We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kilkern

Kilkern
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kilkern
The rear of the house From our field above
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Kilkern
The rear of the house
From our field above
The rear of the house
Living room
The Kitchen
Family bathroom
bedroom no 2
bedroom 3 en-suite
Master bedroom
Mater bedroom en-suite wet room
bedroom no 3
The Galley Head Lighthouse
A sprinkling of snow
Local explorations by bike
A local hidden cove. Galley Head Lighthouse in distance
A pint of the black stuff. Or two.
Glandore harbour. 4 miles away.
Rathbarry Post Office (Pub in background)
Union Hall Fishing Village. 5 miles away
Dramatic light at a local beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Clonakilty, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sproai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Holiday”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Kilkern in July. Myself, and my family- 3 children and 6 adults in total had a comfortable stay there. The house was very well equipped with everything that one might want during their stay. The house itself was well furnished and decorated, with plenty bathrooms.
A bit of a drive to Clonakilty, but there was a small shop in the local area. Beaches were close to hand by car also.
Would stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2017
I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay, Gemma, and we'll gladly have you back in the future. Best wishes, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom R
Jakarta
2 reviews
“Fantastic House in West Cork”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Our family( 2 adults, two children 10 & 7 plus granny) stayed in Kilkern for one week in June and we are sorry we could not stay longer. The house has amble accommodation with its five bedrooms, two of which are en suite - great for family that came to visit.
It has a very good size kitchen and large patio at the rear which worked brilliantly for the family reunion barbecue . The house has been renovated keeping the country cottage feel together with modern conveniences - beautiful bathrooms and large modern range.

Take a walk up to the top of field and you have stunning see views. The children and visitors really enjoyed Kilkern.

The house is located approx 10-15 minutes drive from Clonakilty, and all it has to offer - fun, restaurants, bars and spectacular beaches. There is a lovely Post Office/Shop approx 3 drive minutes away were you buy your groceries or go to the large supermarkets in Clon.

Can't wait to get our holiday plans in order for next year and hopefully we can stay at Kilkern again.

Thank you Paul for your open communication on all our queries before we travelled.

Tom

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2016
Hi Tom. Thank you very much for the lovely review. It's great to get feedback and even better when it's positive! The house and surrounds means a lot to me and the family as its been in our family for generations and it's great to see it being enjoyed by new people each year.
Thanks for looking after it and I hope you'll be able to stay in future years.
Best wishes,
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tippitum
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in Kilkern at the end of April 2015. It is in a beautiful area filled with beaches, walks and cute villages. Close to Clonakility where the food is fantastic.
It was our first time to West Cork and Kilkern was a great base for exploring the area.
House is in excellent condition, lots of inside and outside space. The kitchen and bathrooms in particular are gorgeous.
We will be back!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2015
Hi Sharon
Thanks for the terrific review. I'm delighted and hope that you'll go back for another visit.
You'll certainly always be very welcome.
Thanks again!
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieL12...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful location!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Convent to Southern Ireland, Cork and Clonakilty. Spacious. Amazing kitchen. Beautiful views of farms and sea. Friendly neighbors.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The design and decoration of the house and the location.
Liked least: We had problems with the wifi during our stay but the owner did everything in his power to sort during the stay.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing