We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Tucked away Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Presbytery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Presbytery
Ranked #2 of 55 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Audubon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tucked away Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here one night on our honeymoon in Ireland. Philip and Noreen had our room ready with the flowers I requested as well as rose petals on the bed which was a very nice surprise. Wish we would have stayed here a second night, as the location in town was perfect – just a 5 minute walk and you’re right in the thick of it. Breakfast was good and they allowed us to use the car park for a few hours after we checked out. Would highly recommend to those wanting a special little getaway in Kinsale.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    81
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
146
430
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Let me start by saying that Phillip and Noreen McEvoy are wonderful hosts of this property. Anything you want to know about the area they can tell you and are more than happy to do so. I believe I reserved the least expensive rate at this b-n-b for 2 nights. The room was a bit smaller than I expected and I wasn't crazy about the decor, but that is just a matter of personal taste and/or style. The bed, however, was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. (Crepes, please) !!
If you have a bit of luggage, request a room on a lower floor as the stairways are narrow.
The location of the Old Presbytery is very good, however not on the water near the harbor.
If you like a cozy bed-n-breakfast, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nylori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

This place was awesome. The room had a great view, the hosts were wonderful, and the location was perfect. It was a unique place with unique charm. We asked the host to recommend a pub for music. He told us that we weren't his usual clientele so he wouldn't normally recommend the place he did. I took that to mean we are a bit younger than his usual guests, and that seemed to be the case while we were there. The pub he recommended was perfect. The breakfast was excellent as well.

I would gladly stay there again, and hope to one of these days.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Overly demanding, over-bearing landlady. Would stay there only for a quiet weekend, not worth the headache coming in late and getting grief from 'The Headmaster' the next morning over breakfast. Never felt less welcome, and considering the price paid for the room was extreme. Additionally, a traditional Irish Breakfast without sausages, and pudding especially with Clonakilty down the road?!Not what I expected at all.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank HonestOpinion29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Where there for a few days with the family on a easter hol. Was really lovely. Totally unique place. The two owners are really lovely and the breakfast its outstanding - exactly the way it was described on there home page. Where booked into the penthouse, even though we only booked one size smaller. Lovely 2 story Room with plenty of space for Mammy Daddy and the 2 kids.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gerhard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.5 km away
Actons Hotel
Actons Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.8 km away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.1 km away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.3 km away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 55 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.2 km away
Old Bank House
Old Bank House
#15 of 55 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Presbytery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Presbytery

Property: The Old Presbytery
Address: The Old Presbytery 43 Cork Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price range (per night): $146 - $259
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Old Presbytery Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing