We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Teach Carraig

The house & patio on a beautiful summers day
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house & patio on a beautiful summers day
Cosy sitting room with wood burning stove & views of the countryside The downstairs bedroom can be configured as a twin or double room as required.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
The house & patio on a beautiful summers day
Cosy sitting room with wood burning stove & views of the countryside
The downstairs bedroom can be configured as a twin or double room as required.
The upstairs bathroom has a sumptuous roll top bath.
The upstairs bedroom has a king size sleigh bed.
The kitchen diner is spacious and well equipped.
Woodstock Gardens Inistioge (5 miles away)
Kilfane Glen & Gardens (5 miles away)
Hurling - fast & passionate game Kilkenny is renowned for
Water activities for all the family
Dunbrody Famine Ship, New Ross
Hook Lighthouse, Wexford
Jerpoint Park, Thomastown (5 miles away)
The view from the patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Thomastown, Kilkenny, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
TOOTSCarr...
CARRICKFERGUS N IRELAND
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Me my wife and two girls stayed here for just under a week and throughly enjoyed our stay , upon arrival we found the cottage absolutely spotless and provide everything you needed plus more , Carol the owner was always on hand if you needed anything and was extremely friendly and of course there was Mojo who is the owners dog and was fantastic friendly and kept the little one entertained.

Will without doubt try too stay here again and can honestly say we were gutted to leave .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs L
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home.”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The cottage had everything you would need. Quiet location overlooking the valley. Easy access to all areas for plenty of sightseeing. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Our two dogs loved it there.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mageemi
Saint Charles, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely cottage in the Irish countryside.”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We used the cottage as a home base while visiting a variety of places in Co. Kilkenny and the surrounding counties. Teach Carraig was perfect for our needs. It was well equipped with everything we needed and the wifi was a real plus to stay in touch with family back home. We loved the fact that it was off the beaten path and provided a peaceful quiet setting. Carol, the owner, was very friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very well equipped with modern appliances and wifi connection.
Liked least: A little off the beaten path, but do-able.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janine h
1 review
“Perfect holiday accommodation”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a lovely holiday and the cottage was fully equipped with everything we needed and was cosy,comfortable and warm. The house is ideally located for sight seeing and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.We hope to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jooleejoo...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“And the award goes to .......”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Teach Carraig exceeded our expectations and I can honestly say that the Trip Advisor Excellence Award is very much deserved. We took our 2 small dogs with us and we were all made very welcome by Carol, Neil and Mojo. The cottage is very very spacious and was scrupulously clean and finished to an exceptional standard. The kitchen/dining area was extensively kitted out with top of the range equipment. The living room was so comfortable and cosy it was a lovely place to chill of an evening. The wet room downstairs and bathroom upstairs, again, very clean and with excellent fittings great shower and luxurious bath. The bedroom was again very spacious and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Lots to see and do in the surrounding area, St Mullins fishing by the riverbank was just idyllic, Kilkenny Town is excellent and very attractive with castle and medieval buildings, loads of lovely pubs and shops. Our week in Teach Carraig was just perfect thank you very much Carol, Neil and of course the lovely Mojo x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing