We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food did not match the location regrettably”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oranmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Galway Bay Golf & Country Club Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Reviewed 27 June 2017

This is a review of the dining experience and not the hotel.
Once you get over the ramps along the lengthy avenue, and there are a lot of them, there is loads of parking. This is a beautiful location and the golf course is great too; not so much when the Atlantic blows though!. Went for Sunday lunch as a family so ate a range of mains including pizza, fish and meat. The place was busy as we expected so we had telephoned in advance as its a long way to go to be turned away. It is basically a Golf Club house bar/restaurant and the decor and furniture matches that reality. It is bright with lots of glass so the views can be taken in easily, there are no bad seats. The menu was standard enough with something that appealed to everyone. My fish and chips was okay. The fish was fairly tasteless and the chips too much like what I would get in a fast food place. The kids liked their pizzas and my wife enjoyed her main but said it would not be living on in her memory. We usually stay for dessert if our experience has been really good; on this occasion we stopped for ice creams on the way home. Overall, the food was average but the location is anything but average. If you have the time I would suggest you drive out there, sit back and enjoy a coffee. Play a round of golf if you are up to it or just watch the players struggle with the wind.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colm K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2016

husband & I stayed here for a mini break for 4 days (3 nights). We stayed in one of the suites, which had its own sittingroom, kitchenette, bedorom & bathroom. beautiful views of the golf course & the sea. Hotel is modern.

Room Tip: golf course view I would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

Played here today
Really Sunny and perfect day
Better again had a great score
We were with the vintners golf outing
Great pint in the bar
And lots of them enjoyed food as well
Course in great shape
Fantastic views
We will be back
That said you gotta try it folks

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

even though the luxury hotel is mothballed, the golf course is a gem - and that's the main reason for going there. Every hole had a distinctiveness about it and the banked fairways frame some memorable views. After a thoroughly wet winter a period of dry weather and tining meant that the greens were not great but I could imagine that they would be when there is some warm weather. When you look back from the eighteenth green you get a view that will stay in the memory. Enough wind to make it interesting. a course for true golfers. Everyone in the club house was helpful and friendly and the food as good as it gets. Not quite as good as Lahinch which we played the previous day but exceeded our expectations. Highly recommended

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank PatrickCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015 via mobile

Played two rounds at the weekend and it has to be one of the best courses around. Most holes are different with some very deep bunkers.

We played in very calm conditions but as it is overlooking Galway bay I was told it is much more difficult when the wind is blowing.

The greens are great and most are elevated which can prove tricky.

If you are in this part of Ireland make sure you play this course as you won't be disappointed with the course but maybe with your score as it is fair but difficult













Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
Thank pagero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
0 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,520 reviews
0 km away
Menlo Park Hotel
Menlo Park Hotel
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,353 reviews
0 km away
The Galmont Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
847 reviews
0 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,805 reviews
0 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galway Bay Golf & Country Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galway Bay Golf & Country Club Hotel

Address: Renville, Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Price Range: $178 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 92
Also Known As:
Galway Bay Golf And Country Club Hotel
Galway Bay Golf & Country Club Hotel Oranmore, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing