We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Definitely not 4 star hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trident Hotel Kinsale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely not 4 star hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The Trident hotel was average. Firstly asked for room with view of harbour got a room with a view of a house which was very noisy with traffic. Room ok, clean. Breakfast good but staff unfriendly. My main complaint is we booked 2 nights b&b and 1 dinner. Dinner was served in The Wharf Tavern told restaurant was closed. Service was very bad, starter was followed immediately by mains no time in between courses and then when we finished our main course we waited 30 minutes for dessert menu, had to get the waitress attention in the end and lounge not full by any means. We felt we could get pub grub any day of the week and this is what it felt like. We have had many hotel breaks but did not expect this service from a 4* hotel. Staff at reception desk very unfriendly. Would definitely not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 2nd or 3rd floor overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jean h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    322
    141
    48
    23
See reviews for
156
479
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante & Plymouth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Having arrived here, was impressed by the location of the hotel, and ease of check in.
Had a small problem with the radiator in our room, and after a couple of tries to fix it, we were upgraded to a suite - very nice.
The bar and "Wharf" Restaurant here were lovely and friendly.
We ate in the restaurant, and I cannot praise it highly enough, I wish we had eaten here on our second night as well.
The food looked and was, absolutely lovely - especially the sticky toffee pudding!
All in all, would most definitely recommend the Trident Hotel, and would love to visit Kinsale again.
Very satisfied customers.

Room Tip: Ask for the one with a dodgy radiator - you may get an upgrade! Only joking ;0) x
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJH1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We had a great time in the Trident hotel last month. Four of us stayed here for a weekend and it was great. We found that the location of the hotel was perfect as we could easily walk into the town centre within minutes.
They was a wide range of choices on the menu. We had lunch and dinner here and we were very pleased with everything we got.
The staff were very kind and helped me with a dietary requirement.
My only problem was that I wish we could've stayed longer!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Just checked out of the Trident Hotel in Kinsale on a recommendation from the Ritz Carlton in Powerscourt. This may have been the worst hotel experience I've ever had. The room was dirty, the non-smoking room reeked of smoke, the linens were so old they felt clammy, the walls were filthy, the executive room hadn't been cleaned in months (there was a ring of dust around the room) and the entire hotel is desperately in need of a renovation. It's laughable the hotel rates itself a 4 star. The only reason I would rate the hotel a 2 star is the location. Other than that, this self-proclaimed 4 star is well below average and certainly not worth the price. If you're traveling to Kinsale - make sure you wait for the "high season" as most of the towne is still closed in late March. You couldn't even find 1 bar that played live Irish music - such a disappointment when all you want is a relax and drink a pint while listening to some Irish folk songs. Kinsale may be a lovely town in the summer season, but if you're traveling there on holiday or any other time of the year - either rent a B&B or make it a day trip and drive back up to Killarney or Cork for the night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

This hotel has a good location and fabulous views off the beautiful Kinsale harbour. The breakfast is good with a wide choice available. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. I stayed here on saint Patrick's weekend it was full to capacity still there was nothing lacking in the service. It is dearer than most hotels in the town but still I always stay here when in Kinsale.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Actons Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,247 reviews
Old Bank House
#13 of 55 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Property: Trident Hotel Kinsale
Address: World's End, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price range (per night): $135 - $248
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star hotel, spectacularly perched on the water's edge overlooking Kinsale Harbour. The hotel has 75 bedrooms including an Executive Wing comprising 30 rooms and 9 luxury suites, all with beautiful sea views. Only five minutes’ walk from the centre of Kinsale, the Trident Hotel is an excellent base to explore the winding streets and many shops, cafes, galleries and restaurants for which Kinsale is famous for. While you’re here, why not delve into the town’s fascinating historic past with a guided walking tour to famous sights including Charles Fort or engage in the wide variety of activities available from deep-sea fishing to scenic harbour cruising. Or use Kinsale as your base for exploring the wider West Cork region, renowned for its rugged landscape, unspoiled coastline and bustling towns. For shopaholics, Cork City is just a 30-minute drive from Kinsale. With a host of attractions and leisure activities on the doorstep – including the world-renowned Old Head Golf Links – the Trident Hotel Kinsale is certainly an ideal venue for both business and pleasure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing