We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Restorative and Picturesque”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bridgets cottage

Bridgets Cottage, Kealariddig, Sneem
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bridgets Cottage, Kealariddig, Sneem
plenty of parking space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Bridgets Cottage, Kealariddig, Sneem
plenty of parking space
working woodburning stove
The landing and bathroom
Bedroom 1. Double bed
Bedroom 2, twin beds
Back door leading to courtyard and garden area
a courtyard leads through to the garden behind the cottage
The garden behind the cottage
courtyard and steps to the garden
A relaxing place to sit
The hills behind Kealariddig
The old stable behind the cottage
The valley below Kealariddig
1901 cencus entry for house no.2 Kealariddig - Bridgets Cottage
Bridgets cottage in the early 1980's - a garden shed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sneem, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
MaryH5270
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Restorative and Picturesque”
Reviewed 22 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We needed a pastoral place to land for a few days after touring Ireland for a few weeks, and Bridget's Cottage was the idyllic place to rest and enjoy the town of Sneem and other historic and ancient sites very close by. Honestly, this beautifully restored cottage felt right at home and was clean and cozy with lots of great books to read by the fire at night. There were fresh eggs and homemade marmalade too! We will be back soon. Thank you Gary and Sue for a restful experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2017
Thankyou Mary!
Glad you both enjoyed your stay ....and managed to leave Sneem eventually ;)
We'd love to see you again, the parcel will be in the post very soon too.
You'll be pleased to know that there's been a man with a digger repairing the road to the cottage all week .....whoo hooo!
And next visit maybe you'll get to the Skelligs??
Sue and Gary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krasnalic...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

It is an exelent place to relax. Surranded by beautiful mountains Ring of Kerry. Clean and cosy cottage. We'll visit again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2017
Thankyou Beata, Lovely to have you back and we hope we will see you again sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew H
1 review
“Amazing location”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Wonderful cottage to stay in, with amazing views from enclosed garden and all around. Perfect place to get away from it all and relax. It's completely off the beaten track but worth the drive down the lane. Kitchen is well stocked with utensils and easy to cook in and lovely wood burner makes it very cosy. If you are coming here to spend all the time using wi-fi then this isn't the right place for you, this is the sort of place where you can really switch off from the world. The views are just incredible. Only a couple of minutes drive from Sneem once you get on to the road (10-15 minute drive down lane but you don't need to be a rally driver to navigate it). Loads to see and do nearby, cottage has lots of leaflets and books to read to give you ideas.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethxc
1 review
“Great base for exploring”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The surrounding area is seriously beautiful and this is a great spot to explore from by car. The cottage is well appointed with everything you need, though a little chilly in February. But we loved using the log burner and got warm with the plentiful supply of logs. There wasn't any wifi available, the other reviews mention it being unreliable but we didn't get any internet at all don't count on having any. Owners were really lovely and we were very comfortable and happy. Great value for money.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Glad you enjoyed it.
Unfortunately as we have no landline there's not much we can do about the wifi, we find that writing a message and then wandering about to find a signal is the best , but we're looking into other options.
High speed internet hasn't reached the west coast yet, but the 3G signal is excellent.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanM91...
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfect place from which to explore Ireland's south-western peninsulas”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This and all the other 5 star reviews should speak to the fact that this place is LOVELY, so, in terms of more practical advice...
- easy to get to (just off the R568) and yet feels very remote
- lovely woodburner
- WiFi is a locally provided service and I couldn't get a signal at all - 3G was good though
- plenty of local walking to do (including a track through a forest straight out the front door and down through the farmyard in front of the barn)
- a few attractions were closed because it was off-season (mid Feb) but some were open
- car pretty much essential if you want to make the most of the area
- local Sneem has shop, pubs (with food) and Quills for a few hiking bits and bobs
- Kenmare bigger and better for shops and pubs - Jam excellent place for lunch

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and woodburner
Liked least: Lack of accessible wifi (minor issue during a getaway!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2016
We're glad you enjoyed it. You were so lucky with the weather considering what the its thrown at us this winter!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing