We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Ben Bulben in winter
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ben Bulben in winter
Benbulben Classiebawn Castle with Benbulben mountain in the distance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Ben Bulben in winter
Benbulben
Classiebawn Castle with Benbulben mountain in the distance
Waves crashing at Streedagh beach
Majestic Benbulben
View from the Benbulben Loop Walk
Kitchen/Living Room
View of the garden from the kitchen/living room, with fresh flowers from the garden
Homemade brown bread, jam and fresh eggs from our chickens
Ktichen/Living Room
Kitchen/Living Room
Kitchen/Living Room
Bedroom 1 with view of ensuite shower and toilet
View from bedroom 2 - chickens and Benbulben!
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Ensuite shower and toilet - bedroom 2
Ensuite - bedroom 2
Drumcliffe Churchyard and Yeats' Grave - 1 mile away
Streedagh Beach
Benbulben viewed from Streedagh
Benbulben Loop Walk view - Christmas 2014
Benbulben Loop Walk view - Christmas 2014
Benbulben Loop Walk view - Christmas 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Drumcliff, County Sligo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Frédéric...
Canton of Bern, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent two wonderful weeks in Drumcliffe. The apartment was well-equipped and nothing was missing. The area around Drumcliffe has so much to offer it was never boring. Hiking near Ben Bulben, playing golf at Strandhill GC, shopping in Sligo, and eating at Davis’s Restaurant were just a few highlights of our vacation. Let’s not forget the friendly and helpful hosts, Una and Frank! Thank you for everything. We hope that we will be back one day!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We enjoyed having you to stay very much, especially the games of golf we played together. We would welcome you back at any time and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
294cassie
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week at this granny flat and although the owners were away when we arrived there was a welcome pack that included brown bread and home made jam awaiting us. The birds woke us every morning, no need for an alarm clock, and only left when the kitchen window was opened. It was a central place from which to explore Sligo, Donegal and Roscommon. The weather was lovely and it only rained during the night. The only downside was non existent internet connection although it was advertised, and phone calls dropping out. I answered no to value for price paid when compared to holiday rentals we have stayed at in the last year as it was so small.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: It only had an eat in kitchen and the 2 bedrooms with ensuites
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2015
Dear Stephanie,

We are so sorry that your stay with us didn't live up to expectations, particularly with regard to the internet not working. Unfortunately, this is a problem in rural Ireland generally, where we have extremely patchy broadband and wifi, posing a difficulty for both local business and visiting tourists. This is equally the case with some phone carriers, and although not directly our fault, it is obvious that these would affect one's enjoyment of the venue.

We're also disappointed that you were unhappy with the directions. As it's almost a year since you stayed, I reviewed our email traffic in advance of your visit and felt that we had been pretty good with providing information on directions. We have just had a system of postcodes introduced into Ireland and hopefully in the future, giving directions by reference to the postcode will make finding a property easier.

We are pleased that you did find the place peaceful, notwithstanding the problems referred to above and that you would recommend it to a friend. We do our best to offer a first rate service for our little place and we will take your comments onboard and do our best to ensure that some of the glitches experienced by you will be avoided in the future.

Although it's a year since you were with us, we remember you well and how lovely you were.

Una
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eve T
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a wonderful holiday!”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is in a beautiful and convenient location just under Benbulben and just a short drive away from Sligo town and surrounding wonderful beaches. We were made to feel extremely welcome even before we arrived as Una's son sent us a list of recommended local restaurants, (Eithne's in Mullaghmore was our favourite), beaches, walks, galleries and other lovely things to do during our stay. Una and Frank were wonderful hosts and the apartment was the perfect place to stay, beautifully equipped and spotlessly clean with very comfy beds and lots of hot water. Our sons had a great time and loved playing football in the field behind the apartment. Thank you so much for the delicious brown bread and for making us so welcome!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2015
Eve, we so enjoyed having you and your family to stay. We were delighted to see that you were all clearly having so much fun during your holiday. It's great that the apartment contributed to that! We would love to have you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy M
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely views, everything you could need, super clean, will stay again!”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed with our two young children for the weekend and were 100% happy with our stay! the apartment is very well kitted out, it had everything we needed for our stay. Una and frank were very helpful and we loved Unas freshly baked brown bread. The back garden is lovely with amazing views of benbulben, our little one enjoyed the slide as well! We will definitely stay again when we visit sligo. Many thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2015
Noel and Amy, thank you for your lovely review. We loved having you all to stay. You were extremely respectful of the property. We would love to have you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmut E
Sauerlach, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best cheap locations in Sligo area.”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Coming to the northwest of Ireland since 20 years, for us it is one of the
cosiest holiday homes in this area. Located in a beautiful landscape with
view to well known Benbulben mountain we experienced a very warm
welcome by the owners Una and Frank with fresh bread, eggs, jam, and
flowers.
The holiday house is separated from the main house of the owners, and
consists of two bedrooms, two bathrooms with toilets, an a combined
living room / kitchen. All is in excellent condition, and everything you
need is there.
We are already looking forward to next year when we will come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, house, owners
Liked least: Missing TV
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2014
Helmut, we really enjoyed having you to stay in the apartment. It was great getting to know you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in summer 2015 as friends! Una
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;