We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We are home but our hearts are still at Four...”
other travellers have booked this property
Four Directions Cottage with Hungry Hill in the background
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Four Directions Cottage with Hungry Hill in the background
Four Directions Cottage Breakfast on the patio overlooking Bantry Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Four Directions Cottage with Hungry Hill in the background
Four Directions Cottage
Breakfast on the patio overlooking Bantry Bay
Cottage front door
A glass of wine on the patio
The fully equipped kitchen area
Dining & seating area
Sitting area
Dining & seating area
Double bedroomn
Access to the mezzanine bed loft
Mezzanine bed loft with twin beds
Shower room
Hungry Hill & local beach
Local sandy beach
View from the Buddhist Centre
Local view
Local view
The Healey Pass
Local view
Rush hour on Hungry Hill
Local view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Castletownbere, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
redrose67
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We are home but our hearts are still at Four Directions”
Reviewed 15 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Steve the owner made contact before our arrival to inform us of a problem on the road due to the rain - this is just an indication of the care this man takes with his clients. The directions given to finding it are spot on and once inside the cottage it is perfect, like home from home plus peace and quiet and the most beautiful views. I would recommend this cottage to anyone. As Arnie says "I will be back" lol

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cottage and views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel53...
Locarno, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A gem nestled in nature”
Reviewed 31 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We had a great stay at Four Directions, and the owners, Steve and Una are expection hosts who always go the extra mile for their guests. Thank you and keep this gem the way it is! Even in the wettest summer for years we enjoyed overy minute of it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage, the surroundings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonBenn...
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 8 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Four Directions Cottage. It's a very sweet place in a beautiful location with well-organized and well-maintained amenities. Steve White, the landlord, has put a lot of thought (seen in the details) into meeting his guests' needs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seenitdun...
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Probably thermost peaceful setting you could find.”
Reviewed 25 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

This little cottage situated along a quiet single track road is a haven of peace and tranqulity. The views across to Bear Island are magnificent. Inside all modern amenities have been shoe horned in. We very much enjoyed our stay.

However, potential visitors should know that the cottage has no television reception (not a problem to us but it could deter others). Contrary, to the facilities list we would not deem it suitable for small children, as two of the beds are on a mezanine floor with no protective barrier, and not suitable for the infirm, as the parking area is accessed via a steep hill. Finally, (and this did prove an inconvenience for us), it takes a lot longer than five minutes to reach Casteltownbere. One has to negotiate a mile of bendy single track road and about four to five miles of main road to reach the town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility
Liked least: The travel distance into the town.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2012
Thanks for your kind comments. However, information about TV signal, suitability for children or incapacitated guests, etc. is detailed on our website (four-directions-cottage.com) which guests have to visit to make a firm booking. It can't be shown on the adverts because of template restrictions. I have checked the 5 mins to Castletownbere and you are right. I have adjusted that to 6-7 mins which is the time I took to drive the route. Thanks again for pointing these things out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan V
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2018
Hi Stephan and Kristina,

Thank-you SO much for your great review!
It is very kind of you to take the time write such a informative and positive one with very kind comments. Our reviews are always really helpful for future enquiries and bookings.

It was a pleasure to meet you all and we're really happy to k ow you had a very good holiday here.
We do hope we will meet again in the future - you will always be most welcome back.

All the very best to you all,
Laraine and Mick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing