We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Flawless accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Teach Carraig

The house & patio on a beautiful summers day
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house & patio on a beautiful summers day
Cosy sitting room with wood burning stove & views of the countryside The downstairs bedroom can be configured as a twin or double room as required.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The house & patio on a beautiful summers day
Cosy sitting room with wood burning stove & views of the countryside
The downstairs bedroom can be configured as a twin or double room as required.
The upstairs bathroom has a sumptuous roll top bath.
The upstairs bedroom has a king size sleigh bed.
The kitchen diner is spacious and well equipped.
Woodstock Gardens Inistioge (5 miles away)
Kilfane Glen & Gardens (5 miles away)
Hurling - fast & passionate game Kilkenny is renowned for
Water activities for all the family
Dunbrody Famine Ship, New Ross
Hook Lighthouse, Wexford
Jerpoint Park, Thomastown (5 miles away)
The view from the patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Thomastown, Kilkenny, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
DublinBri...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Flawless accommodation”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Teach Carraig is a great cottage. My girlfriend and I are in our twenties and we stayed here for two nights. The cottage itself is very clean and modern, the landscape is peaceful and relaxing. Carol was always at hand if we needed anything. I would thoroughly recommend this rental property and am considering a second stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer369
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Cute rental with great amenities, scenic area”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My family and I stayed here for 5 nights this fall. The owners were so welcoming and helpful. The rental is clean, orderly and very nice. The area is beautiful and if you get lost, which we did, people are willing to help you out. Would definitely recommend.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickcu...
Leitrim, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Really Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed a couple of nights in this wonderful cottage it had all that we needed.Lots of information,was cosy and warm with a lovely fire for us when we got there.It has been restored with lots of little things that we did not expect to get.Carol was very helpful and gave us advice on things to do.The kids enjoyed the Books T.V. dvds and Wi-fi connection.The house was lovely and clean. The cost was very good for all we recived. Hope you enjoy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hayley L
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Beautiful cottage, Friendly, helpful owners, perfect holiday.”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I stayed in the cottage for one month and it felt just like a second home.
The cottage is a very decent size, room for more than four people easily.
The kitchen, living room and bedrooms all come with everything you could possibly need and more and if you find something else that you would like Carol and Neal will be happy to supply it if they have it handy.
There is a lot of wonderful sights and things to do nearby, New ross is lovely and the dunbrody famine ship is an interesting day out, and Kilkenny has so much live local music every night that i almost didn't manage to see all of the bands i wanted to. Most places in Ireland are easily accessible from the cottage and you can get up to dublin or down to cork in 2 hours or less.
I had the misfortune of suffering a car accident while on holiday and Carol and Neal could not have been more helpful, picking things up, driving me to get a rental car and even baking me some scones.
I was sad to leave the cottage and will be keeping in touch and returning when i can

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Couldn't possibly pick just one thing.
Liked least: I have absolutely no faults.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Amazing, Idyllic Retreat from the Hum-drum of Daily Life.”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Teach Carraig is one of those 'little gems', that you wish you'd discovered before. Superlative's really don't sum it up, but it IS 'Idyllic', both in location (only 1hr from Rosslare) and it's 'Situation'; nestling on the side of a hill above the river argylle. As a new conversion, it offers a spacious and airy, fully equipped kitchen/diner. Lovely and cosy lounge with log burner, satellite T.V. and Wi-fi connection. The downstairs bathroom with walk-in shower along with the spacious, yet cosy downstairs bedroom, were a real plus for our co-traveller's; as one has mobility issues. Upstairs, the second bathroom has an old fashioned styled, free standing tub/bath; ideal for a long soak after a busy day. The second bedroom is as generous in size as the first, yet cosy and the whole lay out of the property gives a real sense of 'Space'. Owners, Carol and Neil McCormack, are excellent and caring hosts, offering advice and hint's and tips of local amenities and points of interest and couldn't be any more helpful/lovely. The rental charge for the week was outstanding value for money and we'll all definitely recommend Teach Carraig to anyone whose contemplating a visit to Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about Teach Carraig is superb.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing