We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, peaceful place to stay in Oughterard”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kitty's Cottage

Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden
Garden Studio Poppies in Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Garden
Garden Studio
Poppies in Garden
Flower Border in Garden
Owenriff River Oughterard
Connemara Mountains
Connemara Lake
Connemara
Connemara Lake
Oughterard Church
Welcome!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Oughterard, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Horsellda...
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely, peaceful place to stay in Oughterard”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely cottage in a very peaceful spot. Very comfortable and the perfect base from which to explore Galway and the stunning region of Connemara.

Kathleen was very friendly, helpful and discreet and looked after us all very well indeed, even making us some delicious soda bread.

The only slight issue was the lack of storage space for food in the Kitchen. However, that is a very minor criticism of what is a great cottage.

Thank you so much. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the garden
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sinead L
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Connemara is beautiful”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our time away in Galway, the Connemara countryside is truly outstanding. Kathleen who owned the cottage was very nice. We rarely saw her even though the house is part of Kathleen's house with a locked door separating them. The house was fine for our needs and everything was nice and clean. The wifi is only available in one room and television only has 2 working channels however we spent most of our time out and about therefore this did not matter. We were looking forward to feeding the chickens but unfortunately there were none however again this was no big issue. Would certainly go back to this part of Ireland again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Kitty's Cottage. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here and enjoyed the beauty of Connemara.
I would just like to clarify that the cottage is a separate building which is linked to the my house by the dining/conservatory room. There is a door in here which was connected to a hallway into my house but this is boarded up behind with a two feet thickness of insulation in-between the stone wall so it is not part of my house.
I appreciate your feedback and I have now connected a satellite dish to the cottage so now apart from the 4 Irish channels it is now possible to view all the English channels plus many more.
Unfortunately there is nothing I can do about the Wi-Fi which is only available in the dining room.
I am sorry you were disappointed with the lack of chickens, unfortunately Mr Fox had paid a visit!
I am glad these issues did not detract from the enjoyment of your stay in this beautiful part of the world.
I look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.
Kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cazmuffin
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Warm welcome at Kitty's Cottage”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our family (2 adults & 2 kids aged 13 & 8) has just returned from a lovely relaxing week at this property. The property is situated on Glann Road, 2 mins drive/10mins walk from village of Oughterard which has 2 grocery stores, pubs and nice eateries. Kathleen the owner was very welcoming, even leaving us home-made scones and jam. We stayed B&B with Kathleen on the Fri night before taking residence in the cottage on Sat (the cooked breakfast was a treat with local produce) - the cottage is adjoined to the main house but Kathleen did not infringe on our privacy. She suggested places of interest to visit and places to eat which proved useful never having been to Galway before. The self-catering cottage is spacious, very well presented and clean. 3 bedrooms, all en-suite (2 upstairs, 1 downstairs). Wi-fi available but reception limited to the dining room due to the thickness of the walls of cottage! Kitchen clean and fairly well stocked with utensils - washing machine (no tumble dryer which would have been useful), dishwasher, oven & electric hob, fridge & freezer, microwave all provided. Limited cupboard space for storing food but we managed to squeeze things in.
Beds very comfortable & conducive to good night's sleep. Cottage is surrounded by beautiful landscaped garden, and patio area & seating available to eat alfresco.
We had plenty of activities to keep us & kids entertained all week despite some rainy days. Galway has it's own micro climate and weather forecast not always to be trusted! Outstanding scenery to behold, especially the remote areas of Connemara (watch out for the sheep wandering across the road!). Some places we would recommend visiting are Kylemore Abbey & walled gardens, Clifden, Galway City, Cong, Corrib Cruises, Brigit's Garden at Roscahill & Joe Joyce and his sheepdogs to name but a few.
We have returned home invigorated and well rested and we would have no hesitation in recommending Kitty's Cottage or Galway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Wifi was limited
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearbhla...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Even my Dad loved it! Kathleen is a gem!”
Reviewed 25 December 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Three generations of our family spent our holidays here in July, I was home from Africa, my brother from China, my parents, sister, nephew all meeting up. It was such a treat especially as I couldn't believe anywhere would meet all our criteria. Cycle the famous Glann Road along Lough Corrib - it's straight out of an Irish tourism brochure. 10 minutes walk to the pub in Oughterard for the end of day Guinness. Half an hour's drive to our favourite Art's Festival in Galway, or to the Atlantic beaches, or to the walled garden of Kylemore Abbey. The house was suitable for a toddler (he loved Kathleen's hens) and even our cheeky Labrador dog was made welcome. The cottage was comfortable, spotlessly clean (ask my mum!), a fire, ensuites, enviable garden, patio - we dined outside one night. Kathleen left us a welcome package with tasty homemade bread. I can't really think of anything we'd have changed. But I'd like to say thank you to Kathleen and to Oughterard for being the highlight of our summer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everyone was happy!
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing