We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
122
96
51
21
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
96
51
21
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews under new ownership top floor pleasant hotel good size the pub first floor no elevator country hotel nice stay small town beautiful village spent two nights traditional irish music lovely bar smoked salmon county clare breakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

I spent two nights at this hotel and it was really great. The owners have managed to mix friendliness, good service and really great food at a good price. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all great. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank DugganOonagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Had a few unusual special requests due to me coming with two dogs and eight puppies. Thought hotel might not be pleased at this b the staff couldn't have been more accomodating. Bar staff also very friendly.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Stayed for a weekend with family and friends. Lots of stairs and corridors showing the history of extensions to this long established hotel. Bedrooms were very clean and comfortably furnished, bathrooms excellent, some rooms tastefully modernised, Breakfasts were very good and the home made bread was notably excellent, The bar area is quite old fashioned with a lot of dark wood and the food was reasonable though some of the portions of our evening meal were very small especially the vegetables. Internet connections in the upper rooms was poor, On the Sunday evening there were very few staff, two or three at most, and the restaurant was quite busy so one man in particular was acting as waiter, receptionist and barman all at the same time, roles manfully and courteously undertaken though not always to the standard paying guests might reasonably expect. A good value choice and with a bit of brightness in the interior and a few more hands on board, Hylands could be an even better place to stay when visiting the beautiful Burren.

Date of stay: September 2017
Thank Omaghtourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Located in a very nice location. Scenic with the bay, animals, and thatched roofed houses near by, nice to walk around in the evening. Good sized room with a comfortable bed. The shower worked very well, however the bath ventilation was sorely inadequate,poorly maintained or both. Mold in the bath/shower. This needs attention. There is a nice sitting area in the lobby area where you can relax and enjoy a drink. The restaurant could have been cleaner, our table had not been properly bused. The food was so so as was the service. Still an enjoyable stay overall.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank robg042017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Our triple room was spacious and as described. Everyone pitches in to help at this hotel! The painter carried our bags to our room and the bartender checked us in at the reception area. Staff was pleasant and the breakfast was delicious! Plenty of room to park adjacent to the hotel and smack in the middle of town. We spent a lot of $$ at the shop next door and they shipped our sweater purchases to the States for no charge! The hotel even arranged taxi service to nearby Lisdoonvarna. It is my understanding that they will be closing for several months at the end of Oct 2017 for renovations.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews