We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it”

Wineport Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 122 Restaurants in Athlone
Price range: USD 23 - USD 62
Cuisines: European, Irish, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Blissfully located upon the shores of Lough Ree, The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Guests can enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team and with it, an innovative approach to modern and attentive hospitality. Famously delicious contemporary cuisine accompanied by an eclectic, carefully selected wine list is always on the menu, with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge is a truly memorable dining experience.
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Had dinner here twice while staying in Wineport Lodge. Both nights were fantastic.

First night we had soup and seafood medley for starter - only thing I wasn't crazy about was the mackeral, but the rest of the platter made up for it. Mains were chicken supreme and lamb shank, both delicious. Dessert was death by chocolate and sticky toffee pudding - a great way to round off a terrific night.

Second night was stuck to mains, and opted for the baked salmon, and the lamb shank (again!). Just as delicious as the first night.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shivkeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

A quick glance on here led me to this restaurant with some hope of fine food. What a disappointment!
Being mostly presented with burgers or sandwiches made me wonder why I bothered driving 8 miles out of town for. The seafood platter sounded like the best option, with a slightly condescending FOH manager agreeing that might just tick my fine dining box. The £16 platter should do fine for one I was assured.
Plate arrived. Smoked kipper could have come out of a happy shopper package, prawns were fibery, most likely frozen cooked and thawed in water, the smoke salmon came as a slab, rather than refined slices.... The whole thing barely amounting to a starter.
Nice view, that's about it

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank ArnaudLepron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Food top class I had the hot smoked salmon, horseradish, cream cheese & lemon dressing to start , all ingredients combined to produce a fantastic taste , followed by surf and turf , steaked cooked to perfection to my taste. No room for desert .
Well done to chefs and waiting staff.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

This place is gorgeous! The staff are fantastic so is the food and the views are out of this world! It was absolutely beautiful and well worth going. It also has a hotel which I will be going to the next time I'm in Ireland. The staff can't do enough for you and the service is brilliant the atmosphere is lovely and the food is spot on! I would highly recommend

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank jimmy0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

A quite exceptional evening at one of our favorites. We have a little lakeboat and it is a delight to pull up at Wineport, eat really well, have a fine bottle of wine and roll down to their jetty and turn in for the night. The staff are lovely and the food just beautiful with a setting and view second to non in Ireland. A special place for a special night.

Date of visit: April 2017
1  Thank Andyeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wineport Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to Wineport Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing