We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Family Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castlemartyr Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castlemartyr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2012

My husband, son and I stayed for 3 nights during the October Bank holiday weekend. We had the most amazing time. From the drive into the grounds with the witches hanging out of trees, to the pumpkins everywhere, there was a wonderfully festive ambiance. We'd booked a junior suite and weren't disappointed in the slightest. We ate in the hotel 2 of the nights (one fine dining) and really enjoyed the meals there as well. My husband played golf twice and on one of the days my son (6) and I got a picnic and went for a walk in the grounds. We did go to Fota Wildlife park one of the days as well, but even if we hadn't I think we could have done more exploring the nature trails. On our last night we also did the ghost tour run by the hotel and I must say we were genuinely freaked out a couple of times during it, but the young fella loved it. All in all we really couldn't have asked for more, the only worry is that we'll compare future hotels to it!

Room Tip: The junior suite was extra but worth it for the space with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frequent_traveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,421 - 1,425 of 1,769 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

We escaped for just one night, just my husband and I. From the moment we drove through the entrance gates, I had a feeling of getting away from it all. The hotel is so luxurious and grande but the staff are friendly and helpful. It is the ideal place to go as a special treat. I cannot wait to return! Food delicious and decor beautiful. I cannot find fault with it. Love it!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvelynIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We (family of 2 adults and 4 children) stayed at the Castlemartyr resort for 2 nights over the October Bank-holiday weekend. We stayed in one of the 3 bedroomed apartments on the grounds. This was nice and near the main hotel. However this is where the positive side ends! The website highlights the "kids zone" with Wii etc. However when we were there it is "closed" in preparation for Halloween!!! - despite being there on the bank holiday weekend running into Halloween. There was no sign up to suggest an alternative and when I asked at the desk - I was directed to one of the named rooms - think it was the "Midleton suite" where there was an empty room with a few boxes of bricks and a mid room display of "baby blocks". A major disappointment!!! We are professionals and had specifically picked this hotel as it seems to be child friendly with activities for children!!! NOT.
Anyway what really disappointed me - for a 5 star resort was the response to my complaint. When I approached the reception, a young man (who said that he was in charge) simply said that there was nothing he could do. I did say that I wanted to complain formally and he say very politely that he was sorry but there was nothing he could do and that it would be open after the weekend. He did not seem to have any training in responding to complaints and I (who work in healthcare) am aware that it is essential to take complaints seriously and at least acknowledge them and say that someone will respond to you. I had to insist on writing a formal complaint - which he let me do on a blank sheet of paper. I left my mobile but a week later have heard nothing - extremely unprofessional in my point of view. I will not be back. We moved to the nearby Garryvoe hotel - far more comfortable with friendly staff (who could not do enough for us!! - a change). I will not be back and would advise those with children to avoid and for a 5 -star hotel the response to my complaint was pathetic.

PS: They insist in the pool that you bring your own towels from the apartment, or charge you per towel which is cheap!! I realise that the apartments are managed separately but they state that you have full access to the hotel services
Also - I left a complaint on the website but a week later have heard nothing - AVOID***

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GalwayN13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We recently stayed at this wonderful hotel. From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed. It was a beautiful October day - sunny but chilly and once inside there was such a warm and cosy feeling. Check-in was smooth with helpful staff and we were delighted to see the two lovely dogs behind reception which added to the whole relaxed atmosphere. Our bedroom was large and extremely comfortable, fabulous spacious bathroom and a lovely view onto the garden. Excellent leisure centre with fab pool and an added bonus which I found out on arrival is their spa is an ESPA spa so had a wonderful treatment in the afternoon. We ate in the bar in the evening, again a lovely atmosphere and the whole setting is delightful, particularly the striking design on the ceiling which really comes to life in the evening light. Breakfast was truly delicious and the buffet was neatly displayed. The smoked mackerel was so flavoursome and the brown bread was really tasty. I even asked if I could take some home with me and they gave me a generous portion to enjoy later. Overall a wonderful stay, great staff - attentive and obliging. We stayed one night but felt we had been away for a week - can't wait to return. Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoodGollyMissyMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed here for one night. From the moment we arrived at Reception to our check out our stay was amazing. This hotel is truly beautiful - our room was excellent - room service and breakfast was excellent and all the staff were excellent.

Thanks again to the lovely Receptionist Amanda who was so kind to our little person who fell on her way into the Hotel.

Can't wait for my next stay in Castlemartyr.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlemartyr
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,263 reviews
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
740 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,656 reviews
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlemartyr Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlemartyr Resort

Address: Ladysbridge Rd, Castlemartyr P25 X300, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Castlemartyr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castlemartyr
Price Range: $229 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castlemartyr Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castlemartyr Resort is a grand eighteenth century country manor house that sits adjacent to the ruins of an 800-year-old castle. Constructed by the first Earl of Cork and lovingly restored to its original grandeur, the Manor House opened in 2007 to serve as the centrepiece of Castlemartyr Resort. Nestled amid the picturesque woodlands of East Cork this breathtaking destination resort is steeped in history and tradition, while also offering luxurious first-class service tailored to each guest’s unique tastes and the finest in accommodations, dining and recreational activities. Its 103 guestrooms and suites offer contemporary design seamlessly blended with old world elegance. Attractions include The Spa at Castlemartyr, a renowned inland links-style golf course, a state of the art gym including a fitness studio, a private lake with swans and miles of unspoiled walking tracks, all graced by the mystery and power of the ancient ruins nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castlemartyr Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlemartyr Hotel Castlemartyr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing