We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fanningstown House - exceptional!”
other travellers have booked this property
Fanningstown House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fanningstown House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Fanningstown House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Adare, County Limerick

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mmmc
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fanningstown House - exceptional!”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I cannot recommend this house highly enough. I booked it literally on the day of our arrival in Adare for a family emergency. Angela, the owner, was exceedingly kind and helpful and readied the house for us within a few hours.
The house is immaculate and well stocked and Angela also provided a comprehensive welcome pack of basic foodstuffs for us.
The location is easy to find; it is about 4 miles from the picturesque village of Adare, so a car is definitely a must. Limerick city is a short drive along the motorway and, for holidaymakers, it is a wonderful location to day trip in various directions.

The ground floor of the house has disabled access via ramps at the back (into the sun room). There is a downstairs double bedroom (not en suite) and a downstairs cloakroom, but unfortunately no downstairs shower/bath.
The kitchen is a wonderful gathering area, with a table to seat 10 people easily. Kitchen has modern appliances and plenty of crockery and utensils. There is a utility room with washing machine and tumble dryer. Central heating is metered and charged additionally.
Wifi is included.
There is also a formal dining room as photographed, but we did not use it.
The living room is cosy and has a bright sun room off it to the west, where I enjoyed the view across the fields as I read my book and sipped coffee.
Upstairs there are two huge bedrooms, one with en suite and walk-in wardrobe, and two slightly smaller double rooms, one of which also has an en suite bathroom. There is a beautiful sunny sitting area on the landing.

All in all, this house would suit large family gatherings, or two families holidaying together.
As others have mentioned it lends itself well to wedding parties, being within three miles of Adare Manor and the Dunraven Arms and even closer to Fitzgerald's Woodlands Hotel.

Ordinarily I would not need to book accommodation in Adare because we have family in the area, but I would be more than happy to stay at the house again. Thanks again to Angela for such wonderful customer service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very spacious for large group
Liked least: No issues at all
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
Dear Mary
Many thanks for the encouraging review and for the recommendations
Best wishes
Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CycloneJo...
Des Moines, IA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect place to explore ireland”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed here 9 nights with a total of 10 people in our group. We could not have found a more perfect spot to unpack our bags and explore the surrounding area (Galway, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry, Dingle Peninsula, Cork, Cashel, Limerick and Adare). House was exactly as advertised- bedrooms were clean and spacious, bathrooms were spacious and updated, kitchen was extensive and used for many meals, sunroom was our favorite room and many nights spent outside on the patio. John and Angela were always available if needed. We shopped at the Centra grocery store in Adare and at Dunnes Store in Limerick. The Thatch Bar was a short drive away and perfect for local conversation. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning”
Reviewed 5 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The house was gorgeous, very big and suited our needs. The furnishings were top notch. There were 6 of us staying at the house. We hosted some of our relatives for dinner one night and they were all impressed with the house as well.
The house is in a picturesque country setting bit it is a short drive to Adare.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bumpa2013
Moline, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a view of Irish country side”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2013

Just down the road from Adair & in the country with a true feeling of Ireland and the aroma of the fresh feeling of it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location in the country
Liked least: The Roads
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony F
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
“Excellent accomodation couple with fantastic hosts!”
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

First off, my dealings with Angela and John (owners) was nothing short of exceptional. They were very accommodating from the word go and always responded to our needs in a very timely fashion. Their property is definitely home away from home. The accommodation was first class and the layout and attention to detail made our stay very memorable indeed. They even had groceries in for when we arrived off a very long flight from Florida. The proximity to Limerick City and all the main highways coupled with its privacy in rural Ireland makes Fanningstown House a must for anyone who comes upon it. The pictures are exactly as seen on the website and I would thoroughly recommend this property to anyone considering a self catering break in Ireland. I will certainly be booking it again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location/ Property
Liked least: WiFi but that is ok
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing