We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The absolute best start to the New Year!”
Entrance to property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to property
Open plan living/kitchen/dining area Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Entrance to property
Open plan living/kitchen/dining area
Kitchen
Shower/Toilet
Dining area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Skibbereen, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Barry_Fit...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The absolute best start to the New Year!”
Reviewed 22 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

I stayed at Barbara's cottages with a group of friends for about 5 days around New Years Eve. We've been friends for years but hadn't all been in the same place, at the same time for a while and this stay in West Cork was the ticket! Barbara's cottages are the perfect blend of old (I think they used to be a barn) and new. They have that cosy feel of an Irish cottage but will all the mod cons you might need. We spent some nights in cooking everlasting meals, letting the wine and stories flow. Then a short drive away is the village of Castletownshend where we spent many a night in the local pub. Lill McCarthy's was good for a laugh and Mary Ann's has great food. I have to say all the locals we met had that great West Cork charm. The local area is stunning and we had some wonderful trips to Baltimore, Ballydehob, Glandore and Schull. All an easy distance to drive with great options for food/drink. Even in winter this place is stunning! Barbara herself was the perfect host, easy to deal with on the lead up to the trip, welcoming when we arrived, there to answer any questions we had but really left us to ourselves to enjoy the cottages. The isolation might not be for everyone but I'd definitely recommend a visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The blend of old and new in the cottages. The area.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh G
Dublin
1 review
“This was clearly the best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in....”
Reviewed 7 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011

This was clearly the best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in. We travelled with our 3 children (9, 7 & 4) and my parents joined us for a weekend but there was plenty of space for us all. Barbara’s warmth and hospitality was wonderful and we immediately felt at ease. The cottages are very cleverly designed and extremely well equipped and are spotlessly clean. The kids were especially delighted to be able to collect the chickens eggs and to see the ducks arguing over who would have their bath first! The cottages are close to Skibereen with all its amenities but still set in peaceful countryside. It is a great base from which to explore the beauty that is West Cork. We would definitely recommend Barbara’s Cottages for a family holiday and we hope to visit again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How we were immediately made to feel at home
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furze35
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“These are the best holiday cottages I have stayed in!”
Reviewed 15 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Barbara was waiting for us on arrival, she showed us around and gave us the low down in a very relaxed and easy manner. We really felt welcome and that the cottage was ours.
The cottage was spotlessly clean, had absolutely everything we needed, all mod cons, fully equipped kitchen. Very safe for children.
It was exactly as described but it was way more than we were expecting!
The kids were able to run around outside and play and even got to see real live chickens and ducks!!
If we are travelling to that part of Cork again we will definitely stay here again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelatol
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We found a little piece of paradise lovingly created by Barbara in beautiful West Cork”
Reviewed 8 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I travelled with my husband and our 2 children (5 & 7 yrs) and my parents too. We stayed one week at Barbara's Cottages and had a really relaxing holiday. The cottages are located in the beautiful West Cork countryside with lovely views and gorgeous countryside perfect for evening walks with the kids. We explored alot and the kids loved visiting Barabaras hens and ducks and checking out how the veg and strawberries were coming on. It was very safe for the kids with lots of space around the cottages to play. The cottages have been lovingly restored/rebuilt complete with charming half door that just sets them off perfectly. They have a rustic charm (or chic should I say) without lacking in any of the comforts. The lovely cottage we stayed in had 3 beds with lots of space for everyone and all mod cons - we all slept so well while there. Lovely touches like the vase of Sweet William and the strawberries and fresh eggs were really appreciated. It really was the perfect base to explore the area - being only 5 k from Skibbereen and with so much more of West Cork to explore - we'll be back! I'll be curious to see how Barbara's Veg and Cut Flower gardens grow and evolve. The gardens are looking pretty amazing considering she's only open 2 years. It would be perfect for a larger family group or special occasion where you could rent out 2 or 3 cottages. I'll happily recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerd1248
Steinheim an der Murr, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Schnitt, Ausstattung und Umfeld des Cottage und die irische Gastfreundschaft
Liked least: nichts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;