We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Prince of Wales Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
USD 108
USD 86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone(Athlone)(Great Value!)
USD 92
USD 77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 111
USD 90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 102
USD 98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 250
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arch House B&B & Apartments(Athlone)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,353)
Filter reviews
2,353 results
Traveller rating
1,238
609
269
148
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,238
609
269
148
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubl'escale restaurantretreat sectionretreat roomwine tastingleisure centrenewer partnew wingthermal suitelake viewbusy hotelfamily breakbar foodtop classlovely hotelgolf courseboth nights
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 2,353 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed in Hodson Bay Hotel for two nights (17.01-19.01.2018) with my husband. Nice location, near a lake and a 15 min drive away from Athlone’s town centre. Reception staff were friendly and the check in was efficient. Our room was ready before the check in time .
We had a superb spacious clean room that was peaceful and quiet. The double bed had a comfortable mattress and pillows. The A/C was manual, which was handy as we could adjust the room temperature as we preferred.
The bathroom was spacious too with a bath tub and shower, which gave us the opportunity to choose between a quick shower and a relaxing bubble bath. My only minor critique of the bathroom is that the toilet and toilet seat were dirty.
The Octogan Restaurant where we enjoyed breakfast was spacious and lovely, although a bit cold. We had a great selection of cold and hot food and breakfast service was prompt and efficient. We found the staff very friendly and attentive, especially the waitress Joanne.
Dinner served at Waterfront Bar was excellent! Large portion of tasty food! The restaurant was clean and well presented. Dinner service was prompt and efficient. Friendly staff and attentive.
Leisure at Hodson Bay Hotel offered an excellent range of facilities, such as a swimming pool, gym, spa, hair studio. On our stay we only used the swimming pool, which we found smaller than we expected, especially when half the pool was deficated to children ‘s swimming classes. However, we enjoyed the bubble pool, hydro therapy pool, sauna and steam room.
I feel that our stay in Hodson Bay Hotel was good value for money. Based on my experience I would stay at this hotel again.
Overall, we were happy with the level of service we received.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Gabaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, Managing Director at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear Gabaty,

Many thanks for your wonderful review!

A good team who provide friendly and attentive service is vital to ensuring a perfect stay and I am extremely lucky to have such a wonderful team who go above and beyond for our guests. I will pass on your kind comments to the team but in particular to those that you mentioned.

I'm delighted that you and your husband enjoyed the stay and hope we will be able to welcome you back for many more.


Kind regards,

Tim Hayes



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

The room was cold. We asked on two occasions for additional cups for the room. They were never supplied. The dinner service was slow. The main course arrived but we had to wait at least five minutes for veg and potatoes. The children were no fed first.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

Location and views are amazing. Used the leisure centre which was excellent. some power off the back/neck massage water fountains. had a beautiful meal in the restaurant. restaurant was full on the night but still the service was excellent and the food was lovely. staff in the restaurant were really good.
rooms are grand. bit small and we had one of those rooms with a door to another room which meant you could hear a lot from the other room.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Fergal80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, Managing Director at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Hi Fergal,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide such a lovely review- I’m thrilled to hear that you enjoyed all of the elements of your stay.

It is our duty to ensure that guests thoroughly enjoy their experience and I’m genuinely delighted that you did.

I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your room being connected to another but should your travels next bring you to Athlone, please feel free to contact us in advance and we can organise an alternative room for you.


Kind Regards,
Tim Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Nice hotel, The room was just ok with the double and 2 singles. I would have liked a separate room for the children but couldn't see the option on their website for something like that. The bath had a shower curtain which I don't like. No water was provided in room which for the price paid was poor.

We at twice in the hotel and dinner on both nights was fantastic and the waiter was very good. We had the same waiter on both nights.

Kids club was brilliant and kept the children well entertained and out of our hair for a good few hours. We also really enjoyed the bar and the staff were attentive and good fun. We also enjoyed a long swim with the children on one of the days and found the pool to be very good.

I would definitely stay again and really enjoyed our weekend break.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Paulb0hs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed here recently as a couple, had a very relaxing stay and the food could not be faulted! Excellent range on the menu and good prices too! Rooms weren’t above average but were very comfortable and clean

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank joejo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, Managing Director at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Hi Joe,

Wow, thank you for such a wonderful review!

I am happy to hear that you had a nice relaxing break away at the Hodson Bay and that you enjoyed all the elements of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Tim Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews