We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away Gem”
Review of The Old Presbytery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Presbytery
Ranked #2 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here one night on our honeymoon in Ireland. Philip and Noreen had our room ready with the flowers I requested as well as rose petals on the bed which was a very nice surprise. Wish we would have stayed here a second night, as the location in town was perfect – just a 5 minute walk and you’re right in the thick of it. Breakfast was good and they allowed us to use the car park for a few hours after we checked out. Would highly recommend to those wanting a special little getaway in Kinsale.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

676 - 680 of 882 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012

Let me start by saying that Phillip and Noreen McEvoy are wonderful hosts of this property. Anything you want to know about the area they can tell you and are more than happy to do so. I believe I reserved the least expensive rate at this b-n-b for 2 nights. The room was a bit smaller than I expected and I wasn't crazy about the decor, but that is just a matter of personal taste and/or style. The bed, however, was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. (Crepes, please) !!
If you have a bit of luggage, request a room on a lower floor as the stairways are narrow.
The location of the Old Presbytery is very good, however not on the water near the harbor.
If you like a cozy bed-n-breakfast, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nylori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

This place was awesome. The room had a great view, the hosts were wonderful, and the location was perfect. It was a unique place with unique charm. We asked the host to recommend a pub for music. He told us that we weren't his usual clientele so he wouldn't normally recommend the place he did. I took that to mean we are a bit younger than his usual guests, and that seemed to be the case while we were there. The pub he recommended was perfect. The breakfast was excellent as well.

I would gladly stay there again, and hope to one of these days.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Overly demanding, over-bearing landlady. Would stay there only for a quiet weekend, not worth the headache coming in late and getting grief from 'The Headmaster' the next morning over breakfast. Never felt less welcome, and considering the price paid for the room was extreme. Additionally, a traditional Irish Breakfast without sausages, and pudding especially with Clonakilty down the road?!Not what I expected at all.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank HonestOpinion29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Where there for a few days with the family on a easter hol. Was really lovely. Totally unique place. The two owners are really lovely and the breakfast its outstanding - exactly the way it was described on there home page. Where booked into the penthouse, even though we only booked one size smaller. Lovely 2 story Room with plenty of space for Mammy Daddy and the 2 kids.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
Thank Gerhard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
4.2 km away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
978 reviews
0.8 km away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
713 reviews
1.0 km away
Landfall House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 km away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Presbytery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Presbytery

Address: The Old Presbytery 43 Cork Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range: $156 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Old Presbytery Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing