We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Wedding Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Glengarriff
Meath
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Wedding Weekend”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I'm going to start from the very beginning so sorry if this review is long but it needs to be.
We are currently living in Co.Meath and chose this beautiful hotel for our wedding reception in Oct. I cannot begin to tell you how amazing the hotel have been, nothing has been too much trouble. Gearldine met me in Meath after work to save us travelling to Cork to discuss wedding plans again anything we wanted Geraldine did everything she could to help. She made everything so easy and was in constant contact over the phone and email. Not to mention Carl and Gerard the hotel owners who were hands on from day one never to busy to take my calls or answer any questions we had.
The hotel itself is very old fashioned which is what we loved most, very warm and homely. Its a pity more hotels in Ireland are not like this! I have to mention the staff as I feel almost upset that I wont be dealing with them anymore. Trish has been my lifesaver throughout this whole journey and without her our wedding would not have been the same. Adrian in the bar is the nicest and most friendliest guy you could ever meet. Grainne made sandwitches at 12.30 at night for my husbands nanna again this was no problem she was only too happy to do it. Threasa in housekeeping was amazing and was great with the kids (excellent babysitter). I'm sorry for going on a bit about this but I honestly cannot put into words how amazing and wonderful this hotel and staff members are. Moving onto the food, well a wedding full of chefs and farmers are not the easiest to please but the food was excellent on the day of the wedding and the day after. Everyone of our guests have commented on how wonderful the hotel and its staff have been and have also said they will return next summer for a visit to the beautiful Glengarriff. If anyone would like to ask me any questions please contact me as I would only be too happy to reccommend this hotel. Best Wishes Mr & Mrs Foster

Room Tip: Front Room with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    104
    41
    25
    17
See reviews for
80
153
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed here in early August for the weekend. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist who checked us in quickly - a great start. The rooms were clean and comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities. The location of the hotel is beautiful - right by the water and walking distance to one of the Garnish Island ferries. Breakfast - cereals and a full Irish were served in a wonderfully atmospheric dining room by friendly staff. Overall this was an enjoyable stay- would love to go back some time

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I have just returned from a two night stay at the Eccles Hotel(October24th/25th).
It has to said this is a lovely hotel with a fantastic location.
On the first night we took the special offer for the evening meal and this proved to be very good value with an extremely helpful barman!
Our full breakfast the following morning meant that we only needed a light lunch and we returned at night for a few drinks before departing the next day after another full breakfast.
The hotel was extremely well presented and very clean. The staff were excellent.
The room was good,very clean,nice furniture.
A very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Touring west Cork and Kerry we came across the Eccles Hotel which has one of the most beautiful facades and setting of any Hotel in the south west. We immediately decided to stop off and enquire of vacancies for the night. We were greeted with a cead mile failte by receptionist Sharon and shown to our delightful room overlooking idyllic Glengarriff and Bantry Bay by Proprietor Gerard. Our room was spacious, spotless, fresh and had a most comfortable king size. Breakfast the following morning was full of choice, fresh and delicious after which we relaxed with our coffees on the Hotel veranda. Staff were efficient, friendly and full of local knowledge to help us plan our onward journey. We will be back.

Room Tip: Any room overlooking Glengarriff and Bantry Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Had never been in Eccles before although I passed it many times en route to West Cork. This was a big family gathering for the wedding of my brother from New York and his Swedish bride. I was his best man, so I had more than a passing interest in seeing that everything was ok.

First impressions were formed months in advance when I made phone contact. No request was too big nor triviality too small for the staff to oblige. They found kennels for our dog, a photographer and a local DJ.

When we arrived it was like stepping back in time. The quaint feel and easy hospitality put everyone at ease. The setting is amazing and the villiage of Glengarriff, although touristy, has lots of charm, especially at night. We were a mottley crew of Irish, New Yorkers and Swedes, yet I heard not one word of complaint for the entire weekend but unbridled joy and gratitude.

Thanks Eccles!

Room Tip: If you can get a room overlooking Bantry Bay your joy will be complete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glengarriff
0.7 km away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.7 km away
Casey's Hotel
Casey's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Glengarriff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
9.9 km away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
27.9 km away
Beara Coast Hotel
Beara Coast Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletownbere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
15.0 km away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eccles Hotel Glengarriff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eccles Hotel Glengarriff

Property: Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Address: Glengarriff Harbour, Glengarriff, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Glengarriff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Glengarriff
Price range (per night): $130 - $220
Hotel Class:3 star — Eccles Hotel Glengarriff 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Magic of West Cork at ECCLES Hotel in Glengarriff Steeped in 250 years of history and situated in the quaint village of Glengarriff overlooking Bantry bay and Garnish island, ECCLES Hotel in West Cork offers the finest in charm, comfort and location. Our stunning location on the beautiful Beara Peninsula in West Cork makes ECCLES Hotel the perfect retreat for those looking to relax and unwind in fabulous natural surroundings and is the perfect base for a magical journey around West Cork's Wild Atlantic Way. From Gougane Barra and Garnish Island to the pretty quaint villages and towns of West Cork and West Kerry the richness of beauty and variety of things to do and places to explore is beyond compare. If you are looking for a Hotel in West Cork with something for everyone- ECCLES Hotel is the one for you. Golfing, walking, cycling, horse riding, fishing, sailing and sightseeing along West Cork's Wild Atlantic Way- this stunning part of Ireland and West Cork has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eccles Hotel Glengarriff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing