We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mount Juliet Estate Kilkenny
Nearby Hotels
Abbey House B&B(Thomastown)
USD 105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ballyduff House(Thomastown)
USD 110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 102
USD 99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyrath Estate(Kilkenny)
USD 182
USD 165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny(Kilkenny)(Great Value!)
USD 70
USD 61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Kilkenny(Kilkenny)
USD 143
USD 113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pembroke Kilkenny(Kilkenny)
USD 157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zuni Hotel(Kilkenny)
USD 139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Norely Theyr(Thomastown)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,137)
Filter reviews
1,137 results
Traveller rating
746
202
98
46
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
746
202
98
46
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main houselady helen restaurantmanor househunters yardhorse ridinggolf clubmichelin startasting menuequestrian centrestud farmrose gardenthe rivermount juliet estateafternoon teaold housebeautiful propertybeautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 1,137 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2017

We stayed one night in December, a weekend in the newly built Hunters Lodge. We were here a year ago also and the construction was just starting, this is a large project.

The food, as usual was fantastic in Mount Juliet. The new bedrooms are stunning, but it is form over function. The electrical setup in particular is very odd. 14 light switches in the room. 10 of them appear to do nothing at all. One main switch by the door powers the room on or off, but there is no individual switch for the bathroom, it is on the same circuit as the ceiling lights and lamps. Which means, if you need to pee at 6am, your partner better enjoy all the lights being switched on. Wifi didn't work. No cellphone coverage at all. No toilet roll holders, no shelf in shower for shampoo or soap. Maybe it's not finished. We got paint on our shoes and sleeves from stepping over painters who were engaged to be there at 9:00am on a Saturday morning. Bizaar scheduling, just as every guest in the hotel heads to breakfast.

Pool was closed. I've included the view from the bedroom and the breakfast room, as well as the bedroom and the breakfast buffet.

I love mount juliet, but my goodness those works are disruptive.

Room Tip: Avoid Hunters lodge until the construction work is complete.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank pwurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at Mount Juliet Estate Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Dear pwurple,

Many thanks for posting your feedback. I am sorry to learn that your stay was not most enjoyable throughout.
Please contact our Operations Manager directly on mcollins@mountjuliet.ie with any further feedback as we are always welcoming of feedback to improve our wonderful property.

Kind regards,

The Management Team
Mount Juliet Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Had Sunday Lunch at ‘ The Hound’.
The location is superb. Lovely walks.
Newly decorated. Very comfortable. Lovely relaxing armchairs and it was really warm and cosy. The views across the golf course are lovely.
Staff are really friendly and helpful and obviously well trained.
The lunch menu is somewhat limited and if fish wasnt your thing on our visit the choice is restrictive.We had roast of the day. Very good, nicely presented and the cranberry sauce was really delicious...homemade, chunky and nicely sweet. We asked for butter and were given a lovely cube in individual portions...no foil wrapped portions here.
The plumb with mascarpone was delicious for dessert. It would have been nicer if the fruit was a little lukewarm with some sweet stickey juice. It was served with lovely brittle shortbread.
It is not cheap but about what could be expected in a place of this calibre. Wine is a tad too expensive however.
Overall..a lovely experience. Will definitely return.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank AnnM06022011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at Mount Juliet Estate Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Dear AnnM06022011,

Thank you for your review it is most appreciated. It is great to hear your lovely feedback in regards to our Staff and we are thrilled that you had a lovely dining experience with us during your recent visit to Mount Juliet and had the opportunity to take in the scenery the Estate has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mount Juliet in the future.

Kindest regards,

The Management Team,
Mount Juliet Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

We spent a Friday night at Hunter's lodge. We arrived at 3pm and checked into our room. Upon walking into the room, our view out the patio doors was builders directly outside our room. I gave the benefit of the doubt that the building would finish that evening so went into Kilkenny and had a lovely evening there. However, we were awoken the next morning just before 8am by the same builders back, this time operating a JCB and using shovels. This was not what I was expecting from a county getaway! Added to this the fitness centre was also not open. I told this to reception on checking out that it ruined my stay and was offered a drink in the bar at 10am, which was ridiculous and inappropriate! Then I was told that the Revenue manager would be in touch about my complaint but have not heard anything from them. In conclusion, avoid the place until construction is complete.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lynchrm2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at Mount Juliet Estate Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Dear lynchrm2017,

Many thanks for posting your feedback. I am sorry to learn that your stay was not most enjoyable throughout.
Please contact our Operations Manager directly on mcollins@mountjuliet.ie with any further feedback as we are always welcoming of feedback to improve our wonderful property.

Kind regards,

The Management Team
Mount Juliet Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

We have stayed in Mt. Juliet on several occasions both in the main house and the Hunters lodge and thoroughly enjoyed our visits. This visit was no exception even though we were disappointed that the pool was closed for renovations. We did not know this until we arrived as we had booked online and there was no notice on the site. However we enjoyed our two nights and had wonderful dinners in both the Lady Helen and Hunters lodge. Wonderful chefs in both places and we look forward to returning. Great staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marian54_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at Mount Juliet Estate Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear marian54_11,

Thank you for your review it is most appreciated. It is great to hear your lovely feedback in regards to our Staff and we are thrilled that you had a lovely dining experience with us during your recent stay in the Manor House and had the opportunity to take in the scenery the Estate has to offer. We apologise sincerely for the inconvenience of the Leisure Club closure and really hope that on your return visit, you will enjoy the benefits of our improved facility.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mount Juliet in the future.

Kindest regards,

The Management Team
Mount Juliet Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

I went here as part of a group of 4 for a 2 night spa break. We stayed in the Manor House which is beautiful and as for the staff there are no words. Nothing was too much trouble, the concierge service was also outstanding and they ran us around pretty much on demand (the estate is 500 acres). We had a great meal at the Hunters Yard Restaurant and breakfast every morning was cooked fresh, none of the awful hot buffet breakfasts here.
We had a great stay and every one of our party are planning on returning.

Room Tip: Room sizes great
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NIcola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at Mount Juliet Estate Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Dear Nicola L,

Thank you for your review it is most appreciated and it was our pleasure to look after you all during your stay with us It is great to hear your lovely feedback in regards to our Staff and our wonderful property.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mount Juliet in the future.


Kindest Regards,

The Management Team
Mount Juliet Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews