We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,974)
Filter reviews
1,974 results
Traveller rating
1,198
414
197
111
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,198
414
197
111
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbell towerknights barjunior suiteafternoon teagolf clubfive star hotelgarden roomstar experiencemanor housebeautiful hotellovely groundswedding partystar servicespa treatmentseast corktop classnespresso machine
Filter
Updating list...
1,720 - 1,725 of 1,974 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Stayed with family in this hotel, had privilege of staying in one of the suites , first class for everything, the room , facilities , staff and the panoramic setting of hotel. No faults to report

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DinkyIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Castlemartyr with your family. Delighted that you had a great stay and that everything was to your satisfaction. Our main aim is to offer our guests a warm welcome and a relaxing stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Castlemartyr again in the future.

Andrew Phelan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Visited this hotel after being surprised as a present. Absolutely gorgeous hotel, old yet modern. Beautiful setting, the grounds are fab!!
Rooms are amazing, very big, great bathrooms and extra little bits around the room such as books that give it that extra touch! Bit of a trek to the room but worth it!! Pool and services are lovely although we did not use the spa for treatments.

Food = amazing!! We ate in the bar and it was delish!! Breakfast was also gorgeous!!

Staff were brilliant very helpful and pleasant!! Really enjoyed the stay here,very luxurious as a treat for someone!! One thing I will say is that there were a lot of small kids there,but that could happen anywhere I suppose!!

Well worth a visit in my opinion!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goingtravellingcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Thank you for your review. Delighted that you enjoyed your 'treat' at Castlemartyr. We hope to see you again.
Andrew Phelan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed here on a wet and foggy weekend in November. Everything about this hotel, from the greeting , to the checkout is an enjoyable, relaxing experience. . Food is exceptional, choice for breakfast is exellent, and dinner menu is interesting There is a wide choice of activities available if desired, but, I found the bed so comfortable, I was happy to lounge in it for an afternoon and read.
I would recommend this hotel, for a break for those seeking a touch of luxury.

Room Tip: request a room as close to reception as possible. It is a bit of a treck to some bedrooms
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peachmadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Thank you for your review and glad that you had a relaxing break with us. The Chef very much appreciated your feedback.
We look forward to seeing you again at Castlemartyr.
Andrew Phelan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Enjoyed a fabulous weekend here at the end of January. I have to say that the staff are just lovely and deal with you in a very friendly and down to earth manner while remaining professional and efficient. Food is excellent! From a great spread at breakfast to an amazing dining experience at dinner! The room was a suite with loads of space and cosy at the same time! Curtains, lights, do not disturb sign etc. all automated from both inside the door and beside the bed. Very cool! The pool is nice - good temperature so you don't go cold if you stop doing lengths! The jacuzzi unfortunately wasn't working while we were there but these things happen. The only, and I mean the only thing that lets the hotel down is the appearance and location of the jacuzzi. It is a standard plastic square one located right at the top of the pool. Perhaps it could have been better located in its own corner beside the big windows overlooking the gardens and my personal opinion is that a tiled/mosaic finish would have just elevated the provision of such a facility in a 5 star hotel. Again, the food, staff & walks around the grounds are just amazing and I would have no hesitation in recommending t!he Castlemartyr Resort as a real treat!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IreMuse_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Glad that your weekend at Castlemartyr exceeded your expectations and that the out of order Jacuzzi did not detract from your break. We did have a temporary problem with it for a few days and I will admit that it didn't look its best when empty. It's now back to full working order and is looking very respectable. I very much appreciate your comments and we will certainly keep them in mind when we need to refurbish that area.
Andrew Phelan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We chose this hotel as we were looking for a plush, comfortable hotel with lots of character. Reviews on tripadvisor were great plus my parents had stayed here and loved it.
The grounds of the hotel looked lovely, it was Feb when we visited and a little damp and cold so we didn't get to do any walking around the grounds.....I imagine they would be lovely during the summer.
We had booked dinner nearby in Ballymaloe house, reception booked a taxi for us that was charged to the room which was very handy, we had a great chat with on of the managers about dinner in Ballymaloe...........very friendly staff.
Our room was amazing, we booked a standard room but it was huge! An enormous bed with beautiful bed linen, separate dressing room and a separate bathroom. Foor to ceiling windows in the bedroom with remote controlled curtains, armchair in bedroom, fridge and tea making facilities. Bathroom was huge, double sinks, private toilet and rainforest shower, all white marble.........maybe the nicest part of room!!!
On both nights we had drinks in the bar, it is lovely and comfortable with a big open fire and friendly staff. We noticed the bar stocked Hendrick's Gin so ordered Gin and tonics one evening before dinner, the drinks were taking ages to get to us, the barman had gone to get cucumber for the drink........really nice touch and really enhanced the flavour of the drink.
We ate in the dining room on the Saturday night. I didn't love the dining room, I felt it could have been more intimate, it room was really quiet and the lights were quite bright..........a small complaint but it took away form the atmosphere. Food was delicious for both of us. A wine chosen was not available but an alternative was reccommended.
Breakfast was served in the dining room also, good choice of baked goods, cereals, fruit and yoghurts etc........if ordering something hot the waffles are lovely. A hot breakfast is not needed though as there is loads of choice on the continental breakfast.
We used the swimming pool and spa facilities, all really nice and relaxing. My boyfriend had a treatment and so got to use the water therapy rooms upstairs which he said were lovely.

All in all an excellent experience. I would love to return in the summer

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orlaith Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Thank you for your extensive review. Yes the grounds are amazing, and have a different feel at different times of the year. At the moment spring bulbs and sweet-smelling wallflowers abound and flowering cherry trees appear where you would least expect. But you are right it's probably summer that the grounds really come alive because Chris our Gardener has worked his magic with even more planting of flowers and seeds propogated on site. And yes he also grows herbs and the odd cucumber for use in cocktails!
We look forward to seeing you again in Castlemartyr.
Andrew Phelan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews