We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food & service”

Glasson Village Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 123 Restaurants in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

8 of us were there on Tuesday 17th July. The staff were superb and each one of us said our meals were amazing. Would definitely recommend a visit.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank DublinDisgruntled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

We had a memorable meal starting with smoked salmon and then mouthwateringly tender lamb. The restaurant is in an old school house which made it more of “an occasion” than dinner at Grogans. Both are excellent but for sheer dining pleasure I’d pick this place. The service was perfect: attentive but not intrusive.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

Just north of Athlone is the village of Glasson, and it is there you will find this amazing restaurant.
The presentation of the building inside and out is very nicely done.

But the true making of any restaurant is it’s food and staff.

The staff we experienced were great, polite and very helpful.

The food, OMG !!! To die for.

Well cooked, presented great and plentiful, so much in fact we could fit dessert in.

The chef(s) cannot be faulted, the quality of our meal was superb.

Oh and as a important side note, there is plenty of off street parking at the rear just down and off the side road.

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

I was looking forward to eating here for a long time but was unfortunately disappointed. We had the Sunday lunch and it was like the food was just thrown on the plate with no imagination. The veg all squashed on a small plate with the mash too. The lamb was so thin and spread across the plate with one small but not crispy roast Potatoe. The dessert was cooked well but in the menu stated honeycomb ice cream but was vanilla. The staff were friendly but disorganised bringing the wrong food to the table. This place was just not to my taste or standards.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Was looking so forward to going to this restaurant as my mums 60th was the last time we went whom has died since and we said we would mark my mothers day by going there and remember my dear mum
However we were sordidly disappointed - no menu for kids so we were told by one of the waitress i know has been there a long time - but we seen nuggets and chips were on the menu at the end of the meal.
no atmosphere no warm staff except one lovely friendly lady - the soup was just terrible - it was a broth and it was literally water with a heap of vegetables thrown in , my daughter loves soup and she still talks 2 weeks later "remember that soup we got in that restaurant mom wasn't it awful"
the lamb was tender and tasty but the vegetables were so limited some carrots and parnsips mashed and hard cauliflower
desserts were ok i asked for my crumble very hot but it did not come out warm - the latte tasted like those packets of latte you buy in dunnes
We were hugely disappointed - we loved this little place - no upgrade in the toilets 70s style just a real convert belt restaurant with no happy looking staff bar one. We definitely will not be - re-visiting we just wanted a nice memorable mothers Day but that was not to be at this restaurant

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stykefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Owner at Glasson Village Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you for your review, I am disappointed to hear you didn’t enjoy your lunch with us. In regards to the children’s menu, it clearly states on the menu that half portions of everything is available for children & charged accordingly. We also have children’s homemade chicken goujons & chips, printed on the same menu. Our most popular soup is chicken & vegetable hence we had it on, on the busiest lunch of the year. It is made with homemade chicken stock, chicken & vegetables but obviously not to your liking.
We cook our fresh cauliflower al dente. We have a very friendly & happy staff as can be seen on our other reviews & perhaps it was just that they were very busy on the day. Our latte is made with Nairobi coffee ground in the restaurant so I don’t understand your complaint. It’s a pity that you hadn’t made your feelings clear or mentioned any complaints on the day and we could have acted on it then. I hope you will give us a chance to impress you another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glasson Village Restaurant also viewed

 
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to Glasson Village Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing