We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with great service”
Review of The Brick Oven

The Brick Oven
Ranked #7 of 42 Restaurants in Bantry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 6 - USD 25
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our Wood Burning Pizza Oven was lit in 1997 and has been churning out pizzas and tasty dinner ever since! The oven is kept at a temperature of 500-550F by burning oak and other hardwoods which are fed through the front by a long handled shovel. This ensures the maximum flavour and a crispiness for every pizza we make. It can hold up to 10 large pizzas at once and cooking time is between 7-10minutes. Be sure to take a look at the oven and pizza making process using our own homemade dough and Brick Oven pizza sauce. Whatever the special occasion - birthday, anniversary, club dinner, office party- The Brick Oven and The Mariner will help make it a memorable one with delicious food, music and a full range of refreshments for children and adults.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Yet again, we decided to eat here on the first night of our holiday. We had tended to order the same thing on the last couple of visits, so this time we opted for a pasta dih.

When we arrived the place was packed as usual, but the staff managed to seat us quite quickly. After a look at the menu, we both opted for the chicken linguini which is served in a rich vodka sauce. It had been a few since we had ordered this, and truth be told, we had forgotten how good it is.

When the food arrived, the portions were large and the vodka sauce was rich and creamy. Service and attention throughout the meal was excellent and attentive without being intrusive. Overall an excellent dining experience that cannot be recommended highly enough.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank aoreilly_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westcork1, General Manager at The Brick Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thanks for your review aoreilly_13,

I was glad to read that you dine with us first on each holiday to Bantry & that you enjoyed your expeirence with us again!

We hope to see you back on your next holiday.

Kind regards,
Danielle Delaney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

A year since my last review and pleased to report that the Brick Oven is still serving a very good fish and chips! Visit coincided with the twixt lunch and dinner menus but no problem with the limited version as we knew what we wanted. Wife happy with her veggie choice of cheese quesidellas and wedges. Good value and with a very good specials board which was being written as we dined...

1  Thank ExpatKL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westcork1, General Manager at The Brick Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for your review ExpatKL88,

We were happy to read that you enjoyed your meal with us here again and hope to see you again next year, if not before it!

Kind regards,
Danielle Delaney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

My wife and I ate here and had pizza. Great atmosphere in this restaurant but we both thought the pizzas were a little too greasy and could have been a little more crispier. But then again that’s a personal opinion. But overall, a nice restaurant.

1  Thank Irishlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westcork1, General Manager at The Brick Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thanks for your review Irishlarry,

May I firstly apologise that you didn't fully enjoy your pizzas. Pizza and our brick oven are at the heart of what we do and it is disappointing to read that you weren't happy with them.

Thank you for the positive reviews of the atmosphere and restaurant overall and we hope to have you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Danielle Delaney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

My fiancé and I had dinner yesterday evening at the brick oven. I have booked a table and we had a nice one on the balcony. As Italian we are reasonably fussy for pizza but we have decided to give a chance to this place and order pizzas: margherita with fresh tomatoes as extra and fiancé ordered a prima vera with extra artichokes. Two pints of Moretti which is an Italian lager as well made it the perfect weekend Italian dinner! Very surprised we can say the pizza was really good! We didn’t expect to eat such a good pizza in Ireland! We live here 9 years between dublin and Cork and my fiancé is also a chef and he usually makes the dough to make homemade pizza. I can say this time I didn’t miss his so much! We had an Apple tarte tatin to share as well. The bill for 2 pizzas 12 inch, 2 pints and a dessert to share was reasonable:43€ in total. Our waiter, a lovely polish girl( sorry don’t remember the name!) was absolutely lovely with us. Highly recommended the brick oven if you are here in bantry for a night. Go there and order pizza: you will understand what does mean this world for Italian people

1  Thank pinquy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westcork1, General Manager at The Brick Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank your for your kind review pinquy83,

I was delighted to read that you were impressed with our pizzas, high praise indeed when it comes from an ITalian couple! I'll pass on your reveis to Teresa of her lovely service and we hope to see you next time you are in Bantry!

Kind regards,
Danielle Delaney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Called in here without a booking and got a table by the window. Nice menu and food very good. Would definitely eat here again.

1  Thank Eileen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westcork1, General Manager at The Brick Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Hi Eileen F,

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Danielle Delaney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brick Oven also viewed

Bantry, County Cork
Bantry, County Cork
 
Bantry, County Cork
Bantry, County Cork
 

Been to The Brick Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing