We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”
Review of Lady Gregory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lady Gregory Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I just wanted to say a big thank you to Brian, Kate & all the staff of the Lady Gregory Hotel on the day of our wedding. It was just amazing, all of you made our very special day even more special & memorable. We really appreciated it, thanks soo soo much. Deirdre & Francis Duane.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deirdre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USIT21, Manager at Lady Gregory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Dear Deirdre & Francis
Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review regarding your recent Wedding at the Lady Gregory Hotel . We are delighted that we made your Special Day a memorable one and that every detail was of your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
There are newer reviews for Lady Gregory Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

378 - 382 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2012

A large group of us stayed for a family wedding and New Years Eve meal & few days break and were all so impressed. The staff work really hard, they are so professional and friendly, nothing is any trouble. Lovely food day anytime you want it n I mean anytime! Great craic in the bar with Trad / country group, brush dancing etc. The owners were even on hand to thank us for staying and to wish all their customers a happy New Year personally, just a nice touch, but that's what you'll get here. Very child friendly but not over run with kids. Well supported by local families too it seemed. If you stay here you'll have a lovely time! It's just on the edge of the bustling town of Gort, ideal base to tour Clare or Galway. Well appointed large rooms and spotlessly clean. Did nt use leisure centre or spa but it looked well maintained and nice. Would like

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siobhan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USIT21, Manager at Lady Gregory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2012

Dear Siobhan

Thank you for taking the time to tell us you enjoyed your stay at The Lady Gregory Hotel. It really is a great boost to the team here to receive such compliments from our guests. I am delighted to read that you also enjoyed our dining facilities and your overall experience was a positive one.

I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Lady Gregory Hotel and Swan Leisure Club in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Great, loved it. The food was excellent, the service was consistently good and the Manager was always helpful.
It was my partners 40th and we stayed for 4 night to base ourselves away from the madness of Galway, but near enough to enjoy the beauty of Connemara. To our delight - and due to the geography we ended up exploring a delightful and stunning part of the west coast - The Burren.
We had blue skies and a little rental car, and we did not stop !! well we did walk a bit and then we returned back to our lovely hotel to great food, a huge bed and a spacious room. The staff make the hotel stand out. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deirdre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We are just home from a lovely 2 night stay in The Lady Gregory Hotel in Gort. We arrived on Friday after a wet , windy drive down from Wicklow.We were attended to by a charming receptionist and directed to our room which was cosy and so well appointed.Bathroom was spotless with complimentary shower gels ,shampoos etc.The bedroom had everything you might need......hairdryer,iron,ironing board,T.V. , tea /coffee making facilities etc etc.Our bed was spacious and comfortable.
We visited the leisure centre and found it spotless and so well run.We availed of pool towels and enjoyed our time there.The sauna, jacussi and pool were great.
We danced to Jimmy Buckley and his band on Friday night and loved the spacious ballrooom and great dance floor. Ideal for jiving and waltzing! On Saturday night we enjoyed a lovely meal in the lounge and then later listened to a very enjoyable 2 man band..
There is loads to do around Gort. Lady Gregory's estate in Coole is only a few miles away and is beautiful for woodland walks and beautiful lake scenery. I loved the poetic scriptures by W.B. Yeats that are on stone slabs around the estate.They all relate to Coole and the poets love of the area. Yeats lived in a tower house nearby. It was a museum but is temporarily closed due to flood damage...a pity to have missed that.
We went to Kinvara which is a pretty fishing village for a short visit. It is about 10 miles from Gort. Lovely for a stroll round the coast.
The town of Gort is nice for a stroll around. It has some locally owned small shops and then some bigger names...Supr Valu, Aldi, Supermacs to name a few. There are also some cosy pubs , some of which have live music at the weekends.
We loved our stay in The Lady Gregory and hope to go back for another stay. We would recommend it to anybody who wants a top quality hotel coupled with the most pleasant helpful staff we have met in a long long time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luckymark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Just stayed here for one night. Staff was great, very helpful, and friendly. We spent a couple of hours in the leisure centre. There were 4 thermal rooms, 2 of which were out of order, which was a little disappointing. We had dinner in the evening, which was average. The room was nice. Clean, and warm/cosy/quiet. The bathroom was excellent, seemed like it was newly renovated. Breakfast was standard full irish which was good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quinnray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gort
25.2 km away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,109 reviews
21.9 km away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
848 reviews
24.5 km away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.0 km away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#19 of 46 in Galway
1,642 reviews
12.0 km away
Merriman Hotel
Merriman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinvara
207 reviews
30.9 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady Gregory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Gregory Hotel

Address: Ennis Road, Gort, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Gort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gort
Price Range: $68 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lady Gregory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Lady Gregory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Gregory Gort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing