We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (953)
Filter reviews
954 results
Traveller rating
525
268
85
38
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
525
268
85
38
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshen partyreserved areacentral locationcentre of townlovely hotelnext morninggreat showerbar foodbar staffboth nightsrooms were spotlesshotel barvisiting athlonegreat nightcouldn't do enoughcourse mealbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 954 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2018

v disappointed with our stay both nights all tables in the bar were reserved for hen parties leaving very limited seating there was only bar food avalable on saturday night but the area in which we had to eat it was uncomfortable near smoking area
the rooms were small all staff we came in contact with were very nice and helpful and pleasant

Stayed: March 2018
Thank 488bernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashling D, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear bernie b,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay in The Prince of Wales Hotel and apologies that your time with us was not an enjoyable one. When you have a moment could you contact our General Manger, Christopher, on generalmanager@theprinceofwales.ie with some more details of your stay such as the date, room number etc as this information will allow us to fully follow up on this helpful feedback. We appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests and actively try to grow and improve as a business from it. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Prince of Wales in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ashling Dudley
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Just back from a family night in Athlone where we stayed at prince of wales hotel .well all I can say is if your not 20 and at a hens or stag do NOT stay at this hotel.the noise is overwhelming and won't even go into party's in rooms.On a more positive note the receptionist Aishling is an asset to this hotel as she straight away noticed that I requested a was quite room at back but was given a room right over bar and dance Club,was up all night with loud music and loud people till4a m ,will definitely never return

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashling D, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Pauline M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay in The Prince of Wales Hotel and apologies that your time with us was such a disappointing one. When you have a moment could you contact our General Manager, Christopher, on generalmanager@theprinceofwales.ie as he would like to discuss your stay further with you. We appreciate all feedback that we receive and actively try to grow and learn from it. I will make sure to pass your kind words on to Aisling who is definitely a real asset to the team. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Prince of Wales in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ashling Dudley
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

The hotel is very central and has parking on a first come basis. While there we did notice people parking and heading to the shops. The food is excellent and the staff polite and friendly. We arrived an hour early and the room was not ready so the blonde receptionist took my wife's mobile number and said she would ring her when the room was made up. We are still waiting for her call.
Our room was very clean and a good size. While in the bar we noticed people coming in from the street to use the toilets. This is not a safe thing to be happening in my opinion. Because of the snow and impending Beast from the East we made a decision to cut our break short by a day and head back home. Turned out to be the correct decision. When checking out the receptionist said "Ye have pre booked so there is nothing we can do." I know it was our decision to leave a day early but we thought we might get some form of recompense. We enjoyed our couple of days in Athlone all said and done.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank geneant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashling D, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear geneant,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay in The Prince of Wales Hotel. When you have a moment could you contact our General Manager, Christopher, on generalmanager@theprinceofwales.ie as he would like to discuss your feedback in greater detail with you. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Prince of Wales Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ashling Dudley
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Great Hotel, second visit with large group of friends, spotlessly clean and comfortable, large rooms. Food good and plentiful. Friendly staff who went out of their way to be helpful. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank themayorsminder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashling D, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear themayorsminder,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay in The Prince of Wales Hotel. It is always great to hear from returning guests and I was delighted to read that your second stay with us was a good one. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to stay in the near future for some more fun times and good memories.

Warm wishes,
Ashling Dudley
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

Another SUPERB stay at the Prince. A very comfortable, clean and friendly hotel and a great breakfast. You get the full taste of Irish hospitality at it's very best from this hotel. Would highly recommend and will definitely return.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashling D, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear Paul R,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay in The Prince of Wales Hotel. It is always great to hear some feedback from returning guests and I was delighted to read that this stay was as good as the last. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Prince of Wales Hotel in the very near future.

Warm wishes,
Ashling Dudley
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews