We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great first impression of Ireland”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Stable

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Skibbereen, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
E B O
Western New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great first impression of Ireland”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at The Stable for the entire length of our visit to the Skibbereen/Baltimore area (7 nights). It was very clean, comfortable and private. We had every amenity we needed and more. It's a great location, minutes from the town and the roads you need to drive on for exploring the greater area, but serene once you're back in the accommodation. Mary & Aiden were very helpful and professional. We loved learning about the dairy farm. For choosing a rental, I preferred that our money go to a local owner and we were able to do this at Abbey Farm Holiday Homes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean, comfortable and secure.
Liked least: Stay too short.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2016
Liz, We were delighted to have you and your family stay with us and that you enjoyed your time here. Would love to see you again sometime and thank you for the photos of Oreo.

Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreen D
County Kildare, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view, comfortable, cosy and very enjoyable”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is a place with character. We received a very warm welcome on arrival. All the comforts of home are available in this house. The living area is upstairs but this allows you to enjoy the view of both the beautiful West Cork scenery and the working farm (which my son was delighted with). The house is very spacious and cosy. The courtyard area outside the house is safe from cars as the parking area is seperate but gates can be opened to drop off the suitcases outside the front door. The house is located very close to Skibbereen town and is a great base to explore all West Cork has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The traditional look of the place and view
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iain b
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
“very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My wife, two children aged 3 years and 6 months, and I stayed at the Abbey Farm in July 2015 for one week.
The host family were very friendly and accommodating (cot, stair gates, towels, linen, fresh brown bread etc etc)
The farm is a working farm and Aidan was very happy to show us around and let us visit the calves and the milking each evening. It is not noisy. There is a safe space for young children to play fully closed off from the farm, and the farm itself is only a two minute drive from Skibbereen town and a 15 minutes drive to the beach. There are lovely walks in the surrounding countryside and the town has very good restaurants and cafes.
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter1143...
London
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Homely Stay”
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My family needed accommodation in Skibbereen for a wedding and we couldn't really have wished for anything better.

The Abbey Farm Holiday Cottages enjoy fantastic scenery up a hill just over a mile out of the town. They are both airy and spacious and are well equipped with everything you could want (including an ironing board which was especially useful on this occasion!). The cottages themselves were understandably a little on the chilly side and we found the need to keep some heating on during the night. Otherwise the only other small criticisms were that the bathroom mats were a little dirty and possibly needed replacing and one of the bathroom heaters didn't seem to work? Nevertheless in the whole scheme of things we were perfectly happy.

One last comment should be made about the proprietor Mary and her husband who live in the farmhouse next door. A nicer couple you could not wish to meet. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They even offered to drive us down to the wedding reception itself. Lovely people!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2015
I'm delighted you all enjoyed your stay with us and that the wedding went well. Thank you for your feedback, an electrician has checked the bathroom heater and a switch inside the heater has to be replaced. Apologies for that not working. The bathroom mats are always cleaned after every changeover, so this shouldn't have happened. I appreciate all feedback and comments and would encourage all my guests to inform me of any problems, while they are still here, so that I can take immediate action to ensure they enjoy their stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ainehale
Lisburn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for a perfect family holiday!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a fantastic week at Abbey Farm!! Our family rented 3 out of the 4 available properties and everyone had a fantastic stay. We rented 'the stable' with 4 adults and 2 young children and it couldn't have suited us better! The owners provided a cot and highchair as requested and when we arrived and they noticed the age of the children they immediately suggested a baby gate and fitted one then and there! My son aged 3 enjoyed the freedom the safe and secure courtyard & gardens provided and the owner/farmer welcomed him to watch the working farm in action! The location is perfect for exploring nearby towns and sights, the houses are well equipped (home from home-more than standard holiday apartments etc) and the service we got from the owners was second to none! I will definitely go back and would recommend this holiday to any family looking for a relaxing break!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2014
Aine, it was lovely having all your family back again, hope to see you all again soon. Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing