sea views
Twin Bedroom with en suite and breathtaking sea view
Ensuite for twin bedroom
Single bedroom with adjacent toilet and shower room
Bright twin bedroom with beach view, toilet and shower room adjacent
Stylish, yet highly functional kitchen
Kitchen area of open plan extension showing side entrance to the property
Fully-equipped, hand-painted kitchen
Dining area with seating for 8 people
Lounge area of open plan extension with cosy wood-burning stove
Dining and relaxing space, complete with wood-burning stove
Well-proportioned open plan kitchen, dining and living space
Dine al fresco, Irish weather-permitting!
On those balmy days, breathe in that fresh air!
View from front of cottage
Next stop, North America!
Unwind to the therapeutic sound of the waves on the rocks
At one with nature
Nearby Loop Head Peninsula - voted European Destination of Excellence in aquatic tourism 2010.
Choice of three golf courses on your doorstep-Kilkee Golf Club only a two minute stroll up the road
Carrigaholt Pier and Village 20 minutes drive away
Nothing like a fresh Atlantic swim in Kilkee's famous Pollock Holes
Dolphin watching - a must do! These incredible cruises leave regularly from Carrigaholt and Kilrush
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kilkee, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dccc77
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular: fab as honeymoon venue!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Booked this for my hubby's birthday.. what a fabulous house, better than 5 star! Spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated & personalised welcome for us! Would definitely recommend it as honeymoon vacation spot for overseas couples!! Pictures do not do it justice!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2017
Caroline, thank you for your very kind review. Delighted that David enjoyed Cliff Cottage to mark the occasion. Glad that you appreciated all on offer there. Best regards.Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila P
Lakewood Ranch, FL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wildly Exceeded our Expectations...on the Wild At,antic Way!”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

If you are looking for a home away from home to explore the wonders of West Clare the Cliff Cottage is an outstanding choice. With three generations visiting from the States we had ample room for privacy and comfort. The website photos are very representative of the property and yet we were still blown away on arrival by the views and amenities. The home is fully stocked. The weather even cooperated to allow for a couple of al fresco dinners on the patio. The town is easily walkable for restaurants, shops, or a visit to a pub.

Great location for visiting nearby sights: trip to Loop Head, visited our family farm in Glascloune, enjoyed a pint or two at the last bar til New York, a day in Galway, an overnight in Dublin and we enjoyed several rounds of golf at the Kilkee Golf Club.

Mary has done an outstanding job modernizing this traditional Irish cottage into modern day luxury. She couldn't be nicer or more accommodating to ensure a great holiday for us.

We look forward to another wonderful trip to Kilkee!

Slainte

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
Sheila, it was a pleasure to host yourself and your family and delighted Cliff Cottage provided a good base for all you fitted in to the holiday. Looking forward to meeting you next time. Kindest regards. Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeraJB
Canton, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional in every way!”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Cliff Cottage in Kilkee is spectacular and exceptional in EVERY way! I am challenged to find the words to adequately describe this cottage. The setting is breathtaking. The close by cliff walks are exhilarating with very few, if any, tourists in competition for the views. Kilkee is charming with friendly people and many restaurants with delicious food.

From our initial request to Mary for availability to our much too soon departure from the cottage, Mary was knowledgeable and extremely helpful in making our first stay in Ireland a memorable one. Mary emailed us a variety of places to consider visiting as well as restaurants, suggesting we Google them for details. Even throughout our stay Mary sent prompt responses to all of our questions concerning places we wanted to visit/explore during day trips. Mary provides many brochures, books and information for her guests to read over to acquaint themselves with the immediate area as well as sights on the Wild Atlantic Coast.

Mary is a gracious hostess who has provided a cottage beyond perfection for her guests to enjoy. It is clean, open, bright and lacks nothing to assure comfort for her guests. The kitchen is spacious, has beautiful dishes, glasses, cutlery and every kitchen gadget imaginable. The cupboards are stocked with all the basics and more should you prefer to cook at home. To assure a good first breakfast there were coffees, teas, juice, yogurt, bread, fruit and jellies.

The kitchen opens into the dining area and main living space which has floor to ceiling glass doors opening to the gorgeous patio overlooking the Atlantic to the west and Kilkee beach to the east. We were fortunate to have good weather and experience some gorgeous sunsets. Had it been cooler we would have loved to enjoy the wood burning fireplace.

Did I mention that the cottage was spotless? The wooden floors, furniture, bedding, towels - all like new and clean and fresh! Mary even placed small bouquets of fresh flowers in several places throughout the cottage. Detergent for the dishwasher and laundry, cleaning supplies, wet suits, patio furniture, soft woolen blankets, conversion plugs - Mary thought of everything to assure the comfort for her guests!

My husband and I have stayed in many beautiful and special places throughout Europe, however our stay at Cliff Cottage exceeds them all. It is with gratitude to Mary for her thoughtful consideration for her guests comfort and experience that my husband and I highly recommend Cliff Cottage in Kilkee. We are hoping to plan a visit once again just so we can experience Mary's exquisite gift of beauty and comfort.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2017
Dear Vera

Sincerest of thanks for the magnificent review and especially for the time and thought you obviously put into it.

It was an absolute pleasure to assist you in planning your first visit to Ireland and delighted that my advice was welcomed.

I was thrilled that you appreciated all the finer details of the cottage.

Yourself and Jim were wonderful guests, leaving the cottage in an impeccable condition.

I hope that both of you will indeed return. After all, you still have to enjoy the wood-burning stove!

Until then, Vera & Jim, take care and thanks for choosing Cliff Cottage.

Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vinrougeL...
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful cottage on the sea - with stunning views in a completely charming town”
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We were 6 people staying in Cliff Cottage, my husband and myself, my 70-something parents, and my 21 year old son and his girlfriend - and all of us had an absolutely wonderful time. The cottage itself is completely perfect - Mary has thought of every detail and I agree with the other reviews which said the reality is even better than the photos - such spectacular scenery right out of the windows, and large, spacious, light and well-appointed rooms. Kilkee itself is fantastic, several dining and pub options within walking distance, and lots more within short driving distance. The West Coast of Ireland is spectacular, with beautiful cliff walks - the Cliffs of Moher are justifiably famous and definitely worth a visit but we really loved Loop Head and went back three times for walking. Most of all we were treated with hospitality and friendliness wherever we went. I can't thank Mary enough for all of her detailed information on the house and the local sights and restaurants, she was always on the end of an email as we planned our trip and on text while we were there. You will be delighted with Cliff Cottage, I promise. We are already trying to figure out how to go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2017
Christine, thank you for your very kind review. I am delighted that you all enjoyed your trip to Cliff Cottage and West Clare. Thrilled too that you appreciated the magic of Loop Head! It was a pleasure to host you and your family and we look forward to welcoming you back. All the best until then. Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelwit...
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“If you are looking for a spectacular 'home from home' look no further”
Reviewed 13 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Cliff Cottage is a uniquely beautiful 'home from home' with absolutely magnificent and uninterrupted views over Kilkee bay.

The original cottage is tastefully decorated in keeping with its style and the design of the modern extension has been blended in seamlessly to offer a fabulous open living area, equipped with all the mod cons you could want, natural lighting and wall to wall breathtaking views across the bay.

The fit out throughout is of a very high quality, with subtle colour tones, beautiful floors and a very spacious look and feel. While the weather was pretty cold during our stay the house was perfectly warm & inviting so absolutely no issues on that front.

The description if anything understates the quality and location of the property. It is a short walk from the town and all local amenities.

Our meet & greet was seamless as was checkout and there is a full set of detailed instructions with helpful information provided on site. Wifi was available & signal strength was good. Out host was contactable at any time & checked back with us to see if we needed anything. Great customer service.

I don't think we have stayed in a better equipped property anywhere and we have no hesitation in recommending it. Top class service and property that goes the extra mile - in a word 'excellent'.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
Gearoid, thank you so much for such a complimentary review. It was an absolute pleasure to host you and your family. You were so easy to work with and you took such great care of the cottage. I think it’s a very special place, I’m glad you think so too. You are more than welcome anytime. With kindest regards. Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing