We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly Exceptional Home and Furnishings”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gatsby House

Sitting Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Room
Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Sitting Room
Dining Room
Library
Library
Ava Gardner Bedroom
Cary Grant bedroom
Cary Grant bathroom
Lauren Bacall Bedroom
Twin bedroom
Grace Kelly bedroom
Gatsby House Exterior
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Ardara, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
blndgenie
Canton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Truly Exceptional Home and Furnishings”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

My sister rented this extraordinary home for our group of 7 and we could not have imagined a more luxurious and welcoming place. Fabulous furnishings, appointments, linens and a wonderfully-equipped kitchen. Dual washers/dryers and dishwasher. Lots of room for our large group and space to spread out. All of the bathrooms were spa-worthy and lovely. Oh, and the CLOUD BEDS WERE HEAVENLY! Everything was spotless.

Kathleen had a fire burning in the wonderful fireplace when we arrived---we burned peat from the corner store every night and the sight and aroma of it is incredible.

Be aware that Ardara is a very small village and with the exception of a few pubs there is not much to do in the evening---we visited several of them and enjoyed the wonderful traditional music and got to meet the extremely friendly local regulars.

Would highly recommend a visit to Kenndy's gastro-pub in the neighboring village of Glenties, a 15 minute drive away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space, Furnishings and Comfort
Liked least: Having to Leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie B
Tiptree, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My daughter booked Gatsby House for our Ruby Wedding Anniversary and we stayed with her, her partner and our son and his partner.
We were warmly greeted by Kathleen, the housekeeper, who made us feel so welcome.
The house is totally stunning as is every single room and the attention to detail is breathtaking, in fact the website cannot convey just how lovely this house is and we all only wished we could have stayed longer than than the three nights we booked.
Ardara is a lovely little town with warm, friendly bars with great Irish music, excellent places to eat and the real warmth and friendliness that can only be Irish!!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissie...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We were visiting our family to celebrate our dads 80th birthday. We were blown away by the house and facilities everything was thought of and we did not want for more.
We would highly recommend this property and would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nannyjacq...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
4
people found this review helpful

My mother and father were from Ardara so my daughter treated me for my birthday I havnt been to Ardara since my parents passed away 15 years ago. When I seen the house it was delightful each bedroom was different each with its own theme, the bed was so comfortable slept like a baby then showered it a very nice on suite with thick fluffy dressing robes and then it was breakfast in the plush dining room, next coffee in the beautiful lounge with an open coal fire. Would go back there again.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All my family under 1 roof
Liked least: coming home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing