We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and Welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shanlin House B+B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shanlin House B+B
Ranked #7 of 11 Oranmore B&B and Inns
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quiet and Welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

I have to say, upon initially driving up to Shanlin House, we were a little skeptical because it was located on a slightly busy road. It turned out to be a totally quiet and relaxing place, and we got excellent sleep both nights. Seamus was very welcoming as soon as we got there and gave us lots of recommendations on where to eat. Oranmore itself isn't super exciting, but it's very close to Galway and the surrounding countryside is beautiful.

One thing that really stood out for me was the shower... great water pressure and steaming hot, perfect after a day of mucking through cold, muddy fields while exploring 12th century abbeys. The breakfast was very good, and oddly enough, I'm not a cereal person but I really liked the muesli. We came to Shanlin House for the last two days of our stay in Ireland and as a former vegetarian, I had enough of meat at that point (be prepared for a lot of meat in Ireland!). I didn't eat a lot at breakfast because of this, so I hope Seamus doesn't think it was his cooking!

He talked with us for a long time about where to go and what to do. We followed his recommendation and we weren't sorry. He totally understood what we wanted (no crowds, no tourists, like us). He was also very accommodating when I was 5 euros short at checkout. I feel badly about that, but he was incredibly gracious. All in all, it was everything you could ask for in a B&B: quiet, great shower you could stay in for hours, wonderful hosts and in a great location close to Galway, Connemara, and The Burren. It's a great option if, like us, you don't want to stay directly in Galway because of noise and crowds.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graceann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    13
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
18
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Oranmore is a nice Town to base yourself in.The cliffs of Moher & The Burren are just 1hr away & Galway city is just 15 mins. Shanlin House is a real good place to stay.Sheamus & Geraldine just make you feel right at home.Food was great and Sheamus made sure if we did'nt like something on the menu for breakfast he replaced it with something else.
We eat in Riordens pub/restaurant in Oranmore and all four of us were delighted with our meals.Good Irish portions to tuck into,value for money and the waitress who took care of us was just amazing.
What I love about most B&Bs is there is not that rush to get you to checkout early as most hotels do and Sheamus told us to take our time. Just nice people doing a great job. Thank you for a very pleasent stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eternity4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, CT
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

The Grady family were the perfect hosts for our trip to Galway. On a friend's reccomendation we stayed with Seamus and Geraldine. It was a great stay. Not only did they make sure we were comfortable and well fed within our lodgings, but they made sure our adventure on the coast was one we'd enjoy. It's in a great location within walking distance of the town with excellent restaurants and great pubs. Also very close to Galway and public transport. Will definiately visit again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

On a recent tour of Ireland (from Australia) we were lucky enough to find Shanlin House, & I have to say this was THE best B&B we stayed at during our entire trip, Seamus & Geraldine are so warm and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble for them, Seamus's breakfasts were voted the best of the trip. The rooms were tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and everything was supplied, we couldn't have asked for more. Seamus was a font of information for directions, local attractions and facilities. Shanlin House is well located, an easy 5 min walk to restaurants/pub in Oranmore town, a short drive into Galway itself, perfect for exploring this beautiful part of Ireland, we were very sad to leave, but will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks County, PA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Seamus and Geraldine have a perfect bed & breakfast. We found it to be both cozy and luxurious, with rooms that were clean and comfortable. The breakfast both mornings were fabulous. Seamus was very helpful with directions and suggestions.

Shanlin House is very convenient for touring the Galway area; we also went out to Inishmore. We will definitely return to Shanlin House.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
0.8 km away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.9 km away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
1.7 km away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
14.6 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
10.1 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanlin House B+B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanlin House B+B

Property: Shanlin House B+B
Address: Shanlin House Maree Road, Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Oranmore
Price range (per night): $103 - $118
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanlin House Bed & Breakfast, is the ideal location for the visitor to stay, relax and "watch the sun go down on Galway Bay." It provides a central location from which to tour the major attractions of the West of Ireland, a variety of local attractions and activities and the village of Oranmore within a few minutes walk for a selection of restaurants, pubs and music. A residence for comfort and relaxation. Check our prices and make a reservation by post or online. From the first glance at the outside of Shanlin House, the guest knows from seeing the well-tended gardens, the colourful window boxes and imposing facade of the house that this is no ordinary guest accommodation. Shanlin House is the ideal base for the tourist wishing to visit the major attractions of the West of Ireland. Local attractions include Galway Bay Golf and Country Club and Clarinbridge village, the home of the Oyster Festival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Shanlin House B+B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanlin House B+B Oranmore, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing