We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay in rathmullen”
other travellers have booked this property
The View.....stunning
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The View.....stunning
Wintertime in Donegal The view from inside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
The View.....stunning
Wintertime in Donegal
The view from inside
Christmas in Donegal
Living Room from the upstairs balcony
Donegal is for holidays
The house
The Kitchen
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom Balcony with view to mouth of Lough Swilly
MAster Bedroom Balcony from outside
Bathroom with jacuzzi bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Rathmullan, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
snorkles
shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in rathmullen”
Reviewed 10 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Great first time stay in rathmullen, excellent house although could do with a bit if TLC. Gorgeous views around the property, ideal base for our wedding visit at Drumhalla House. Lovely quaint town, Rathmullen, with community festival on the time we visited, great atmosphere!
Only two issues during our stay- firstly we couldn't find the property as the house name is nowhere in sight & secondly, no gas for the hob as the previous occupants had used it all, but on both occasions we contacted John who immediately sorted our issues! Great all round. Would love to return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF I
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Views but FREEZING”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The house itself is lovely, but is beginning to look a little tired around the edges. The views are amazing, and the location is very secluded, just off the main road, and there are some lovely pieces of art in the house. When we arrived on Saturday evening the house was absolutely freezing. We found the switch for the heating (eventually) and went to bed, relying on an electric radiator we found upstairs for heat. On Sunday the house was a bit warmer; not warm, just not as cold. We were attending a wedding at nearby Rathmullan house so left in the evening for a pre-wedding supper. When we returned later that night the house was, once again, freezing. When we awoke the next morning (Monday, the morning of the wedding) the heating had stopped completely. We contacted the owner to inform him that we suspected that the tank was out of oil. He responded "I'm very sorry....I will try to arrange something today if I can". We went to the wedding and returned later that evening to the freezing cold house. The next morning (Tuesday, check out day; 24 hours after contacting the owner) the oil delivery man rapped on the door; he had filled up the empty oil tank but suggested the heating system might be airlocked. Then the housekeeper arrived. She informed us that her husband, the caretaker, could have brought a few drums of oil to fill the tank as a temporary measure or, at the very least, brought some additional heaters to the house, had they been contacted by the owner. All in all, a very disappointing stay. We paid £255.38 for three nights; my partner actually slept in his coat which, as you can imagine, wasn't exactly the romantic Valentine's weekend trip to Donegal we had planned. I'm sure the house is lovely in the summertime but it is really rather unacceptable to leave paying guests without heat in Donegal in February.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic house, views and setting”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Myself and two good friends stayed at the house in January and it was cosy, homely and very well equiped. The house is architect designed, well furnished, with ample bathrooms and bedrooms. The views towards Lough Swilly and the Inishown peninsula are spectacular. We had snow and big blue skies during our stay, which made the views all the more dramatic. With a fab open fire and great central heating we were toasty after big walks on Portsalon beach. This property is excellent for a rural Donegal escape, quiet and tranquil, but also close to the amenities of Rathmullan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The design of the house and the views
Liked least: Loved it all
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scrabo
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay in beautiful setting.”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Loved the location and the views over Lough Swilly but not walking distance to the pub,unfortunately! It helped greatly that we had the best weather of the whole summer, the locals told us. We had some issues at the beginning of our stay but these were very quickly and efficiently handled by the owner once he was contacted. Would love to return again someday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very bright house with lots of space
Liked least: Quite isolated
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidpN56...
Dunbar
2 reviews
“Away from the madding crowd”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Needing a quiet break from the stresses of modern day life, we chose Tulaigh Bui because of its seclusion and we were not disappointed.

The house is well-appointed and the views are stunning, though the trees have matured a bit since the build and so obscure a more panoramic vista. There is plenty of space in the house and it was obvious that the owners also use it as it had that familiar family feel about it.

The surrounding area is magnificent if you want to explore but if the sun shines and all you want to do is relax and look over the lough, then the small patio area is perfect. If the weather turns a bit cooler then the open fire (burning peat logs and drift wood from the nearby small beach) warms the heart and rests the mind.

We thoroughly enjoyed our 10 day stay and would definitely return if further exploration of that part of Donegal is in our future plans.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Cleaning of bathrooms/shower could have been better
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing