We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“With Pets, With Family or Just Friends...Just...”
other travellers have booked this property
Out by the sauna in the sun!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Out by the sauna in the sun!
Sunroom diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Out by the sauna in the sun!
Sunroom diner
Hot tub fun - please note that house in background is our own house and NOT the cottage
View of the local beach 10 min drive from the house
Galway Bay down at the beach
view of Burren just moments from the cottage
Deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ballyvaughan, The Burren, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
catatonia...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
444 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“With Pets, With Family or Just Friends...Just Right!”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

A wonderful house in and ideal if you're looking for a spot to anchor yourself while e ploring the beautiful west of Ireland. This place offers the best of all worlds: you can bring your dog, little kids (they have high chairs) or older parents or folks requiring handicapped amenities. The house is new and serene- bedrooms are spaced out quite nicely so no one is on top of each other. Clean and modern but very bright and cozy...and interacting with Ciara is such a delight. The house is close to town and there's plenty of activities (Aliwee Caves are walkable, the ocean, the Burren, etc). If this place happens to have an available, do snap it up. You'll not regret it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the home. You still get your own space even with big group
Liked least: The lashing rain on day one!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
“What a Delight!!”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a magical experience during our 7-night stay at Ballycahill House!
On arrival we were greeted by one of the owners, Ciara, who was warm, friendly and could not do enough to assist in anyway.

This modern impressive house is beautiful inside and outside and has magnificent views of the Burren Mountains.
Sitting outside on the terrace for breakfast was just tranquil. The location is superb.
Peaceful and secluded, it was the perfect, relaxing holiday for our family of 4.
Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning house and its views.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda H
Roscrea, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect hideaway for family and friends”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed with extended family, from an 80 year old to 2 weeks old. Kiera and her lovely daughter welcomed us with home baking, perfectly stocked fridge, clean towels & bed linen. Ground floor bedrooms ideal for young and old, v spacious, and nicely finished.
Ballyvaughan village was a 5 minute drive, or 30 minute country back lane walk, suitable for buggy and bikes. Plenty to do at the Aillwee Caves, within walking distance, with coffee shop and bird flying displays.
Park the car and walk. Making sure to try the Fear Gorta tea rooms near the pier, and O'Lochlainn's whiskey pub where Margaret will make you a hot whiskey with cloves and cinnamon, with a warm welcome in Ballyvaughan. Loved it all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location v private but easy access to village when required
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing Holiday Home!”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We travelled here from Nottingham, UK at the end of August with two lovely boys aged 4 and 7 (our 7 year old is on the Autistic Spectrum), my mum, stepdad ( who is very disabled/unwell) sister in law a family friend and our 1 year old Labrador retriever Elsa!. This house catered amazingly well for everyone. We nearly had to cancel due to my stepdad's deteriorating health and from the outset and initial contact Ciara was absolutely brilliant. She really couldn't do enough for us.

The house itself is just stunning. Every last detail has been thought about. The disabled facilities are excellent as are those for the children. There are toys, books, puzzles galore and even craft, drawing and painting equipment. The house is light and spacious yet also warm and cosy at the same time. To sit in the huge bath in the Master en suite and have a window literally at the side of you open, with a view of the mountains was amazing.

It really was an experience to just be in the middle of the woods and sat in a hot tub in the rain too.

There are plenty of walks locally and Ballyvaughan itself is lovely. We ate /drank at the Italian restaurant and the Hyland Burren Hotel and also had the award winning fish and chips at O Donaghues in nearby Fanore. We visited Ailwee Cave which our boys loved and explored a few other places and took a day trip over to Inisheer one of the Arran Islands. There is still so much that we didn't see.

I cannot recommend this holiday home highly enough. it really is a special place. Thankyou so much to Ciara, John & Niasha for allowing us to enjoy a special week here.

L xxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMJOL
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect family holiday home!”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

"Dream home" says it all. I stayed here in July 2015 with my husband, 3 children (7 & under), my brother, and my Mum and Dad, and it was perfect. Not only was the house architecturally unique, it was spacious, well equipped, family friendly and spotless . The children loved the play areas and the adults enjoyed relaxing in the lovely open plan living and dining areas. The location was superb and we filled 7 days with sightseeing (with the assistance of Ciara's excellent information sheets) without travelling further than 30km. Ballyvaughan was
excellent for food, music and entertainment. Last but not least the hot tub and sauna provided a wonderful way to relax at the end of the day! A wonderful house, owned by lovely people, in an excellent location. Highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing