We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Place!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castlemartyr Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castlemartyr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2009

My Wife and I spent 2 nights at Castlmartyr in September '09 and the place was absoultely incredible. This had to be one of the nicest rooms that we have ever stayed in. The golf was fantastic and all of the staff went out of their way to make sure that our stay was enjoyable. We look forward to returning again in the future and would recommend this property to anyone looking to travel to the Cork region of Ireland

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoHiwayBuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,660 - 1,664 of 1,769 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2009

It was a pleasure to happen upon this hotel less than 2 hours from my doorstep. As fas as service and presentation goes, this is right up there with the best of the 5 star hotels in Ireland. The bedroom and bathroom were luxurious. There is no need to leave the estate once you arrive beacuse both indoors and outdoors it has it all - from swimming and spa to an excellent games room, from a lounge with all the old board games and internet access to a bar and restaurant to sit and relax and listen to the lovely music from the excellent pianist in the reception area. The breakfast was very good. Its a shame the only evening food was a pricey set menu. Instead we went to the club house on the grounds and had a nice meal there. I really hope the hotel offers an a la carte menu for their guests because its a shame to see an empty restaurant in the hotel and all the guests dining in the clubhouse with 2 efficient staff running the show. We only stayed 1 night, but if the budget allows, stay for more. Yet again what really makes this hotel something special are the staff. The friendly and professional approach by Mary and Mairead at reception extended to every other staff member we met during our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosegardenKenmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

Just back from a one night mid-week stay in Castlemayrtyr in celebration of my fortieth birthday. It is a beautiful, classy , elegant and luxurious hotel. The rooms are the largest and most comfortable of any other 5 star that I have stayed in. Dinner was delicious as was breakfast. Staff all very professional and friendly. Surrounding and gardens magnificent. Will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scooper69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Just back from a 3 night stay with my family in this hotel. Our kids our 10, 12 and 14, we would use hotels every two to three months: to be honest as the weather was poor they were bored here.

We stayed in a Deluxe Room which was great, one of the nicest I have stayed in, especially the bathroom. Great size, furnished in a traditional manner but with all mod cons inc. remote controlled curtains, lighting etc.

The grounds are good, with plenty of open space and what appears to be a popular golf course which we didn't use due to the weather.

Breakfast overall was good, and staff in breakfast room were nice...though slow; and to get the cereal, juices etc. you had to self serve in a corridor which was being used by waiters to get to and from the kitchen....not 3* never mind 5*! Dinner was just ok, incredibly slow service over two and a half hours for two courses (kids cracking up!) and only a choice of one restaurant within the actual hotel. The menu remaining constant during our stay. You can eat in the Golf club house, but it's just OK and not recommended.

Service was very hit and miss, some great and some terrible. Door men were friendly, check in poor, waiters were pot luck. After getting cold side orders for the second night in a row, we sent them back to the kitchen but no replacements came back; no explanation either?!

if you are bringing kids watch the allocated pool times, we used the hotel as a base to explore Cork which meant that the kids (swimming times (which at all under 16s) of 10am to noon and 4pm to 6pm did not suit at all.

Hotel is expensive, but bar the prices of some wine and champagne, not extortionate.
Overall nice, but not a true 5* yet, still needs a lot of work to get things 100% right.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadForDriving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Fabulous place to stay when you want a little pampering. Great gym, great walks, freat food, great comfort. 20 minutes from Cork. Would go back in a heartbeat

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoorKia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlemartyrresort, Management at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2009

On behalf of the team here at Castlemartyr Resort, thank you sincerely for taking the time to post a comment and your kind words mean a lot to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlemartyr
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,264 reviews
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
741 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,656 reviews
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlemartyr Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlemartyr Resort

Address: Ladysbridge Rd, Castlemartyr P25 X300, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Castlemartyr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castlemartyr
Price Range: $229 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castlemartyr Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castlemartyr Resort is a grand eighteenth century country manor house that sits adjacent to the ruins of an 800-year-old castle. Constructed by the first Earl of Cork and lovingly restored to its original grandeur, the Manor House opened in 2007 to serve as the centrepiece of Castlemartyr Resort. Nestled amid the picturesque woodlands of East Cork this breathtaking destination resort is steeped in history and tradition, while also offering luxurious first-class service tailored to each guest’s unique tastes and the finest in accommodations, dining and recreational activities. Its 103 guestrooms and suites offer contemporary design seamlessly blended with old world elegance. Attractions include The Spa at Castlemartyr, a renowned inland links-style golf course, a state of the art gym including a fitness studio, a private lake with swans and miles of unspoiled walking tracks, all graced by the mystery and power of the ancient ruins nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Castlemartyr Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlemartyr Hotel Castlemartyr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing