We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,998)
Filter reviews
1,998 results
Traveller rating
1,212
418
200
113
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,212
418
200
113
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bell tower knights bar junior suite afternoon tea golf club five star hotel garden room star experience manor house beautiful hotel lovely grounds spa treatments wedding party star service east cork top class nespresso machine
Filter
Updating list...
1,886 - 1,891 of 1,998 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2009

It was a pleasure to happen upon this hotel less than 2 hours from my doorstep. As fas as service and presentation goes, this is right up there with the best of the 5 star hotels in Ireland. The bedroom and bathroom were luxurious. There is no need to leave the estate once you arrive beacuse both indoors and outdoors it has it all - from swimming and spa to an excellent games room, from a lounge with all the old board games and internet access to a bar and restaurant to sit and relax and listen to the lovely music from the excellent pianist in the reception area. The breakfast was very good. Its a shame the only evening food was a pricey set menu. Instead we went to the club house on the grounds and had a nice meal there. I really hope the hotel offers an a la carte menu for their guests because its a shame to see an empty restaurant in the hotel and all the guests dining in the clubhouse with 2 efficient staff running the show. We only stayed 1 night, but if the budget allows, stay for more. Yet again what really makes this hotel something special are the staff. The friendly and professional approach by Mary and Mairead at reception extended to every other staff member we met during our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosegardenKenmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

Just back from a one night mid-week stay in Castlemayrtyr in celebration of my fortieth birthday. It is a beautiful, classy , elegant and luxurious hotel. The rooms are the largest and most comfortable of any other 5 star that I have stayed in. Dinner was delicious as was breakfast. Staff all very professional and friendly. Surrounding and gardens magnificent. Will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scooper69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Just back from a 3 night stay with my family in this hotel. Our kids our 10, 12 and 14, we would use hotels every two to three months: to be honest as the weather was poor they were bored here.

We stayed in a Deluxe Room which was great, one of the nicest I have stayed in, especially the bathroom. Great size, furnished in a traditional manner but with all mod cons inc. remote controlled curtains, lighting etc.

The grounds are good, with plenty of open space and what appears to be a popular golf course which we didn't use due to the weather.

Breakfast overall was good, and staff in breakfast room were nice...though slow; and to get the cereal, juices etc. you had to self serve in a corridor which was being used by waiters to get to and from the kitchen....not 3* never mind 5*! Dinner was just ok, incredibly slow service over two and a half hours for two courses (kids cracking up!) and only a choice of one restaurant within the actual hotel. The menu remaining constant during our stay. You can eat in the Golf club house, but it's just OK and not recommended.

Service was very hit and miss, some great and some terrible. Door men were friendly, check in poor, waiters were pot luck. After getting cold side orders for the second night in a row, we sent them back to the kitchen but no replacements came back; no explanation either?!

if you are bringing kids watch the allocated pool times, we used the hotel as a base to explore Cork which meant that the kids (swimming times (which at all under 16s) of 10am to noon and 4pm to 6pm did not suit at all.

Hotel is expensive, but bar the prices of some wine and champagne, not extortionate.
Overall nice, but not a true 5* yet, still needs a lot of work to get things 100% right.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadForDriving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Fabulous place to stay when you want a little pampering. Great gym, great walks, freat food, great comfort. 20 minutes from Cork. Would go back in a heartbeat

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoorKia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlemartyrresort, Management at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2009

On behalf of the team here at Castlemartyr Resort, thank you sincerely for taking the time to post a comment and your kind words mean a lot to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

The hotel and grounds are amazing, I've never seen a hotel with such fabulous grounds. The tandem bikes and pony & trap rides around the estate are a lovely touch. Gym & spa also excellent. Service was extremely attentive and discrete. It's certainly a very luxurious & special experience to stay at Castlemartyr. This is reflected in the pricing - everything was ultra expensive, even by 5* standards, which would slightly put us off a return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissPiggyMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews