We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little piece of heaven!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Molly Cottage

Molly Cottage in full bloom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Molly Cottage in full bloom
Dunmanus Bay clouded in mystery Beautiful sunset to the West
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Molly Cottage in full bloom
Dunmanus Bay clouded in mystery
Beautiful sunset to the West
Have breakfast whilst watching the world waking up
Whip up a few meals in the fully equipped kitchen
Another cup of tea dear?!
Relax in the Sitting Room
Settle down with a book
Heat and comfort
Another fine day in paradise
On reflection...
The master suite
Enjoy your pocket-sprung comfort!
A room with a view
Smile and the world smiles..........
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Schull, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
LizG88
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of heaven!”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 2 nights over Easter. The cottage was very clean and comfortable in fact the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in in ages! The location is perfect just a few miles from Schull which is a lovely wee village. We had a great meal in the hotel, the Spanish restaurant and on our last day stopped for brunch in the creperie. The hosts were friendly and in particular young Molly (whom the cottage is named after) was very informative. We enjoyed our free range eggs for breakfast courtesy of Robin and one of the highlights of our stay was seeing the new born black lamb trying to stand up for the first time!! Make sure you take a drive to Crookhaven and Barleycove as the scenery is fantastic. All in all staying in Molly's cottage brought back some lovely memories of childhood holidays spent in this area. We will be back for sure!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
Thanks for your kind words. More lambs on their way hopefully! See you both again?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic Escape”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage delivered everything we wanted.

We came here to escape the rat race - and we feel so much better for doing so!

It has everything you need to escape the daily hussle and bustle of a hectic life. The owners have been tempted to install WiFi in the cottage - but I truly hope they decide not to, because avoiding emails, etc. is exactly the reason we chose to holiday at this cottage! If WiFi is what you need, you can simply nip into Schull and take advantage of the free WiFi that's on offer in the town. Not to mention hooking onto the WiFi offered by the numerous pubs and shops.

The cottage is lovely, the internal layout is perfect. It has a friendly feel about it. You walk outside, and all you can hear is birdsong. It literally is in the middle of nowhere.

Another visitor to this cottage commented on the shower facility - we had no problems with it at all. Yes - it last ten minutes but we never encountered a problem.

Because this cottage was so good, and Schull is such a lovely place and offers so much, that we will be returning in the summer of 2016.

We can highly recommend the Bunratty Inn for food (as well as the Crepe café, which offers genuine French cuisine). Hackett's is also superb, offering a basic but highly satisfying lunch menu - but it excels when it comes to entertainment. We spent more or less all Sunday in Hackett's - it's fair to say that Monday was a write-off!

Thank you Robin & Helen (not forgetting Woody the dog and the two cats) - see you next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remoteness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unatuna
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in beautiful area with welcoming hosts.”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great week staying at Molly Cottage, which was comfortable and well appointed and in a lovely setting with views down to the coast and with the more rugged backdrop of Mount Gabriel inland.

Set in beautiful West Cork, there is plenty to do and we enjoyed some fabulous walks and enjoyable sea trips. Local pubs and amenities excellent. A great place just to chill out.

Hosts Robin and Helen very helpful and welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and comfort (No Wi Fi was a plus for us!)
Liked least: No dislikes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian A
Chipperfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderfully relaxing time in Schull. Molly Cottage is an ideal base from which to explore West Cork. The cottage is well equipped and a peaceful haven to return to each day. The views from the cottage are stunning and Robin and his family couldn't be more welcoming and helpful. Our daughter (8) especially loved playing with their dog and seeing the other animals.

Schull is beautiful and perfect for those that like water sports or hiking. There are plenty of things to do for all ages including; exploring the beaches, visiting the local islands, whale watching and visiting the neighbouring villages.

There are loads of lovely restaurants in the area, we can strongly recommend the Paradise Crepes in Schull and the Church Restaurant in Skibbereen. The decor in the latter is stunning, the food is also lovely.

We look forward to returning very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and friendliness of the Irish people
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimeizqu...
Lanzarote, Spain
2 reviews
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I´ve stayed for 11 days with my wife and my son and we´ll have no doubt that in case we come back to schull we´ll go again to this house.
Absolutely beautiful, clean, confortable and precious gardens.
Great atmosphere of peace and relax. And the house and surroundings are even better than in the photographs.
Thank you Robin and family for letting us share a piece of your paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peaceful enviroments
Liked least: Toilet mirror to high for my wife
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing