We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish Hospitality At It`s Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre
Ranked #11 of 23 Oughterard B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2017

This small B & B is absolutely wonderful. We stayed there for two nights so my husband could fish for Brown Trout. Deidre Forde, our hostess, was welcoming,extremely thoughtful, well organized, and delightful. Our simple room on the first floor was clean and comfortable, breakfast delicious, and the setting ,with the small boats to rent for fishing, and the lovely walk into town quite beautiful. Because my husband had recently had back surgery, Deidre arranged for a seat with a back on it to be placed in the boat. And she arranged for the guide, Paddy to go out with my husband. Since we arrived via bus from Galway we took a taxi ( note there are only 2 taxis in the town so getting one is not easy) to the B&B, but the day we left it was pouring rain, and Diedre`s sister, Helen kindly drove us to the bus stop in town. This is a charming , comfortable, very special place in a very special part of the world.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank citycat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Very friendly B&B with games room and only a 5 min walk into town. Perfect for fishermen as has access onto the lake and boats for hire. Clean rooms with a tastey breakfast. Would really recommend this place to anyone in the area.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We found this gem on one of the web sites. The price attracted us and what a find . Ougherard is about 40 minutes from Galway were we would have normally stayed on business. We decided to give Ougherard a visit . The lodge is about a 10 minute walk from the centre of the town . The town is geared to tourism, with good eating places on both sides of the street.
The Camillaun Lodge is geared for fishing. The pontoons are beside the edge of the garden . Lots of boats just waiting to be used.
The rooms are well set up and comfortable beds.
The breakfast was first class.

Room Tip: All rooms are on two levels . The hotel is in its own ground with the river flowing just over the he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NorthernIreland8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

I have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending Camillaun Lodge. Really nice vibe to the place and I felt very relaxed after I met the hosts. The bedroom and en-suite were spotlessly clean yet full of charm and majorly comfortable so much so that I was asleep within 5 minutes of putting the head on the pillow!

Breakfast was superb and the hosts could not do enough for you. WIFI coverage was excellent and speedy. I'll definitely go back and stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank W7345LDwilliamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Being an avid fisherman, I've stayed in a lot of b&b's in Galway, Connemara and the Oughterard area. Camillaun is without a doubt the best out there. The bedrooms are superbly furnished with very comfortable beds (very important after a long day's fishing) and excellent en-suites. The breakfast is delicious with a great selection to choose from including some of Deirdre's home baked delights!

As for our hosts, two of the nicest people you will ever meet and I look forward to seeing them both on my next visit.

10 out of 10!!

Stayed: August 2016
1  Thank RobK0674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oughterard hotels
3.5 km away
Mountain View Guesthouse
Mountain View Guesthouse
#4 of 23 in Oughterard
134 reviews
4.3 km away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 5 in Oughterard
290 reviews
0.4 km away
Connemara Lake Hotel
Connemara Lake Hotel
#7 of 23 in Oughterard
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oughterard
171 reviews
3.5 km away
The Waterfront House Country Home
2.1 km away
Corrib Wave House
Corrib Wave House
#13 of 23 in Oughterard
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre

Address: Glann Rd, Oughterard, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Oughterard
Price Range: $118 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camillaun Lodge, situated on the Owenriff river that flows through the village of Oughterard, Connemara, Co. Galway offers all the comforts of a modern house but with the elegance of an old country home. It has 4 guest bedrooms, all en-suite and with wonderful views of the countryside. A short walk via a leafy lane brings you to the village. Hot tub, tennis court and games room are available to all guests. Home cooking and locally sourced food are assured. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au and HostelWorld so you can book your Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing