We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a welcome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gort Na Mona B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gort Na Mona B & B
Ranked #2 of 10 Ardara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a welcome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We agree entirely with the previous reviews!
We stayed on Saturday, 21st April. We arrived in the town at 5:30 at the Tourist Information Centre. This doubles up as a shop with the most stunning examples of weaving which are made on the premises. The lady was most helpful as we hadn't booked and the shop was closing. - She recommended Gort Na Mona.
A quick phonecall and short wait - and we were met by Gran! - This wonderful old lady greeted us and then bombed along in her little red car as we followed trying to keep up for about 2 miles to the B&B - we couldn't believe it!!
Gran showed us to our room - a separate building holding 4 bedroom suites. The room was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. There were thoughtful little touches - brochures, hairdryer, tv, chocolates, tea+coffee+biscuits. We were invited to relax in the conservatory if we wished and to breakfast in the main house next morning.
We were VERY comfortable and slept well.
Breakfast was excellent - the couple are so friendly and Lawrence was very informative. We also had our toast served by Lorcan (I think!) and were introduced to the rest of the children - they were very well behaved and later waved us off!
I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsAT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
75
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lourdes, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

A very warm welcome from Fiona, Laurence and their cute and funny little children in their very quiet B&B. It is only a 5minutes drive away friom the local pubs and shops of Ardara but we enjoyed being woken up at the sound of the sheep bleating in the field next to the house. It is also ideally situated to take a good walk up the Slieve League or the cliffs of Bunglass.
The level of comfort was excellent and we enjoyed the very good breakfast served by a four-year-old little ‘cook’ before leaving for our next destination with everyone waving to us from the doorstep.

Room Tip: Any room is great and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daddycake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey Park, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Everything about this B & B was very good. The B & B is new, very clean and comfortable. Fiona and Lawrence are very nice people and do a wonderful job with everything. It is located about 2 miles from Ardara on a working sheep farm in very pretty countryside.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

Gort Na Mona is new and beautiful with up to date amenities. The setting is quiet and breath taking. It is close to both Ardara and Donegal Town. Best of all-the care given my the Breslin family is beyond expectation. The meals are great and the owners are helpful with ideas and directions. We could not switch to another B&B after experiencing Gort Na Mona.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellyhasting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

Gort Na Mona is beautiful and comfortable. The bedrooms and ensuites were beyond my expectations. Our breakfasts were made to order. Laurence Breslin goes to great extents to be sure guests have all they need for a great holiday! We will not search for another B&B after experiencing Gort Na Mons!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellyhasting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardara
3.0 km away
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
20.9 km away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
10.4 km away
Lake House Country Hotel
Lake House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Narin-Portnoo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 km away
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#1 of 3 in Killybegs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
12.0 km away
Woodhill House
Woodhill House
#4 of 10 in Ardara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
26.3 km away
Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
#1 of 4 in Glencolmcille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gort Na Mona B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gort Na Mona B & B

Property: Gort Na Mona B & B
Address: Donegal Road | Cronkeerin, Ardara, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ardara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ardara
Price range (per night): $102 - $151
Hotel Class:4 star — Gort Na Mona B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Gort Na Mona B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing