We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,207)
Filter reviews
1,207 results
Traveller rating
789
215
105
51
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
789
215
105
51
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house lady helen restaurant manor house hunters yard horse riding golf club michelin star tasting menu stud farm rose garden mount juliet estate the river afternoon tea old house beautiful property leisure centre beautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 1,207 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Mount Juliet is a great place for a short break whether a golfer or not. The approach is 'very country club' which creates some initial disappointments but once you arrive at the house you get a better feel. While having a very warm and comfortable atmosphere the decor, furniture and fittings were frankly downmarket and out of place for such a great house. The food in both the Lady Helen's Restaurant and Kendals was excellent and service was friendly and efficient throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house looking out over the valley
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2016

Dear James C,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to Mount Juliet Estate. I am glad that you enjoyed the food both in our Lady Helen restaurant and Kendal's restaurant. I appreciate your feedback on the decor and furniture particularly in the Manor House and have taken all your comments on board. We do hope to welcome you back to the Estate in the near future.
Kind regards,
Christine M.
Acting General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Absolutely wonderful weekend break. From the friendliness of the staff to the glory of the surroundings, it was a fabulous and unexpected November getaway. We walked the grounds, Pony trekked the surroundings and fished the lakes and we left feeling we didn't get to do everything i.e. golf, bike riding, tennis etc., we could have done with another 2-3 days easily. Definitely the best hotel stay we have ever had anywhere. The hotel has a gem in the shape of guest relations manager, Des McGrath, who has so many stories to tell and jokes too, a real gentleman and entertainer. It says it all really when our 10 year old daughter said she preferred her 2 night stay in Mount Juliet over her holiday earlier in the year at Legoland - as unbiased a review as you would ever get! It really is an ideal getaway for anybody looking to relax, unwind and just recharge the batteries.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eugene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Dear Eugene D,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Mount Juliet Estate. It is a pleasure to hear that you had a most enjoyable time and had the opportunity to use the amenities that surround the estate. I'm glad to hear your daughter had a great stay also and I will make sure Des receives your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Estate in the near future.
Kind regards,
Christine M.
Acting General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

Mount Juliet was absolutely beautiful! Highly recommend staying here. Take the time to explore the property with bikes. We went on all the trails on the property and loved the Irish countryside and wooded areas the property had to offer! The rooms were elegant and the staff was over the top! Loved our stay! Still talk about it today when we reminisce about our Ireland trip!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank cuttingtaxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2016

Dear cuttingtaxes,
Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay with us here on the Estate. I am glad to hear your visit made a lasting impression during your recent trip to Ireland and you had the opportunity to embrace the surroundings the Estate has to offer. I will relay your kind compliments to our staff members and hope to welcome you back to the Estate some day.
Kind regards,
Christine M.
Acting General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

With its understated elegance and attention to detail, Mount Juliet is truly a location for those who want a break away where your ever need is attended to with the greatest amount of ease and highest quality service.

The accommodation, staff, service, food and location are of the highest quality and I have no hesitation in recommending it as a first stop for those that want to unwind and relax.

If I were to find one slightly negative point - signage at the main gate could be better lit with more prominent wayfinder signage then for the various locations on the estate - however this could also be said to be in keeping with the general atmosphere - this is not for those that seek obvious glitz and glamour.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mo-ni-Aonghusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2016

Dear Mo-ni-Aonghusa,
Thank you for posting your review. Your kind words are most welcomed and I'm thrilled to hear of your positive and enjoyable experience during your recent visit to Mount Juliet Estate. I will inform our staff members of your feedback. I fully appreciate your comments in relation to signage on the estate and it is an issue we are currently assessing. We look forward to welcoming you back to the estate in the near future.
Kind regards,
Christine M.
Acting General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We have just returned home from a fantastic weekend break with friends at Mount Juliet.The experience was excellent.From the moment we went through the front door we were bowled over by the warm welcome and friendly,attentive and professional staff.The setting is magnificent
with breathtaking views over the river and surrounding countryside.A superb location to walk the extensive site and enjoy peace and tranquility.The restaurant was fabulous too with a wonderful menu.The open fires and warm atmosphere provide a very enjoyable experience.This is an hotel well worthy of note. We had Scotish friends with us who were most complimentary.Looking forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 10. Very comfortable with attractive feature arched windows.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2016

Dear Jim M,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Mount Juliet Estate. I am delighted to hear you had a most enjoyable stay during your weekend break and enjoyed the surroundings and amenities on the Estate. I will pass on your kind words to our staff members and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back very soon.
Kind regards,
Christine M.
Acting General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews