We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Average” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trident Hotel Kinsale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed one night at the Trident Hotel. We got into Kinsale late in the evening so we really couldn't see much of the town. It was a Sunday night and I suspect many things were closed.

Our room was just ok. The furnishings are somewhat dated and not at all inviting the bed was hard as a rock and the pillows were even worse. The bathroom was huge and we were surprised that there was both a shower and a gigantic tub. While it was clean, it was very blah and cold.

The front desk was friendly but not entirely helpful. We needed to get some dinner so we asked at the front desk. She suggested we eat the the hotel restaurant but since Kinsale is listed as a "gourmet" city, we wanted to give one of the restaurants a try. She recommended that we head to the White Lady just up the street. This was a restaurant at another hotel. It was the worst meal we had on the entire trip. The folks at the pub were pleasant but the food was really awful. When we returned, a gentleman had taken over the front desk. I asked how I could connect to the Internet and he had no idea. I additionally asked where we could get a few bottles of water and he instead suggested we just drink from the tap!

Breakfast was nothing spectacular but the staff at the restaurant were pleasant.

I am sure Kinsale is lovely under different circumstances but I would recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinkin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    317
    141
    48
    23
See reviews for
155
465
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed in the Trident as a family, 3 adults, a baby and a 7 year old. We all enjoyed our stay, the staff are lovely - couldn't do enough for us. We used the pool in the hotel next door, a great option when they don't have their own pool.
We went on a daytrip to the model village in Clonakilty and Inchydoney - while the hotel at the beach was beautiful the service in the restaurant was atrocius and put us off ever staying there. The Trident wouldn't be as luxurious as the Inchydoney - but the staff and general athmosphere would beat them hands down!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrinityCityHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear MAKH77,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trident Hotel.

I'm delighted that you all enjoyed your stay and particularly that you found the staff helpful. Having met you all at breakfast there was a nice positive 'vibe' coming from you which usually makes interaction with staff easier and more pleasant.

Thank you for your kind comments and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Trident Hotel before too long.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Was on a stag weekend from 27th to 29th of jan. Had a brilliant weekend, the hotel was fabulous and the food was superb. The staff were very friendly and more than helpfull. this hotel made our weekend epic and one to remember.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Stevie 1983,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Trident for the stag weekend. Your praise for the hotel, food and staff are very welcome.

The mention of a stag sometimes rings alarm bells but your group enjoyed themselves and still there was a very positive 'vibe' back from our staff, proving that a stag can still enjoy themselves without upsetting others - thank you for that!

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irish Girl
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Went to the Trident in Kinsale recently and it does what it's suppose to do.... supplies you with B&B which were both fine, well single beds but clean and tidy and really was grand but no bit of luxury about it, I wouldn't consider it 4 star. It's a great base in Kinsale which is a gorgeous town and so nice for one town to have such good seafood! we ate in the hotel bar on arrival which was surprisingly lovely, fishy fishy - devine and the Spainard such a great pub. Our package included one evening meal in the hotel which was quite disappointing, considering how nice the food was in the bar was.... I would recommend for the location in Kinsale which is such a great town.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishGirlAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Dear IrishGirlAdvisor,

Thank you for your review of the Trident Hotel.

I'm sorry that the Trident didn't tick all the boxes for you, but maybe we could offer you another type of room if you chose to stay with us again. I gather that you may have got a Twin room instead of a Double which would normally be no trouble to change.

I'm glad that you enjoyed Kinsale and found the Trident to be satisfactory and hopefully you will decide to stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed here with my wife from 16th to 20th Jan 2012. Room was perfect , overlooking the sea. Spotlessly clean. Had Breakfast and dinner, food superb and service excellent. Very friendly staff. Will stay there again

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LimerickDh2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Dear LimerickDh2008,

Thank you for your review of the Trident Hotel.

We very much appreciate your accolade of "Fantastic Hotel"! You obviously enjoyed yourselves and found our rooms, food, service and staff to be of a high standard for which we are delighted.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Actons Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,165 reviews
Old Bank House
#15 of 54 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Property: Trident Hotel Kinsale
Address: World's End, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price range (per night): $137 - $183
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star hotel, spectacularly perched on the water's edge overlooking Kinsale Harbour. The hotel has 75 bedrooms including an Executive Wing comprising 30 rooms and 9 luxury suites, all with beautiful sea views. Only five minutes’ walk from the centre of Kinsale, the Trident Hotel is an excellent base to explore the winding streets and many shops, cafes, galleries and restaurants for which Kinsale is famous for. While you’re here, why not delve into the town’s fascinating historic past with a guided walking tour to famous sights including Charles Fort or engage in the wide variety of activities available from deep-sea fishing to scenic harbour cruising. Or use Kinsale as your base for exploring the wider West Cork region, renowned for its rugged landscape, unspoiled coastline and bustling towns. For shopaholics, Cork City is just a 30-minute drive from Kinsale. With a host of attractions and leisure activities on the doorstep – including the world-renowned Old Head Golf Links – the Trident Hotel Kinsale is certainly an ideal venue for both business and pleasure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing