We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“.... a wonderful home in a great and peaceful...”

Review of Valley of the Hare

Valley of the hare is a luxury holiday cottage overlooking Kenmare Bay on the Ring of Kerry
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Valley of the hare is a luxury holiday cottage overlooking Kenmare Bay on the Ring of Kerry
The cottage is south facing so all the rooms are bathed in plenty of natural light and warmth. Wherever you are in the house you will catch sight of the mountains or the Kenmare Bay.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Valley of the hare is a luxury holiday cottage overlooking Kenmare Bay on the Ring of Kerry
The cottage is south facing so all the rooms are bathed in plenty of natural light and warmth.
Wherever you are in the house you will catch sight of the mountains or the Kenmare Bay.
Our kitchen is large, well equipped and well stocked to help you show off your culinary skills.
The dining area is open plan and enjoys stunning views. It is perfect for both large small groups.
The light, bright living room provides beautiful views throughout the day.
Enjoying the views from the patio.
The cottage is furnished to a very high standard.
The study. Unlimited wireless broadband is available throughout the property.
Bedroom 3 set up with two luxury single beds.
Bedroom 3 made up with a luxury super king size bed.
Looking through to the living room.
Our resident hare will always pose for the camera.
All our bathrooms have lovely powerful showers.
Bedroom 2 made up with two luxury single beds. The room can also be made up as a super king size bed
One of our large and luxurious en suite bathrooms.
The master bedroom suite is arranged over the entire first floor of the cottage.
The bathroom in the master bedroom suite is large and luxurious.
Sit back and enjoy the lovely views from the patio.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sneem, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
HeinzM_nc...
Mönchengladbach
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“.... a wonderful home in a great and peaceful environment”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

the house is absolutely top equipped with a great atmosphere. You feel at home as soon as you close the front door behind you and have the beautiful view out of the windows. Small details such as a well stocked fridge for a first full breakfast made our stay an outstanding one. We found a lot of material / information for trips around. Finally Susan and her husband where available when ever needed. Thanks a lot for the time we could spend in Valley of the Hare.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding house in an breathtaking location”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed here with friends and a small baby. The location was totally breathtaking - absolutely stunning scenery and just the tranquillity that we were looking for. We were blown away by the house and the care that had been taken with the building and furnishing.
It was incredibly easy to relax and feel at home here. I found it very difficult to leave after our stay!
It was also very baby friendly, and easy to bring a 12 week old for her first trip to Ireland.
There is plenty to do in the area, with trips to the beach and the mountains within easy reach, but equally easy to get lost with relaxing days in the house itself. There are also some really stunning walks we went on directly from the house, meaning we never had to leave at all.
The owners had set up the house perfectly for us, and it felt very welcoming.
I cannot recommend this house enough, although I almost wish I could keep it a secret just for us! We very much hope to visit again and show the area to our family next time.
Perfect for anyone wanting a true break away from it all, to then make their break as busy or relaxing as they would like it to be.
Thank you for introducing us to the valley of the hare!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling warm and at home in a stunning location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley M
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible home in the most amazing setting”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The Valley of the Hare is a fantastic home, immaculate and beautifully decorated, comfy beds and sheets and even robes, we truly felt like we were at a five star spa resort! The house has an expansive uninterrupted view of the valley and mountains in the distance, we sat for hours just enjoying the peaceful setting and views. We were so fortunate to stay during lambing season and the working farm that the property shares was fully of gorgeous babies to watch. The house is designed so well with three separate very private suites each with en suite bathroom, we had young and old in our group and the house was perfect for us all! Enough privacy and also togetherness too! The kitchen was well stocked and Susan even provides a few basics to make cooking at home easy ( we actually only ate out once as we enjoyed being at the house so much!). Susan was a delight to work with and I highly recommend staying here you will not be disappointed! We cannot wait to return, hopefully soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCB76
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing setting - fabulous house”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week and loved it. The house was perfect, everything we could have wanted was supplied, toiletries, kitchen supplies, etc. Susan even had fresh milk, bread, tart and some other bits for us when we arrived. The views are amazing especially when the sun comes out and you really get the see everything. Everything was top class, the beds and bedding were of excellent quality. The only negative I could find was on our second night it was extremely windy and in the upstairs bedroom there was a strange noise as if there was something loose on the roof or the guttering, I ended up sleeping downstairs(not a hardship by any means) I did look outside the next day, still in the wind, I could hear the noise but couldn't see anything causing it. Just one of those things...

The house boarders a working farm with right of passage so you regularly get sheep or cows passing at the back of the house, my kids loved watching this and we also saw many the hare in the garden.

Sneem is a beautiful village with plenty of options for dining out. The house is a good 10min drive(approx. 6km) from Sneem and not really within walking distance with small kids. The road to the house is extremely narrow and the grass growing in the middle of the road will give the under carriage of your car a good clean! Make sure your tyres are in good condition and your suspension too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eileenoke...
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Probably the best holiday cottage in Ireland!”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The photographs on the website are great but don't do justice to Valley of the Hare. There is nothing that Susan hasn't thought of to make a stay there special. The cottage is presented to the highest standard and is so comfortable. The setting is lovely and we were blessed with great weather but if we had had to stay in a bit more that would have been no hardship! A car is a must as the level of privacy afforded means that it is off the beaten track a bit. Susan is a joy to deal with both when booking and arranging the break and whilst we were there. Helpful, but not intrusive. Thank you for our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The thoughtfulness that has gone into making it a superb place to stay
Liked least: There was nothing that wasn't first rate
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing