We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location”
Entrance to property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to property
Open plan living/kitchen/dining area Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Entrance to property
Open plan living/kitchen/dining area
Kitchen
Shower/Toilet
Dining area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Skibbereen, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
GorgesIth...
Upstate New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a great week at this cottage (cottage 3) with 2 adults and 2 teenagers. Location is perfect for touring that area of the country and we did day trips to Cape Clear, Bantry, Kinsale, Schull. Cottage was spacious and comfortable and met our needs well. No ocean view but otherwise it was perfect for us.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bawn00
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Loved everything about this place. Very homely, friendly, efficient, comfortable, clean top class kitchen and furnishings, fuel for fire provided, and heating system, hot water, free wifi, all the comforts of home and more. toiletries provided. Fabulous area with great scenery, beaches, pubs and shops. Rural farm, great experience. Loved every minute.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Personal touches, owner living nearby. Great care and attention. Comforts.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucienne...
Wadhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect, rural retreat”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Home from home hence our second visit in as many years! The most relaxing and enjoyable place to spend our annual family holiday with friends and kids in tow. Days on the local beaches and cosy evenings in after having a BBQ in the garden of our cottage - feeding the hens with our scraps - the kids were in their element.
Barbara is an exceptional host with an abundance of tips for where to visit and what to do, the cottages are a credit to her and her hard work: clean, modern with a homely feel and beautifully presented not to mention excellent value for money!
We can't wait to go back.
Kevin and Lucienne

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie K
Bend, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Our stay at Barbara's Cottage was one of the highlights of our 2 week trip around Ireland. After the hustle and bustle of Dublin, it was very relaxing to be in the country. Our cottage and the surrounding gardens and countryside were just what we imagined rural Ireland to be. The cottage was clean, bright, and roomy enough for 6 adults to be very comfortable.

Barbara and Reuben were great hosts and had good recommendations for things to do in the area. Day trips to Baltimore and Sherkin Island (we were amazed at the color, clarity and warmth of the ocean, great for swimming) and Mizen Head revealed spectacular coastal scenery. Castletownshend is very small, but close and the food at Maryann's was beyond our expectations. Skibereen is larger and had all the services we needed. The Church Restaurant is an amazing place, well worth a look, even if you just go for a drink.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Fit...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The absolute best start to the New Year!”
Reviewed 22 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

I stayed at Barbara's cottages with a group of friends for about 5 days around New Years Eve. We've been friends for years but hadn't all been in the same place, at the same time for a while and this stay in West Cork was the ticket! Barbara's cottages are the perfect blend of old (I think they used to be a barn) and new. They have that cosy feel of an Irish cottage but will all the mod cons you might need. We spent some nights in cooking everlasting meals, letting the wine and stories flow. Then a short drive away is the village of Castletownshend where we spent many a night in the local pub. Lill McCarthy's was good for a laugh and Mary Ann's has great food. I have to say all the locals we met had that great West Cork charm. The local area is stunning and we had some wonderful trips to Baltimore, Ballydehob, Glandore and Schull. All an easy distance to drive with great options for food/drink. Even in winter this place is stunning! Barbara herself was the perfect host, easy to deal with on the lead up to the trip, welcoming when we arrived, there to answer any questions we had but really left us to ourselves to enjoy the cottages. The isolation might not be for everyone but I'd definitely recommend a visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The blend of old and new in the cottages. The area.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing