We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time here”

Grogan's of Glasson Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 123 Restaurants in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 15 November 2018

Well worth a visit, we really enjoyed ourselves here and would recommend Grogans and Athlone to anyone

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank palmer1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2018

We visited for a meal on Halloween evening as we were travelling through the area. The restaurant is a quaint building. We didn't have a reservation but that created no difficulty and we were shown quickly to a table. The menu has a wide range of choice and the waiters were very competent and knowledgeable about the ingredients. The food was well presented and of excellent quality. This is a must visit restaurant if visiting in the Westmeath area.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnsonG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

Absolutely amazing food and service, the menu is fabulous with a fantastic choice, there were 6 of us eating and every single dish was perfect from starter to dessert! We wish ye were closer to us great portions and value too, we will be back

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank PATTI H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

I’ve probably visited here 10 to 15 times in the last 10 years or so and it’s just great food. I live about 25 minutes away and don’t know the owners but I think I have reviewed this twice before. I’ve just come back from kenmare and Grogans is quite similar to many pub:restaurants there. This is high quality and did not fail to deliver again. We had 2 steaks, a fillet and a soirloin and the quality of them was top drawer. We hadn’t booked so lucky to get a table without any delay. For us, this is a destination restaurant and the staff are excellent, friendly and efficient

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Howdidodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

Amazing fun best night out in ages. Wonderful food. Imagine the landlady kindly dropped us back to Wineport Lodge in her car!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank seansandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grogan's of Glasson Pub & Restaurant also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to Grogan's of Glasson Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing