We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything you could wish for, Ecellent in every...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ait Sonny

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cahersiveen, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Paul W
Kingston Upon Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Everything you could wish for, Ecellent in every possible way”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Excellent value for money, The cottage was of a very high standard, very well equipped and spotlessly clean. The location was perfect for exploring the ring of Kerry. Fantastic scenery with great pubs and restaurants very close by. A very big thank you to Irene and Noel for making us so welcome and passing on useful tips on the best places to visit and where to find excellent food. I can not recommend Ait Sonny highly enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Thank you so much Paul for a fantastic review it was our pleasure having you stay we hope to welcome you again some time to Ait Sonny. Kind regards Irene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely holiday”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Thanks to Irene & Noel our stay was very comfortable in a truly lovely setting. If anyone is looking for a relaxing stay with great views & friendly hosts I fully recommend Ait Sonny & will endeavour to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2016
Many thanks Peter for your great review both Noel and I enjoyed having you stay with us and our lovely interesting chats with you and your family. We would be delighted to welcome you to Ait Sonny again. Thanks again Irene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDWCork
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Idylic cottage in an Idyllic setting”
Reviewed 27 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Couldn't say enough for this extremely well restored cottage, with its homely atmosphere.It's full of character with all the modern conveniences, in a absolutely amazing location. There is a view out each window of the cottage but the ' piece de resistance' must be the view from the sun room..... looking out over Valentia Island,Renard, Portmagee and in towards Cahirciveen. There is a reason why this cottage gets 5 stars on each review and if it was possible to add a 6th, I'm sure it would get that too! It lives up to all its reviews and more! Everything is very comfy & cosy.Spotlessly clean & very well maintained, everything provided that u could possibly want .....even a fire log to burn in the stove on a grey wet evening! In summary...
It's a special place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, what's not to like!😊
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2016
Thank you so much Celine for your fantastic review of Ait Sonny, it was a pleasure to have you and your family! Hopefully we can welcome you all back again sometime soon to stay with us.
Thanks again
Irene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattBeaty
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in the country!”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at Ait Sonny for part our honeymoon and loved every minute of it. The house is beautiful and in just the right location for a relaxing base camp to explore the south-west of Ireland.

We particularly enjoyed watching the rain across the harbor, and using the wood-burning stove at night to stay warm and cozy.

Ait Sonny loses a star because at least some utilities are not included in the price of the rental. We paid an extra 20 euro at the end of our 10-day stay to cover electricity, which I didn't see when I signed the agreement. Not the end of the world, but it would have been nice to have them included, like they are in every other place I have ever stayed around the world.

Irene was an excellent hostess, and made sure we had everything, knew how to find the place, and that we had plenty of ideas for our excursions during the week.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2015
Hi Matt

Many thanks for your wonderful review of Ait Sonny, it was delightful having you stay with us, and to hear you enjoyed your stay.

I am sorry to see that you were unhappy having to pay for Oil and Electric, as this is stated on the website under the heading 'Further Details' and you would have ticked the box saying that you had read the 'terms and conditions', hopefully this did not take from the enjoyment of your holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you again to Ait Sonny, thanks again for taking time to review our property.

Best wishes

Irene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stegosaur...
South-West England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautifully situated and comfortably furnished”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had read very good reviews about Ait Sonny and the reality exceeded our expectations. The house has the best views of any holiday cottage we have stayed in - no need to watch TV here (although there is one available), because the ever-changing prospect is stunning by day and night. Ait Sonny is very well-equipped, with all one would need in the kitchen. The beds and the sofas/armchairs are very comfortable, the bedrooms generous in size, and the bathrooms (there are three showers and an elegant free-standing bath) are excellent. The owners live nearby and made us feel very welcome, with suggestions for day-trips walks and places to eat. We plan to return, as the experience was so positive. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and views
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing